We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you'd expect from a legend.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I've heard about the Camelback all my life and finally at age 67 I got to stay here. I came with a convention.

Everything about the hotel was wonderful: great service, good food, lovely surroundings, wonderful beds, large rooms. I loved it.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickpavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,019)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,231 - 1,237 of 2,019 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is an old hotel that has been continuously updated. I went there for a conference. They initially assigned us to what the desk later described as the room they only assign when full but were good about moving us when we complained about the noise. They even didn't charge us for one night out of 4.
The outdoor restaurant/bar is a good place to eat and drink. The menu for one of the restaurants is not very interesting, we didn't eat at the steakhouse which may be better.
There is a good pool for the guests.
We spent an afternoon at the spa which is extra.
The concierge was extremely helpful and would book taxis and restaurants.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room away from the bar.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 612Brian612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here several years ago. We went back for pre-dinner cocktails in their cozy bar/lounge.

There is outdoor seating with heaters/firepit if you prefer that. The entire Inn is Southwest Country in design...a really nice feel to it. It just makes you want to stay.

They have a great Happy Hour with discounted drinks/food. Drinks were VERY good and reasonable for the atmopshere. Fireplaces were on and romance was in the air :)

Next time we go to Scottsdale, we will return here. All good. 5 STARS.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HawaiiKaiGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Excellent service, delightful meals however, outside of Vegas, I'm not big on "theme" hotels. The idea of cottages is great however, however the southwest motif did not impress this east coast girl. I did notice a glass sitting outside of my room upon checking-in. That same glass remained outside my room throughout the three days I stayed at the establishment; made me question the cleanliness of the resort.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBoogie1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We really like this place. It doesn't hurt that the weather is perfect. Breakfast out on the terrace is great, and the buffet includes the most beautiful berries I have ever seen. The grounds are well cared for and lovely. And a cocktail on the terrace with music is a perfect start before dinner. And in the evening, just after sunset, the bunnies come out, enchanting any children around, and the adults too.

We are enjoying the pool - nicely laid out, great service, not too crowded. They have floats that you can use in the pool - very nice in the heat. And they came around with complementary frozen grapes to relieve the heat.

Our room is large, with a king sized bed, two closets, a small kitchen, couch, chair with ottoman, and a lovely patio. We had one small problem with our room - outside light wouldn't come on, and they fixed it in seconds.

It is Thanksgiving week, and we were given an activity book, with a day by day schedule of things - managers reception, cooking class, tour of the grounds, things for kids to do. Tomorrow I try the power walk at 7AM, to work off the calories that I will replace with Thanksgiving dinner. The spa is lovely, with lots of services. There is also a fitness room that is well equipped, both with treadmills and climbers, as well as therapy balls, weights, mats, and weight machines.

Parking is ample, and near your casita, regardless of where you are on the vast grounds. I expect we will come back again, and bring the whole family next time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuvsLaJolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

When in Phoenix area, take time to visit the camelback mtn area and if you are staying over, make plans to stay at the Marriott Camelback Inn in Scottsdale! It is a fantastic place in the desert, with individual cottages, large cacti in your yard by your porch. Very fine dining options, pool is well layed out with food options and the spa is one of the best. Also take time to hike up the trail on site to see some of the native desert plants. Different and beautiful in their own way.
One afternoon between pool time and dinner, we were dressing in room and at 4 pm the sky darkened and sand blew all over. Afterwards a nice shower washed everything off and it was pleasant walk to dinner. Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: The higher up the mountain the better the view and closer to spa. Ours was between the pool and main...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naturalcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The room is located literally next door to the bar and the entertainment. Who is the Einstein who designed this? Spacious rooms with a poorly planned bathroom, you have to lean over the toilet to turn on the shower. Food is good. Really mixed review.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa

Address: 5402 East Lincoln Drive, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range: $283 - $595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unrivaled among resorts in Scottsdale, Arizona, luxurious JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa remains faithful to its storied history while boldly embracing the future. Located on a breathtaking 125-acre campus beneath Mummy Mountain, this stunning resort features a hacienda style entry, casita guest rooms and impressive amenities that leave guests with the thought of "In all the world, only one..." Golfers will enjoy 36-holes of championship golf at Camelback Golf Club or instruction from the Advantage Golf School. Spa-goers can unwind at award-winning Camelback Spa with a signature spa treatment, or poolside beneath a cabana while overlooking Camelback Mountain. When you are ready to discover the local area, allow the professional concierges to compliment your interests with the perfect activity or attraction. It's easy to understand why families, business luminaries and leaders alike return to JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Hotel Paradise Valley
Jw Marriott Scottsdale
Camelback Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing