We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Up to Date Version of the Classic Motor Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

A great stay if you are looking for world class service and convenient location in the Scottsdale area. My wife and I stayed at this classic motor inn during a business trip to the Phoenix area. From the time we checked into this hotel we were greeted with genuine hospitality by all staff. We have stayed at many hotels around the world, and the service at the JW Marriott Camelback is the top of the list.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,054)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,286 - 1,292 of 2,054 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

This resort is breathtaking. It is so relaxing and all the staff treat you so wonderful.

We were able to stay in one of their suites that has it's own pool, which was an amazing experience. The rooms are very nice and decorated beautifully. Walking around the property in the early morning and evening was a nice experience to see all of the hummingbirds and blooming plants during this time.

The rooms themselves are really spread out on the property, but all pretty much centered around the main property complex with their restaurants and hotel lobby and concierge. We enjoyed the walk, but you can also call them and they will come get you in a golf cart and take you wherever you need to go on property.

While we were there, they had live music being played out on the patio which was an added bonus.

We took one of the area tours that they coordinate for you as we did not rent a car. The staff who works with you on this is exceptional. The onsite Starbucks opens early which worked out well for an early morning tour to Sedona.

The resort has a limo service onsite which we used to take us and pick us back up in Scottsdale for sightseeing. It was a great service with wonderful tips from the driver about places to see and suggestions on where to eat.

With the great food, people, grounds and location, I could not think of another place in the Scottsdale area that I would want to stay.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room with your own pool ... it is so nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortlandPhyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights before his business conference began. The lobby and adjacent bars and restaurants were nicely done in a sort of trendy-ranch style. Service was very friendly and professional; drinks were good and the salsa sampler was excellent. The grounds were lovely and well maintained and the jackrabbit pool and whirlpools were nice.
The biggest drawback was our room. Set on the ground floor, the musty smelling room felt like you were in a basement decorated in very dated 1970’s Southwestern décor. It did have large sliding glass doors that led out onto a small patio with a couple of chairs, but the room was still very dark and not welcoming. The bathroom was fine, but also in need of updating. If I'm ever back in Scottsdales, I’ll probably try a different hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HobokenGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This place has a lot of property. The rooms are scattered around and some can be a distance from the main lobby. They will pick you up in golf carts if you need this service. I personally liked being away from the main area. It is not too far to walk, and the grounds are kept up beautifully. They have concerts at night with an outdoor seating area and a bar. Nothing like watching Monday night football outside, with a couple of drinks in shorts, in lat October.

The breakfast buffet was excellent. There were a lot of choices with omelets cooked to order, and pancakes and Belgium waffles.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night before flying out. I guess we missed whatever the fuss is about. The room was large and well furnished, with a renovated but still 1970's shaped bathroom. Patio overlooked electrical equipment. To be fair we did not have time to use the facilities such as the pool or spa (and for which we had paid daily $25 fee) so perhaps those amenities are the draw. Very disappointed by BLK Steakhouse-- very, very expensive with decent food, but extremely pretentious service that made us uncomfortable. All in all fine for a stop and probably a business conference, but would be disappointing if this were your vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmom909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Loved this large resort which delivered exceptional service. Historic main building had old western feel from the roof timbers to the black and whit photos of hollywood guests. You are greeted by bellmen with water bottles which was so appreciated while visiting in the 100+ temperatures of the summer. Go to the spa pool for a tranquil afternoon with pretty views. Food was delicious. Service outstanding! Cant wait to go back in cooler weather.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carried191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a top notch property - and you are going to pay top dollar. I attended a conference here and really enjoyed it.

First off, the grounds are impeccable. Everything is manicured and thoughtfully laid out. It's a sprawling resort, so you may have a longish walk to things like the pool or main building.

Usually hotel catering is....meh. Camelback Inn does it right though - every meal I ate here was fresh and delicious. The staff was really on their game, replenishing things frequently and making sure diners had drinks, etc. One of the common topics at this conference was how great the food was - one afternoon they rolled out a cart with homemade ice cream bars. Awesome.

The staff here is also exceptional - they are unfailingly friendly and helpful. All around, this place is first class but you are going to pay dearly for the privilege. If you can afford it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa

Address: 5402 E Lincoln Dr, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253-4118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range: $310 - $628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unrivaled among resorts in Scottsdale, Arizona, luxurious JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa remains faithful to its storied history while boldly embracing the future. Located on a breathtaking 125-acre campus beneath Mummy Mountain, this stunning resort features a hacienda style entry, casita guest rooms and impressive amenities that leave guests with the thought of "In all the world, only one..." Golfers will enjoy 36-holes of championship golf at Camelback Golf Club or instruction from the Advantage Golf School. Spa-goers can unwind at award-winning Camelback Spa with a signature spa treatment, or poolside beneath a cabana while overlooking Camelback Mountain. When you are ready to discover the local area, allow the professional concierges to compliment your interests with the perfect activity or attraction. It's easy to understand why families, business luminaries and leaders alike return to JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Hotel Paradise Valley
Jw Marriott Scottsdale
Camelback Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing