We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Christmas at the Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Christmas at the Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Spent the Christmas holidays (2012) at the Inn. It was the best hotel - holiday experience yet. Loved the fire pits in the evening under the stars! Room was great! Loved the decor ... and the grounds. The restaurants on site were excellent as well. Will definitely return ... soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,184
    394
    90
    45
    20
See reviews for
326
580
72
407
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
168 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

my company recently held a very successful sales meeting at this hotel. Everything went flawlessly. The food was excellent and the service was fantastic. We had guests from all across the US, Canada and Mexico. all were very impressed by the event. The grounds were beautiful as well. I will want to stay again with my family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very nice, large resort; beautifully maintained. Unique check-in procedure. Good service and very clean. We had a great local promotional rate. If you like big well manicured resorts this one is for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ribbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a beautiful property to be sure but it is very large, somewhat expensive and probably not for everybody. The pool areas, golf, outdoor patios and grounds are to die for. The food is excellent but quite expensive. I tend to prefer slightly smaller properties but this place really does have everything you want in a top notch desert resort.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gordy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have been putting this review off for a couple of months because I was not quite sure how to express my dissatisfaction with a property that I once considered a top of the line resort. While I am sure that others, even during my stay, had a great experience I was less than impressed. The front desk staff was either new or poorly trained and unsure of operational procedures. Our casita was, at one time, awesome - today...not so much. Others have commented on the need for upgrades and I agree. Attention to detail was lacking everywhere except for the poolside service. These servers were quick and efficient. The service at Rita's was slow and, well just not at the level you would expect for a resort property. I heard complaints from other guests as well. An incident with a server that appeared "under the influence" during dinner with invited guests from the area left us bewildered. This was reported the next morning to the front desk and we were assured that the manager would wish to speak with us - never called. Just one more detail not dealt followed up with. As a Marriott Rewards member I was saddened to see the decline in this resort. I attend a conference there annually but will stay at another resort next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

The location is great and the staff is very friendly. The place looks a little worn and needs some updating but it is very clean. The landscaping is beautiful and the restaurant Rita was good. The spa area is nice but they were updating the women's area so I was not able to use the sauna or whirlpool. I would go back because of the friendly staff and privacy of the casitas.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Capma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Wow, what an experence. We went for New Years get away and loved it. (Already booked to go back next year) Staff, people, service and location is great. No need to leave. Spa is fabulous. And for the level of services the cost was unexpectedly great. This could be the start of yearly adventure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KDGS-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 4 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#14 of 79 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa
Address: 5402 E Lincoln Dr, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253-4118
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unrivaled among Scottsdale resorts, JW Marriott Camelback Inn Resort & Spa remains faithful to its storied history while boldly embracing the future. Located on a breathtaking 125-acre campus beneath Mummy Mountain, this stunning luxury resort features a hacienda style entry, casita guest rooms and impressive amenities that leave guests with the thought of "In all the world, only one..." In addition to 24-hour room service guests can indulge in the fresh restaurant offerings including Rita's Kitchen, R Bar, featuring live music and inviting fire pits, or the famed BLT Steak. Golfers will enjoy 36-holes of championship golf at Camelback Golf Club or instruction from the Advantage Golf School. Spa-goers can unwind at award-winning Camelback Spa with a signature spa treatment, or poolside beneath a cabana while overlooking Camelback Mountain. When you are ready to discover the local area, allow the professional concierges to compliment your interests with the perfect activity or attraction. It's easy to understand why families, business luminaries and leaders alike return to Camelback Inn year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Hotel Paradise Valley
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Scottsdale
Camelback Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing