We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting, good rooms and food, unique character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Food was outstanding. Rooms were nice. Easy to get lost. Nice landscaping. Quiet setting. Staff were accommodating. Easy access to jogging trails. Part of a large business meeting - meeting rooms were well organized.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a veranda.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MulberryCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,019)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

993 - 999 of 2,019 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

If you are visiting the Phoenix area, don't' miss this spot. Steeped in history and the feeling of the south west, add to that design, incredible rooms and amenities and WOW. The food and service was outstanding. We were upgraded ( as a Marriott Rewards member ) . Pool areas, spa, golf courses, entire ambiance and things to do so well done. The resort was so quite too - I wish we could have stayed longer! We will definitely go back.....and stay longer

Room Tip: The views are all amazing - some sunsets; some of the mountains - ask for what you enjoy the most.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ledingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa is a beautiful spacious resort. We were upgraded to a casita with a large sundeck. The room was beautiful with an upgraded two room bathroom. There was plenty of sitting space to relax in our room. The pool is big with plenty of deck chairs. The R Bar was outstanding. The Happy Hour specials are great and the food is even better! The service in the hotel, the pool and the bar is excellent. They have a great spa with a private pool and restaurant. There is also an old western town on the hotel property. The hotel grounds are beautiful! It was a great stay and we are looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeanGreen2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I work in hospitality and was absolutely blown away by this place. Every staff member was wonderful, the grounds are impeccable and for the price (159), you'll never find a better value for what you get. Already recommending it to everyone I know and am planning a return visit in the near future. Not to mention leaving freezing Canada in November for sun and 70-80 degree temperatures is always nice. Great job! Great staff! Can't wait to return. :)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith_Taylor405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We have visited this wonderful property annually for the past eight years, and can safely say it rates as my favorite property in the world. Our visit earlier this year was no exception.

Despite my rather "lowly" Marriott status of silver, we are consistently upgraded on every stay. Front-desk management is always happy to work with us to secure our favorite room, one of the Sundeckers, and ensure everything is just right for our arrival. The things in particular I love about this property:

* The history and configuration. Instead of a single high-rise, the individual casitas, each containing about four rooms, are perfect. It makes for a more relaxed, stress-free atmosphere. The property's rich and colorful history harken back to a simpler, more glamorous time. And you can feel the history in the walls of the place, even amid the modern updates.

* The service. Throughout our stays, resort employees at all levels are consistently helpful and accommodating. A special shout-out, however, goes to Gigi, a resort restaurant server who we see every year, who is always friendly and helpful, and whom we now count as a friend.

* The pool. While far from the biggest or best I've ever experienced, the pool is very nicely maintained and staffed by an army of attendants on hot days. The fact that it's just steps from our favorite room is a bonus.

* The spa. One of the best we've ever visited, and we make a stop here part of our annual stay.

* The desert location. Last -- but certainly not least -- the resort's location at the base of Camelback and Mummy mountains is spectacular. Star-gazing at night from our rooftop sundeck is always a highlight of our stay.

This resort is now like an old friend, and we're already planning our next visit in 2014. I can't recommend this property highly enough!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed at this fabulous resort for 5 nights. We certainly felt very welcome and at home in our very clean adobe room with great AC. We enjoyed the view on our patio of Camelback mountain; the food and buffets were wonderful; nightly entertainment by their fountain, pretty lights, warm fire-pits around and ALL their staff was so friendly and helpful (especially Orlando). The grounds were breathtaking, the pool enjoyable and although we didn't use the spa this time, we heard many positive comments from other guests we spoke to. There was a wonderful tour bus that picked us up right from the our resort that took us into Sedona and then onto the Grand Canyon and back. We also were picked up at the resort another day for a jeep tour of the desert that was loads of fun and informative. My son hiked Camelback and we hiked Mummy mountain too. It was such a memorable trip and we will definitely return and are passing on this fantastic resort to family and friends. It could not have been any nicer there. Thanks to everyone at this resort for our greatest vacation ever! We have tons of pictures to go through now too. Family and friends will be in awe of what we experienced at this resort.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I had high expectations for this hotel but am very disappointed. Im a gold member and was unable to get an upgrade (4th time in a row...do they every upgrade you....Starwood always does). The person at the front desk was surly. I ended up in a decent sized room that had new carpet and furniture. However, that could not disguise the dated plaster on the walls and ceilings (dont expect the pretty beams like in the pictures). The worst part though is the paper thin walls. There is someone above me pacing, and it sounds like an elephant. Have no idea how I will sleep tonight. Don't be fooled by the pretty makeover of an old and noisy hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hotelvisitor9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa

Address: 5402 East Lincoln Drive, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range: $290 - $597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unrivaled among resorts in Scottsdale, Arizona, luxurious JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa remains faithful to its storied history while boldly embracing the future. Located on a breathtaking 125-acre campus beneath Mummy Mountain, this stunning resort features a hacienda style entry, casita guest rooms and impressive amenities that leave guests with the thought of "In all the world, only one..." Golfers will enjoy 36-holes of championship golf at Camelback Golf Club or instruction from the Advantage Golf School. Spa-goers can unwind at award-winning Camelback Spa with a signature spa treatment, or poolside beneath a cabana while overlooking Camelback Mountain. When you are ready to discover the local area, allow the professional concierges to compliment your interests with the perfect activity or attraction. It's easy to understand why families, business luminaries and leaders alike return to JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Hotel Paradise Valley
Jw Marriott Scottsdale
Camelback Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing