We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECT...only if you wanna relax and have a good time.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Verde River Rock House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Payson B&B and Inns
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
179 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“PERFECT...only if you wanna relax and have a good time.”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

A BNB with a few other guests? NOPE. Steve and Maggie Evans have created a private, unique BNB. Only your party & them. Complete downstairs bathroom, bedroom, livingroom (w/fireplace, flat screen TV 100 DVDs,) private deck and all access to hiking along the river. No wonder they were nominated...and won a Travel Channel, "Best of award". The food, Maggie, was unbelievable!!!!! Lamb, with a salad that was to die for...Christy and I still argue what was the best! I say the sausage in the am then she says the sour dough french toast! Steve...you have done a beautiful job creating and STILL creating this place. Nice attention to detail! That must be Maggie? :-) Really, jack hammering through the rocks?! I now know why you have weddings here...ya THAT conversation came up during our stay...thanks guys :-) Everyone who comes close to this place needs to stay a night or more! If not you're missing out! Oh ya someone else on TripADV said " You have to see it to believe it! "Ditto" Thank you so much -Bill & Christy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill85210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

As said in the title" the best bed and breakfast" hands down. Just go to their website, sit back and cruze thru it. What ever you see that you like, it is a hundred times better being there doing it. Maggie and Steve are the best host you will ever meet.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ross m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

My wife and I love deluxe resorts and great service. The setting was outstanding. We were the only guest which is the way it is set up. Maggie could not have been friendlier and more accomodating and she is very pet friendly. The food was outstanding----the pictures don't do it justice for it is better than it looks and it looks great. The food is actually cooked healthy, too, which is a plus but the taste cannot be beat. We had shrimp cargot, lamb cycles, french toast, salmon, etc. Javelinas come right up to the edge and feed, which is really nice to watch. Combine a Ritz, a beautiful private home and a gourmet restaurant with an owner like Maggie and you wont ever want to leave.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Tough to beat this package. Very Nice Home, Very Nice People, Great Food, Hot Tub & Sauna. Maggie has everything here. The room had chocolate covered strawberries (REALLY GOOD ONES) refrigerator full of water, wine, beer or whatever you wanted to drink. Homemade muffins and an assortment of things to get fat on. Maggie managed to make all the meals with Ultra Low Salt by using different herbs and it was great. You'll wonder why you keep cooking with salt after you taste these meals. Every sort of outdoor entertainment is right there, I have stayed at many B&B's but this one was the most fun.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hardslice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We spent just one night at Verde River Rock House, and wished it could have been more, but were so at home in this wonderful one of a kind intimate setting. We had the house all to ourselves and it was the most romantic experience of my life. Thanks so much to Steve and Maggie for opening their home for us to enjoy. We will never forget our magical night there and have already decided to spend one night a year there to reclaim the magic we had that night. We will do so at different times each year, so we can have all the seasons in this scenic getaway!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaysonScoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Phoenix, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2008

This is by far the best travel experience we have had. This Bed and Breakfast is most unique and very quaint! The Rock House is so amazing - must be seen to be believed.

The setting is beautiful, the house is beautiful and the amenities cannot be beat. The proprietors, Maggie and Steve were the most gracious hosts and we did not have a need that went unmet.
The surrounding area is wonderful - there is lots to do and see! We enjoyed lots of outdoor activities during our stay and had so much fun.
I recommend this stay to anyone who loves a beautiful setting, lots do and a lot of fun!

KL - North Phoenix

  • Liked — The relaxing atmosphere and beaty of the area.
  • Disliked — We couldn't stay longer!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KLNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Payson hotels
4.8 mi away
Majestic Mountain Inn
Majestic Mountain Inn
#1 of 12 in Payson
405 reviews
15.9 mi away
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
#3 of 12 in Payson
363 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn Payson
Quality Inn Payson
#2 of 12 in Payson
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Super 8 Payson
Super 8 Payson
#6 of 12 in Payson
239 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
#7 of 12 in Payson
78 reviews
5.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Payson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verde River Rock House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verde River Rock House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Verde River Rock House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 602 West Eleanor Drive, Payson, AZ 85541-2387
Location: United States > Arizona > Payson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Payson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A splendid oasis from the heat and havoc of the city. Experience a home like no other, truly private, romantic and magical – “a little piece of heaven in the heart of the forest.” The Rock House is extremely private, secluded and relaxing allowing it's guests to truly experience “being in another world.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Verde River Rock House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verde River Rock House Hotel Payson
Verde River Rock House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing