We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis in the desert”

Patagonia Lake State Park
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Patagonia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This southern Arizona park is centered around Patagonia Lake, a beautiful desert lake known for its outdoor recreation.
Level Contributor
150 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Oasis in the desert”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This was our first trip there, on a sunny Saturday afternoon in Dec. We took the twilight boat tour (a hour and a half). The park was very nice and quiet. It was tranquil on the boat ride. Beautiful sunshine. The guests on the boat were all bird-watchers except us so we learned a lot from them and from the rangers. The entry fee to the park is $15 and the boat ride costs $5 per person. Bring your binoculars, or you can borrow a set from the Visitor Center. We had a great time and we will be back again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lulu85715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    72
    15
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mendoza, Argentina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Lake in the Desert!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Only 7 miles south of Patagonia, Patagonia Lake State Park has nature trails, paddle boats for rent, fantastic picnic ramadas and a small beach. Yes, that's right - it has an actual beach, surrounded by the desert. Whether it's the season for swimming or not, I frequently take visiting family and friends here for a picnic or a walk/easy hike.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tothita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful respite”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The park is wonderful. Clean restrooms, friendly staff, generous sized RV spaces with water and electric; dump station onsite. Recommend the birding hike with a guide. Although we are casual birders (no life list and limited ability to identify birds), we thoroughly enjoyed the easy hike near the lake and through the forest. Plenty of activities are available on the water and additional hiking options in the backcountry are nearby.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peglova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pleasant overnight stay by the lake”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We camped for 3 nights at Patagonia State Park. It was $25 a night, plus a $5 fee. We used one with water and electric hookups available, although we camped in a tent. It worked perfect for the fridge, heater, and lights.The site was shady and mostly flat, although we did have to move the table. The bathrooms with showers, were clean and close. You can reserve a spot online so look for bathroom accessibility. I fished from the shore and caught catfish. Others were not so lucky, but next time I would check to see when they stock the lake. Most of the campers were older couples but everyone was very friendly. We will definitely use this camp area again, but we scoped out better sites for next time. Lots of wildlife including squirrels, birds, and lizards. Bring bug spray if you want to sit around the fire.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tab555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Hike a Trail and look for Birds”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Our group of 4 adults visited the park for half a day to look for birds and hike the trail that makes its way out past Nutting's Wash and the Mesquite Hillside. Parking is limited for day users near the trailhead and this trail is very popular with birders. We encountered a large group of people who had come just to bird this area. Several highly sought after bird species can be found in this park and draws birders from all over the world. That's why we were there too!
We found the toilet facilities near the trail head were clean.
The visitor center was staffed by friendly helpful people and we found a nice picnic area to enjoy the lunch we brought with us.
I loved exploring the trail. It took us through interesting woods, along a stream and offered surprises around every bend. We were warned to avoid the cattle. Not sure why there are cattle there but we kept our distance.
A few of the campers with nice big trailers had set up bird feeders at their site. Overall the experience was very positive.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chickadeedee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patagonia Lake State Park also viewed

 

Been to Patagonia Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing