We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Thanksgiving in Scottsdale” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving in Scottsdale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at this resort for one week during the week of Thanksgiving. It started with a Sunday brunch upon our arrival which had everything you could want. The seafood bar was unforgettable. There was sunshine,good food live music and great service. Found out lots of families go there for Thanksgiving week, we didn't see any evidence of them until Thanksgiving day, which had another buffet with all the trappings.
We had great service at the spa. Steamed, massaged, took a yoga class and hiked up Mummy Mountain which was right next door. There was friendly dessert wildlife everywhere, (rabbits, birds friendly types). There were indian statues every where by artist Dave McGary, they were life size with great detail. We visited his gallery in the arts district and had a chance to meet him and his wife. Shot some video and pictures. He has an interesting story to tell. His work is just stunning! Google him before you go his work is everywhere at the resort.
Down side...We had to come home!

Room Tip: Rooms toward back are not so close to music the bands play until 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,245
    412
    93
    45
    23
See reviews for
343
609
74
430
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

First I just want to just say that from the time we arrived to the time we left the staff was amazing! We were on a girls trip for my friends 50th birthday, and the staff couldn't have made her feel more special. From checking in and upgrading our room from a one bedroom to a 2 bedroom suite, then chocolate covered strawberries delivered to our room that say'd "Happy Birthday", to a special birthday dessert delivered to our dinner table and last but not least a birthday gift bag filled with goodies waiting on the door when she got back from her spa treatment. They really know how to spoil you! The grounds were absolutely beautiful, the food at the restaurants were delicious, and the spa was very relaxing. Couldn't have asked for a more perfect stay! Thank you to all the staff for such a wonderful experience. We have already decided to make this an annual trip!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timeless71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I've heard about the Camelback all my life and finally at age 67 I got to stay here. I came with a convention.

Everything about the hotel was wonderful: great service, good food, lovely surroundings, wonderful beds, large rooms. I loved it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickpavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
307 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is an old hotel that has been continuously updated. I went there for a conference. They initially assigned us to what the desk later described as the room they only assign when full but were good about moving us when we complained about the noise. They even didn't charge us for one night out of 4.
The outdoor restaurant/bar is a good place to eat and drink. The menu for one of the restaurants is not very interesting, we didn't eat at the steakhouse which may be better.
There is a good pool for the guests.
We spent an afternoon at the spa which is extra.
The concierge was extremely helpful and would book taxis and restaurants.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 612Brian612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
713 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,243 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here several years ago. We went back for pre-dinner cocktails in their cozy bar/lounge.

There is outdoor seating with heaters/firepit if you prefer that. The entire Inn is Southwest Country in design...a really nice feel to it. It just makes you want to stay.

They have a great Happy Hour with discounted drinks/food. Drinks were VERY good and reasonable for the atmopshere. Fireplaces were on and romance was in the air :)

Next time we go to Scottsdale, we will return here. All good. 5 STARS.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HawaiiKaiGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Hills, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Excellent service, delightful meals however, outside of Vegas, I'm not big on "theme" hotels. The idea of cottages is great however, however the southwest motif did not impress this east coast girl. I did notice a glass sitting outside of my room upon checking-in. That same glass remained outside my room throughout the three days I stayed at the establishment; made me question the cleanliness of the resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LBoogie1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We really like this place. It doesn't hurt that the weather is perfect. Breakfast out on the terrace is great, and the buffet includes the most beautiful berries I have ever seen. The grounds are well cared for and lovely. And a cocktail on the terrace with music is a perfect start before dinner. And in the evening, just after sunset, the bunnies come out, enchanting any children around, and the adults too.

We are enjoying the pool - nicely laid out, great service, not too crowded. They have floats that you can use in the pool - very nice in the heat. And they came around with complementary frozen grapes to relieve the heat.

Our room is large, with a king sized bed, two closets, a small kitchen, couch, chair with ottoman, and a lovely patio. We had one small problem with our room - outside light wouldn't come on, and they fixed it in seconds.

It is Thanksgiving week, and we were given an activity book, with a day by day schedule of things - managers reception, cooking class, tour of the grounds, things for kids to do. Tomorrow I try the power walk at 7AM, to work off the calories that I will replace with Thanksgiving dinner. The spa is lovely, with lots of services. There is also a fitness room that is well equipped, both with treadmills and climbers, as well as therapy balls, weights, mats, and weight machines.

Parking is ample, and near your casita, regardless of where you are on the vast grounds. I expect we will come back again, and bring the whole family next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvsLaJolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 4 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#16 of 76 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa
Address: 5402 E Lincoln Dr, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253-4118
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unrivaled among Scottsdale resorts, JW Marriott Camelback Inn Resort & Spa remains faithful to its storied history while boldly embracing the future. Located on a breathtaking 125-acre campus beneath Mummy Mountain, this stunning luxury resort features a hacienda style entry, casita guest rooms and impressive amenities that leave guests with the thought of "In all the world, only one..." In addition to 24-hour room service guests can indulge in the fresh restaurant offerings including Rita's Kitchen, R Bar, featuring live music and inviting fire pits, or the famed BLT Steak. Golfers will enjoy 36-holes of championship golf at Camelback Golf Club or instruction from the Advantage Golf School. Spa-goers can unwind at award-winning Camelback Spa with a signature spa treatment, or poolside beneath a cabana while overlooking Camelback Mountain. When you are ready to discover the local area, allow the professional concierges to compliment your interests with the perfect activity or attraction. It's easy to understand why families, business luminaries and leaders alike return to Camelback Inn year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Hotel Paradise Valley
Jw Marriott Scottsdale
Camelback Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing