We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Spirit Tree Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spirit Tree Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Patagonia B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 14, 2008

We just spent our 21st wedding anniversary at the beautiful Spirit Tree Inn B & B. We found this inn by searching the internet and even though it sounded wonderful on-line, we did not know what to expect. My husband and I were greeted at this 1924 Ranch House by Tom, and he gladly gave us the grand tour. This property is full of wonderful suprises and beautiful antiques that have a story to tell. The 135+ year old Fremont Cottonwood Tree that stands prominently in front of the house is amazing. It stands as a testiment to the generations who have lived on that ranch. There is a true spirit of peace as you walk around the property, sit under the grand tree or stroll down to visit the old Amish barn that was resurrected on this ranch.
We cannot thank our hosts enough (Mary Jane, Tom & Joe), for making our stay at the Spirit Tree Inn one of the best vacations we have ever had. The room was charming and very clean. The food was out-of-this world!!! The hospitality was above and beyond anything we have encountered. We felt like we were staying with family!
Our day trips into Patagonia and to the Soniota Winery rounded out a perfect vacation. We will certainly be back to visit this peaceful retreat!!! We highly recommend signing up for the "Wine and Dine" package which allowed us to partake of a five star dinner served by Chef Tom right in the main dinning room. Tom prepared an indescribible four course feast for our anniversary and paired each course with our favorite wines from the Sonoita Winery. (He didn't even know the wines had been our favorites at the wine tasting in Sonoita earlier that day!)
Overall we give The Spirit Tree Inn B & B an A+!!!!!!!!!!!
Thank you for your wonderful hospitality!
Eric & Connie Nelson, Tucson,AZ

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank e5nelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 62 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2008

My husband and I visited the Spirit Tree Inn in Late July this year. We had such a wonderful time. The hospitallity was exceptional. The breakfast menu was original and delicious.
We enjoyed the surrounding area, taking in a wine tour in Sonita, the preserve and lazily walking thru the town of Patagonia.
All in all it was a very nice weekend. We stayed in the main house at the Inn and had a very comfortable room.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rosie07arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

We originally went to the Spirit Tree Inn because we had heard about the Amish barn that is onsight that they have restored. It was great, and enjoyed Tom's history of how they got it and what they did to restore it. The hospitality of Tom and Mary Jane was wonderful. They have a great knowledge about the history of the area, and could give us great ideas about things we could do in the area. The food we ate there and at the restaurant, The Gathering Grounds, is some of the best food we have ever eaten. It is very quiet and peaceful there, and just a great place to "get away from it all". I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Patagonia.
Dawn and Doug Sorensen
Phoenix, AZ

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank familysorensen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2008

May 2008
A friend and I went to AZ Wine Country Memorial Day weekend and stayed at The Spirit Tree Inn. It backs up to the beautiful national forest and its setting is beautiful. No TV or phone and that added to a total escape from the hectic everyday pace. Mary Jane, Tom and Joe could not have been nicer. Tom's gourmet breakfast was a fabulous treat. We stayed a while after breakfast and had a terrific conversation with Mary Jane. She is a jewel.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AC-MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2008

Okay, quiet bed and breakfast. Not your 'typical' stay. The kids enjoyed the outdoors, but hated the breakfasts (however hubby & I enjoyed it). FYI -no TV or phone-
The shower in our room was literally a 'trickle' ... water pressure was unusually low. We had 5 in our family who needed to shower & get ready for a wedding -so this was an inconvenience we didn't anticipate. Once the shower got going, it flooded the bathroom(?!) . . .
We stayed in the Sonoran Bunkhouse. The exterior of the bunkhouse is not impressive at all, and could use some landscaping and/or walkways, and some TLC. Does not do justice for the quaint interior. (However, dishes and appliances in the kitchenette were old and dirty.)
Owners are very friendly; however, overly chatty and can absorb some of your time-- would I stay there again? Probably not-

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phoenixchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2008

With all the five star reviews, I was expecting a bit more than I actually found at the Spirit Tree. Several miles outside of Patagonia, it's in a nice, but not dramatic location. Other than the tree itself, the views are unimpressive but pleasant. The main negative about this place is the fact that it is a bit rough around the edges which is why I almost felt it was more akin to a dude ranch than a B&B. Some of the fixtures and furniture are way past their prime. OTOH, the breakfasts were first-rate which is what keeps me from giving only 3 stars. Also be forewarned that the owner is a bit talkative which was not a problem although some folks might prefer to be left alone. I would stay there again. The Patagonia area is beautiful and a unique part of Arizona.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SWTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

This is a fabulous find. Peaceful, old worldly and with excellent service. A lovely old adobe ranch with a magnificent cotton wood tree is swing under. Awaken to a gourmet breakfast and peace.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Fergie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patagonia
21.2 mi away
Tubac Golf Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
The Duquesne House Inn & Gardens
7.6 mi away
Circle Z Ranch
Circle Z Ranch
#1 of 4 in Patagonia
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spirit Tree Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spirit Tree Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3 Harshaw Creek Rd, Patagonia, AZ 85624-6000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Patagonia
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Patagonia
Price Range: $127 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Spirit Tree Inn Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Spirit Tree Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing