We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once is not enough...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lon's at the Hermosa

Lon's at the Hermosa
Reserve with OpenTable
Lon's at the Hermosa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Stanford Dr. & North Palo Cristi Rd
London, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Once is not enough...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our newest favorite place in Scottsdale... The Hermosa Inn in Paradise Valley.
Yes, it is a hideaway - we had a difficult time finding it at dusk but our persistence was well rewarded! Use your GPS!
We found two large mission style chairs on the patio in front of the Last Drop bar, surrounded by blazing wood burning fires.
Our server suggested we peruse the bar menu small plates...we loved the spicy tuna tacos, duck confit empanadas & miniature crab cakes combined with a generous glass of red.
We returned two days later for lunch on Lon's patio - possibly the best burger I've ever had, my wife devoured the truffle cheese macaroni with bacon. This is a very cool place!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Lon's at the Hermosa, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We're happy to hear you joined us over the summer and had a wonderful time. Thank you for sharing your experience with others and we hope to see you again soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    114
    49
    30
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Truly a wonderful evening. Early May in Phoenix was HOT HOT HOT. Sitting on the outside Veranda in the early evening with a nice breeze was wonderful and the setting very beautiful, very southwestern! The service (esp maître) was very professional and not overbearing. Very accommodating for our large business group. The food was very good - some funky items - and able to accommodate special diets. Wine list was extensive. The Inn itself also looked very interesting - would definitely consider staying there when next in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelingirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Magnificent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

What a night!!
Beginning to end this is a first class restaurant. The service, atmosphere and food were impeccable.
We were part of a group of ten people celebrating a friends birthday. We ate on the veranda amongst the flora.
Especially nice was the fact there were no insects to detract from the unique setting. It was a night to remember.
Don't miss the chance to eat here. You'll love it.
A little pricey but who cares, you don't celebrate birthdays that often.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Coop3842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Sadly, only had a chance at two meals...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had the opportunity to stay at the Hermosa Inn one night because of plane connections in Phoenix. One of the reasons we chose the Hermosa, was that Lon's is there. We were not disappointed. Dinner was excellent. We had the option to sit outside where a jazz combo was entertaining on a delightful patio, or inside the rustic refurbished adobe home. We chose inside because it was till in the 80s outside and it was a bit uncomfortable. But inside the restaurant was a joy as well. The restaurant in decorated in original Southwest art and had the feel of someone's home. Service was excellent as was the food. If you like beef, and it is on the menu, try the tenderloin. Melt in mouth good. But the winner for the evening was the "Cowboy Cookie". I don't think any cowboy ever had it this good!

For brunch the next morning, we selected the Mesquite pancakes with granola and honey, and the Eggs Benedict. Both were excellent, and the pancakes were so light that they really didn't seem like pancakes. Overall the restaurant is not for the faint of wallet, but well worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Lon's at the Hermosa, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review, and for choosing us during your brief stay in the Valley. We hope to see you again soon, but in the meantime safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coto de Caza, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“ASU Sun Devil Graduation Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We went to Lon's for my son's Arizona State University graduation dinner and loved it. We had a party of 10 and sat outside under the lights with a guitar soloist playing in the background. Great evening and delicious food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lon's at the Hermosa also viewed

Paradise Valley, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Lon's at the Hermosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing