We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 4:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Review Highlights
Lovely place to visit

We visited mainly to walk the birding trail. The trail is very well maintained and offers a great... read more

Reviewed April 17, 2019
DundeeVino
via mobile
Beautiful and Popular Arizona State Park

Make reservations a year in advance. Pads and asphalt have unexpected drop-offs. Easy to trip. As a... read more

Reviewed April 14, 2019
Su S
via mobile
Read all 259 reviews
  
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveler rating
121
91
24
14
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
121
91
24
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dump station beautiful lake boat rentals rv sites bird trail sonoita creek tent camping bird watching visitor center great camping marina store nice campground small store small boat general store entry fee make reservations
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 259 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2019

Great place for a picnic or overnight stay. Nice campsites and very clean. General store and fuel available

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Rstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2019 via mobile

We visited mainly to walk the birding trail. The trail is very well maintained and offers a great variety of habitats. A great birding destination.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank DundeeVino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

Make reservations a year in advance. Pads and asphalt have unexpected drop-offs. Easy to trip. As a senior, I might pass up camping here again. You must watch your step! Otherwise, good trails, observation area, cabins, small store, gift shop, visitor center, beach, marinas.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Su S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

We had a very difficult spot to get into but the up side of that was it was very private after the birders hours.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2019

$15 per car, which we thought was reasonable. We stopped at the visitors centre first and the lady there was very helpful. She gave us a map and a list of birds we should look for. We parked in the car park at the trail end where the birdwatching is best. There are a few steps down before walking on the flat until you return.

We saw quite a few birds, but the only mammals we saw were a couple of bulls and some cows!! They were so noisy and scary. Fortunately we followed a gentleman who obviously new about our bovine friends and walked passed them with ease. We followed, very grateful that he was there!

Lots of benches to sit on, very welcome as my husband needs to sit regularly.

The bridge that crosses the creek where the upper and lower loop meet has been washed away, so hopefully that will be replaced soon.

We drove to the other end of the park where boats are allowed on the lake. Not busy as it was a weekday, but pleasant to walk around. I walked over the very steep bridge which was not as easy as I had thought it would be! Lots of picnic tables.

If we lived in the area we would visit regularly.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank CocoaBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews