We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Difference!!”
Review of Stage Stop Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Patagonia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stage Stop Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Patagonia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We had stayed at the Stage Stop 5 years ago and although adequate, it was lacking in many amenities. We were pleasantly surprised at the changes the new owners have made. the lobby was one of the most homey and welcoming we have encountered; the bed was excellent and the upstairs library and outside sitting area just charming. We cannot wait to go back and see the improvements the new owners have planned...thank you Gerry and Lynne for making our stay so pleasant.

Room Tip: choose any room. all are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 142 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2012

The Prescott Hiking Club has been hiking the Arizona Trail and we would like to alert all hikers and travelers of a little jewel called the Stage Stop Inn in Patagonia. The trail goes right through Patagonia and one could not ask for nicer trail angels than Gerry and Lynne, the gracious owner and hosts. The beds are wonderful, lots of hot water, a big community room, blazing fireplace, pool and outdoor courtyard for warm weather but best of all, Gerry and Lynne are available to answer any questions. As and example we needed a permit - or thought we did - for one of the passages and Gerry jumped right on the problem and got us on our way again! This is a true Inn, not a chain and has a restaurant on the premises, but there are other dining options in town that they will gladly tell you about. The feel is more of a B&B but at a much more modest price. Be sure to study the tiles in the foyer-they show brands of local ranches, some still operational. We have been here twice and look forward to going back. The town has a nice quirky feel - small town at it's best. This is a great get away for anyone, not just hikers, an a pleasant time can be had just enjoying the vibes!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jana-Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

What a great place to stay! It reminded us of the old western movies when we first walked in. The Stage Stop fits its name quite well. The owners were real friendly and made sure every need was met while we were there. We informed the owner, we may be in need of a late check out due to our hunting trip. They were more than accommodating, which was extremely appreciated! We thoroughly enjoyed chatting with other hunting parties in the comfortable surroundings of the Stage Stop Inn. We'd definitely recommend anyone hunting nearby Units and looking for a comfortable bed, do stay there! You won't be disappointed...We certainly weren't!

Kevan and Karen

Room Tip: We stayed in an upstairs room with a window and it was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Most lodgings in the small town of Patagonia have two night minimums, so this is a good option if you only need one night. The hotel itself is old, but the new owners have made many improvements. There is a delightful sitting area/library inside on the second floor and outdoor lounge area above the pool all with very stylish decor in the cowboy/southwest motif. Rooms were on two floors around the pool and were spacious and quiet. We would have preferred a room on the front with views of the sunsets and the park. Toiletries provided were lovely botanicals. Wireless reception was available in room and had a strong signal. Hot water was plentiful and fast and towels were luxurious.
The hotel will benefit from future improvements in the furnishings and ambiance. Our room had two beds with very hard standard mattresses and low quality bedding. Although we were happy to have a small refrigerator, we missed having a coffeemaker. Coffee and tea were provided in the lobby, however.
Our toilet did not flush well and carpet was dated and needs replacing.
Unfortunately there are few dining options in the area aside from "Gathering Grounds" (not open for dinner) and "The Home Plate". The latter was very reasonably priced but a disappointment. The food was below average in quality and no wine or beer is available, but youa can bring your own.
The restaurant was scheduled to open for breakfast at 7, but was still closed at 7:30.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ocotillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

The inn is in the process of being renovated in stages, and they are doing a great job of it. Great lobbies, upstairs and down, decorated in old west ranch style. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable, staff very pleasant, and price reasonable. Had an upstairs room with balcony overlooking the little town. There is a pool, and a very good restaurant next door, and an espresso cafe just a couple of doors down.

Room Tip: Get one on the second floor so you can sit out on the balcony and watch the gorgeous sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

I understand the Stage Stop was closed for a while, but it has reopened, and I enjoyed my stay there. My room was spacious, the bed comfortable, and the room nice. There is work to be done on the outside trim, but the living space is fine.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryalbuquerque2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I have stayed for one month, practically all month of June 2011 and all I can say it superlative: The owners are the best and friendliest people I came across around here. The hotel is very beautifully refurbished, keeping the style of John Wayne in the lobby; the rooms were very clean and nice, the interior garden pool was clean and nice.
I am looking forward to going back and stay at this hotel next year!
Loved every minute of it!
Daniela

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chikichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patagonia
18.4 mi away
Fray Marcos De Niza
Fray Marcos De Niza
#4 of 7 in Nogales
45 reviews
16.7 mi away
Best Western Sonora Inn & Suites
3.1 mi away
Spirit Tree Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Wyndham Green Valley Canoa Ranch Resort
0.2 mi away
The Duquesne House Inn & Gardens
6.8 mi away
Circle Z Ranch
Circle Z Ranch
#1 of 4 in Patagonia
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Stop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Stop Inn

Address: 303 W Mckeown, Patagonia, AZ 85624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Patagonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Patagonia
Price Range: $69 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Stop Inn is a charming Old Western style hotel nestled in Southeast Arizona's Mountain Empire. Your Innkeepers, Lynne and Gerry, are dedicated to making your stay stay comfortable, relaxing and memorable. You'll feel at home the moment you walk into our historic lobby. Join us for sun-filled days, glorious sunsets and brilliant starry nights. A stay with us will soothe your soul and renew your spirit . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stage Stop Hotel Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing