We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I needed a few days of peace and this property fit the bill. We loved the casita-style lay-out. The rooms are large, clean and well-appointed. The common areas are spectacular. We loved the grounds, the pool area and the outdoor dining/patio area. The casual dining restaurant was excellent both with respect to food, service and value. The BLT restaurant was generally good, but over-priced in my view. The popovers were amazing, but the steak underwhelmed me...not bad, just fell short of expectations.
Loved the front desk staff. They were friendly and went above and beyond making sure our needs were met. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,017)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,242 - 1,248 of 2,017 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Time stands still. Service out does the ambience--and that is why come here.

Food is tremendous but pricey so be prepared to bust the budget. Popovers are to die for but everything else is scrumptious.

Garden is beautiful. If you can, get one of the rooms on the second floor looking out over the mountains across from the Spa. Location is great and the view is what gives you the value.

Motif is excellent, love the Southwestern styling.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mobiousthunderduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Spent 5 days at the Camelback Inn & loved it!
This is a beautiful resort. Grounds are beautiful & has a wonderful pool area.
Room was part of an adobe style 4 plex. Quiet location. Room was large & clean, decorated in the southwestern style. Decent sized balcony. Bathroom, while also large, needs updating.
Food at the main lounge & restaurant was average, but service was very good.
Lovely outdoor fireplaces to sit by in the evening.
Spa looked beautiful as well, but we did not use this amenity.
One major con - Wifi was not included - should be for a resort of this caliber.
We give this resort an overall rating of 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itraveltherefor... F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Camelback Inn a few times this year. Each time was a very memorable experience. The things I love about this resort: The pool is in a great location with an awesome view; The outdoor area outside of the lobby/restaurants is fantastic...several patio heaters and firepits, it is large, beautifully decorated with lanterns, etc; the nightly entertainment. The first time we went the band was absolutely wonderful but the second time they seemed to be short of a few of their players and it wasn't quite the experience we had before. We will certainly try it again.

Our room this time had a very private patio area which was very nice. The rooms are nicely done but the bathrooms are still the old style, at least in the rooms where we stayed. I will certainly ask whether they have some rooms with more up to date bathrooms.

The restaurants onsite are just "ok". I have not personally tried BLT Steakhouse but my boyfriend has and he felt it wasn't worth the price. The breakfast buffet was great but our other meals were just mediocre.

The resort property is absolutely beautiful...they have captured the essence of the Arizona desert in a most spectacular way.

We had breakfast in our room on our last day and I must say that the service was excellent. They arrived promptly and set up a beautiful table on our outside patio. The breakfast was awesome.

All in all, a very nice place to stay and we will definitely visit again!

Room Tip: I would definitely ask for a room with a private patio area, one not too close to the walkways. Som...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

If you are from the east and haven't experienced cactus in bulk, this is the resort for you! There are at least 100 different species of cactus. Small ones all the way up to the large saguaro. Everywhere you wander through the resort, you will be amazed at the variety of plant and animal life that thrives nearby. A classic Marriott in the heart of the desert!

Room Tip: I would request a room somewhere near the pool. If you are there in the "hot" season, you...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sun4me247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at this wonderful resort for a couple of days. From the moment the wonderful, Ainsley, checked us in and upgraded our room, we felt special and pampered. The food at both restaurants, BLT and Rita's was delicious. The service, overall, was really remarkable. We are platinum members and everyone at this Hotel, by far, recognized that status. The experience was fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mag774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We loved this resort and can't wait to return! Beautiful grounds, lovely room, great service, and delicous food, what else can you ask for in a resort! Here are some things we loved-

1- Food- We are picky about where we eat when we go on vacation and expect to have a memorable meal. The first night we ate at BLT which is right at the resort, and had an amazing meal. We have been to the BLT here in DC, but actually enjoyed the food more at the Camelback Inn. My husband (a big meat eater) said his ribeye was the best he has ever had. Also dont miss the Tuna Tartare, it is amazing. The 2nd night we went offsite to Cowboy Ciao in downtown Scottsdale, it was ok. We regret not staying on the resort for all dinners. 3rd night was Rita's, my expectations were not high, and we ate here more because we were tired and didnt feel like venturing out. But boy was I wrong, the food here was amazing. Every bite do delicous! Some of the best mexcican food I have ever eaten. Keep in mind they have great happy hour specials at all their restaurants so try to get there a little early to take advantage of that.

2- Grounds- Everything was beautiful and well cared for. The main outside area where the restaurants are is absolutely gorgeous, I could just sit there all day and be happy.. Plus they have live music outside every night, which is a great perk. Both pools were also great.

3- Service- We had no complaints, the servers at the pool were always there to give us another drink and the waiters and bartenders at the restaurants were very helpful. Plus the concierge desk was great, pointed us to a ranch for horseback riding called Trailhead Ranch, which was an amazing adventure. Also the bellman were helpful, we took the bikes one day and went to Camelback MTn, and they were really friendly giving us directions and waters for our trip.

We also loved our spa day and the spa pool. . We have stayed at many high end Four Seaons Resorts, and although this isn't quite up to par with that level of Quality, it is very very close (yet much less expensive!). This is definitely a luxury resort and I believe the price is very good for what you get.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tas512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa

Address: 5402 East Lincoln Drive, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range: $265 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unrivaled among resorts in Scottsdale, Arizona, luxurious JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa remains faithful to its storied history while boldly embracing the future. Located on a breathtaking 125-acre campus beneath Mummy Mountain, this stunning resort features a hacienda style entry, casita guest rooms and impressive amenities that leave guests with the thought of "In all the world, only one..." Golfers will enjoy 36-holes of championship golf at Camelback Golf Club or instruction from the Advantage Golf School. Spa-goers can unwind at award-winning Camelback Spa with a signature spa treatment, or poolside beneath a cabana while overlooking Camelback Mountain. When you are ready to discover the local area, allow the professional concierges to compliment your interests with the perfect activity or attraction. It's easy to understand why families, business luminaries and leaders alike return to JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Hotel Paradise Valley
Jw Marriott Scottsdale
Camelback Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing