We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paton's Bird Feeders - Way cool!”

Paton's Hummingbird Haven
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Patagonia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Burton, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Paton's Bird Feeders - Way cool!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We read about the Paton house in a travel guide book. After a stop at the Gathering Ground for coffee and a muffin (see review ) we found our way to the house where we were greeted by Larry , the homeowner, and several other birding guests. It was a little early in the birding season but still got great views of Ana's and Broadbill hummers plus several other cool birds. The set up is awesome and as always, the birding community was welcoming, super friendly and gave us great tips on where else to go. If you're anywhere near Patagonia and even a little interested in birding, the Paton house is a must see.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    21
    3
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
357 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“A MUST see for birders.”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Believe what you read. They have a collection of chairs for you and others to sit and watch and learn (from the birds and each other). Just a wonderful experience. If you're anywhere near Patagonia (even if you're not) stop by, you'll love it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous birds, even in winter”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This has become one of "THE" stops for birdwatching in Arizona, and it grows more amazing each year. More and better kinds of feeders so you can have three species of woodpeckers almost within arms' length, for example. Resident caretaker very helpful in aiding visitors in finding the special birds they want. So important that this place be preserved!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Mctick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It's all about the Hummers”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Patton House is still one of the best places in the U.S. for hummingbirds, thanks to interim caretaker, Larry Morgan. Go in the morning, if possible, and don't forget to leave a donation.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Jim530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
671 reviews
161 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
“Best birding/sitting site in Southeast AZ”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We have stopped at Paton's every time we have been to/through SE AZ. We always anticipate our time there as something special, and we have never been disappointed. Violet-crowned Hummingbird is "the specialty of the house."

Through the seasons, this is the easiest and most likely place to find many of the species that draw birders to SE AZ in general, and Patagonia in particular.

A canopy protects from sun and rain. Chairs and bird books are provided. The bank of hummingbird feeders is well maintained and labeled for quick i.d. of which to look at when a rarity shows. A water feature draws birds to one end of the yard; platform and hanging feeders to the far end.

Now that Mr. and Mrs. Paton have died, the family has placed the home and grounds on the market. Ideally, either a bird and people oriented private purchaser or a not-for-profit organization will manage the site with the love and care the Paton's showed through the years.

Although there is no fee, there is a "sugar fund" can at the gate. Sign the guest book and help pay for the feed that draws the birds and the conveniences provided for the birders.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank Edge W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paton's Hummingbird Haven also viewed

 

Been to Paton's Hummingbird Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing