We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Nostalgic trip down memory lane. We went there early June of last year for 5 days. Beautiful upscale resort with gorgeous landscape. Having a daily view of the Camelback mountain right at your window was just splendid...and prob gave this place an edge over all the others. The resort is so huge it's like its own little suburbia. They have little "golf carts" to ride members to their room, pool, lounge areas, the spa or simply the parking lot out front. A car is a definite must! Not that you can't walk around the compound. We did a nice hiking trail up to Mummy Mountain (see pics). The rooms, more like private units, were incredibly spacious with king size comfy beds. Equipped with regular TV, small fridge and microwave. Honestly, I could have stayed inside our casita all day.

Had great dinner at BLT steak restaurant. Side bread consisted of a huge popover Gruyere. Steaks were juicy and full of flavor. Service was top notch. Dining facing a drop-dead gorgeous mountain view. What more can you ask for from life! Our last morning, also had an amazing breakfast at Rita's Kitchen on the resort. We frequented the famous Spa during our stay. Very calm and serene. We didn't get any fancy massages but we did lounge around the pool. Felt like I was living the life of a celebrity. Will always cherish this resort since we got engaged during our stay there. Lovely memories!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tayie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,018)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,584 - 1,590 of 2,019 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2010

I stayed at the Camelback Inn in September 2007 for three nights. The room was booked on priceline for only $100 a night. There was some remodeling going on at the time, but I never heard any construction. I shared one room with two girlfriends and we were never cramped. We grabbed a quick dinner at the pool restaurant on the first night we arrived and the food was very good. We ordered room service for breakfast and I'm still amazed at how well my steak was cooked. The grounds are beautiful and the hotel was nearly empty during our stay. It made for a very pleasant and peaceful environment. We had the pool to ourselves every night. None of us had visited Phoenix before and we were impressed with the cleanliness and the lack of humidity in the air which resulted in less frizz for our hair! Being from Florida, Georgia and Louisiana respectively, the Camelback Inn made our trip worthwhile. I definitely recommend this hotel for a truly wonderful experience.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southernlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

From the second we arrived at the valet - our trip was off to a wonderful start. We had a fantastic room with a wonderful view of Cameback Mountain. We received stellar attention from every employee. There were great drinks and appetizer specials at R bar for Happy Hour (cilantro hummus and fish tacos were excellent) with even better meals in Rita's kitchen.

We've been coming here for over 10 years and this facility just can't be beat. Loved every minute of this 4 day trip and have started plans for next year's stay.

The grounds are spectacular- do yourself a favor and take time to soak in the spendor of the beautiful landscapes! The Camelback is a truly special place!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaunaKeaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Spent two days here just before heading over to The Phoenician for 4th of July. If you come, plan to either stay on property or have a car. This is a self-contained resort and there’s really nowhere in walking distance to go other than the El Chorro lodge for drinks (though they have a car service that will whisk you over there for $3 if it’s 114 degrees as it was the day I went).

As you pull into the property, you’ll notice all the mature landscaping and the entry sign that says Camelback Inn: In All the World Only One. And there’s a legend printed over the lobby as well above a stopped clock: Where Time Stands Still. Both are so true. The lobby has been recently renovated and the front side is mostly taken up by a large, high-ceilinged great room with various seating configurations. The check-in area is small and set off to one side; on the other side is the concierge area. The back side contains the two restaurants (BLT Steak and Rita’s Kitchen/R Bar) as well as a small sundries store.

Both restaurants are fine. R Bar serves the Rita’s menu and is a congenial setting with an outdoor courtyard, a bar with about 9 seats, and floor seating at various-sized tables. The chicken soft tacos are great and come with a variety of salsas and sauces. BLT Steak has a huge bar and offers a pretty nice $35 prix fixe menu in the summer. It’s also a good place to use one of the resort fee perks—each room gets a free appetizer each day with an appetizer purchase. I was solo here, so I got two appetizers for the price of one. These along with the giant, delicious gruyere popover they serve make a good-sized meal. Service at both was friendly and efficient. They’re not the most creative culinary spots in the world, but there’s enough variety to hold you for several days.

The rooms are exceedingly comfortable. They’re arranged in two-story units of about 16 rooms each; if you have a car you can park it essentially right outside your door. Each block of rooms has its own ice machine. At about 550 square feet plus an outdoor patio, there’s a gracious plenty of space. The kitchenette has a mini-bar, an empty mini-fridge for personal use, a microwave, a coffee pot, a sink, and several dishes plus cabinet space for your own food. The beds are comfy and there’s also a leather arm chair with ottoman and a sleeper sofa. The desk is smallish, so I don’t think it would be very work-friendly, but I pity you if you have to work here. It’s worth noting that a lot of care has been taken in design detail in the rooms—there are wood beams set into the ceiling, attractive patterns in the bed accessories, and a leather cornice around the windows. If you can, get a corner room, which has windows on two sides. The bathroom is long and a touch narrow with a separate WC, separate shower, and a tub with opaque glass blocks to let in light. It’s smallish for soaking. There are two sinks with plenty of counter space and the closet is adequately-sized. All in all, the accommodations feel more like studio apartments than hotel rooms. If you’re an early riser, the outdoor patio is a great place to watch the quail and hummingbirds busily feeding while the sun comes up.

The pool has plenty of lounge chairs with sun and shade options. It’s free-form and really more for lounging than actual swimming. There’s no separate adults-only pool, so it can get crowded with kids, though there’s a separate play area for children that takes some of the stress off. The mango-passion fruit daiquiris will relieve any remaining stress.

Since there’s been a hotel here since 1936, the grounds are wonderfully mature and the resort is positioned to take advantage of views of Camelback Mountain, which is my favorite natural formation. On the back side of the resort, there’s an ersatz “ghost town” with building facades and a central area that I presume is used for group gatherings/cookouts. Beyond that are a couple of hiking trails that go a little ways up the base of Mummy Mountain. The Red Trail is shorter and doesn’t go quite as high. The Blue Trail takes about fifteen minutes to hike and would be doable for anyone in reasonable shape. At its peak is a log-seat observation area with an amazing view across the resort and Paradise Valley to Camelback Mountain.

All in all, this is a complete resort in a wonderful setting. You could spend several days here and never leave the property without feeling you were missing a thing. It’s well set-up to be completely relaxing and it’s obvious they’ve given a lot of thought to making it as easy as possible to enjoy the property. Summer packages and specials are outstanding, so if you can stand the heat it’s a great time to go.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adamunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

I ate lunch, buffalo wings and fruit, at the pool on my first day here. Within four hours I began to get sick. For the next two days I was stuck in the room with diarrhea and vomiting. Three days later I was at the pool again and I overheard another guest mention that her husband also got sick. When I checked out I told the clerk who called one of their security people who then asked me to wrote down what happened. Since then nothing, no work from Marriott and they charged me for the food.
Very disappointed that Marriott doesn't care about their guest and has the nerve to charge for bad food.
I DO NOT recommend This Marriott and am personally going to avoid all Marriotts' from now on.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bigkahunajoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

From the minute we arrived at Camelback Inn, our experience was exceptional. We were using rewards points, and I was a little apprehensive about the room. I had indicated we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. When we arrived, the bell man was excellent and provided all the necessary information. We arrived at the front desk, and the young man upgraded us to an upper floor room with a sizeable deck since it was our anniversary. The room was immaculate (and I'm extremely fussy about cleanliness). The room was very spacious with not only the large deck, but also a wonderful little balcony that looked directly toward the mountains! Beautiful!
I have no idea what the other reviewer was talking about regarding restaurants-there are several on the property. We ate at Rita's and had a very nice meal with again-an exceptional waiter who was very attentive and gracious. Prior to dinner we had drinks in the bar and the waitstaff circulated frequently to make sure we well taken care of.
All things considered, we think this is one of the best experiences we've had in Scottsdale/Phoenix. We have stayed at nearly all the resorts in the area of this caliber, and NONE paid as much attention to detail and quality of service as this property. We will be back again-no question!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

This is a beautiful resort, but the value simply wasn't there. We only found one restaurant on site, and quickly got tired of the small menu offered during our week long stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sctsmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa

Address: 5402 East Lincoln Drive, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range: $301 - $598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unrivaled among resorts in Scottsdale, Arizona, luxurious JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa remains faithful to its storied history while boldly embracing the future. Located on a breathtaking 125-acre campus beneath Mummy Mountain, this stunning resort features a hacienda style entry, casita guest rooms and impressive amenities that leave guests with the thought of "In all the world, only one..." Golfers will enjoy 36-holes of championship golf at Camelback Golf Club or instruction from the Advantage Golf School. Spa-goers can unwind at award-winning Camelback Spa with a signature spa treatment, or poolside beneath a cabana while overlooking Camelback Mountain. When you are ready to discover the local area, allow the professional concierges to compliment your interests with the perfect activity or attraction. It's easy to understand why families, business luminaries and leaders alike return to JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Hotel Paradise Valley
Jw Marriott Scottsdale
Camelback Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing