We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain Splendour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mountain Splendour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Sanctuary is one of those hidden exclusive boutique resorts that are only known to a select few. Almost like knowing a secret hand shake, if you don't know its there, you will go right past it and never be the wiser. But those who do discover this wonderful mountain side resort nestled at the base of Camelback Mountain will never forget the experience. The rooms are more like mini suites in their own bungalow with amazing amenities and a friendly service staff that make you feel like its your personal resort. The restaurant overlooks the north side of the Phoenix-Scottsdale area with all the appropriate sunset and nighttime views of city lights. The food is award winning- compliments of their James Beard chef Beau McMillan. This was our third visit to the resort and we were not disappointed. If you ever get the chance to stay at this resort- I would jump on it- you will be glad you did.

Room Tip: I have never had to ask for a better room- I don't think they have a bad one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlemicetic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,059
    178
    66
    28
    20
See reviews for
146
644
67
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasantville
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our recent stay at Sanctuary was heavenly. We arrived very late and were greeted warmly by the valet and front desk. The staff, mostly male during our stay, was extremely polite, gracious and good looking! We dined on premises twice for dinner and twice for breakfast which were each outstanding with such a beautiful view each time. We made use of the spa, fitness room and pool area and while we did do some sightseeing, it was difficult to leave Sanctuary! I cannot recall a hotel that was this perfect and we have traveled quite extensively. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We loved our Mountain Casita
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roomservice56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We just came back from a weekend getaway and I cannot stop wishing I was back at the Sanctuary! Service from all staff we encountered was friendly and efficient. We stayed in a spa suite (spa suites are 1/2 of its own little building, so it feels quiet and secluded),and it was huge! The living area was large with huge glass doors and a fireplace, the bedroom was also spacious with access to the patio. The bathroom and closet were also very large and the bathroom opens to an enclosed patio with a lounger and outdoor tub. I just couldn't get over how comfy the suite was, we just didn't want to leave. We spent a lot of time at the pool (its smaller than I would have expected), and really enjoyed the food, drinks (hello, Fiery Mandarin!), and friendly and fast service. I cannot recommend the Sanctuary enough, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinnam0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel was great- the rooms are UNBELIEVABLE! Our room was huge- It could be a home.... it has a kitchenette, living room, dining table, large balcony, large bedroom, and big bathroom. Everything was perfectly clean. The ice truck brought ice multiple times per day. The rooms were cleaned daily, and there was also nightly turndown service.

I went to the spa and had a hot stone massage- wonderful! If you have time, get there earlier than the suggested 30 minutes, because the spa itself is very nice: eucalyptus steam room, jacuzzi, and plenty of nice big showers with everything you could need- everything is cleaned immediately after you use it! So nice.

Breakfast was very good.

The pool is awesome- there is no loud music at the pool (yay!)- the pool servers are always around and eager to help. They keep water out for everyone. Pina coladas are amazing :)

I think this resort is amazing... and while it is expensive, I think it is a GREAT value for what you get.

And maybe the best part (other than the fantastic rooms), is the view- from any part of the resort!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emp68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I spent 3 nights at Sanctuary on a work retreat and was thoroughly impressed with the customer service at this resort. People we kind, courteous, and willing to go that extra mile to ensure that their guests were happy. The grounds, restaurant, and spa are beautiful and really promote relaxation and elegance. The views from the restaurant and the pool are breathtaking. Food and cocktails are pricey but worth the money. A well earned 5 star.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Casa 9 at the Camelback Sanctuary while I was on business. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the service was absolutely first class.

Casa 9 was incredibly beautiful, with a large great room and expansive patio where we spent time each evening and early each morning to see the sun set and sun rise. We also enjoyed the pool, with a couple of chairs pulled up under the palm tree. The plunge pool helped keep us cool, and there were a lot of hummingbirds to watch while we sat poolside.

The bar at the resort was fantastic, and we highly recommend the Fiery Mandarin mixed drink - a real surprise. We also used the spa and highly recommend the therapeutic massage.

If you get up early in the morning, it is a short trip to hike up Camelback Mountain and enjoy the sunrise.

Overall a wonderful trip, and we highly recommend Sanctuary Camelback Mountain!

Room Tip: Casa 9 has a beautiful view of the valley below and the mountains above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CincyKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in the mountain vista king suite 225. Check-in was quick and staff were on hand to guide us to a parking spot near the unit. The suite has a large living/dining area as well as a kitchenette equipped with a 2-burner stove, microwave, Keurig machine, and a small fridge. Sadly the cutlery and dinnerware were plastic (supposedly to comply with health department rules) and there were no pots/pans or tools available if you do want to cook up something. I guess the stove is there just to use the water kettle.

The living area is comfortable with plenty of seating and a fireplace and has a nice view. The balcony is accessible from the living area and the bedroom. The bedroom seems small with the king-sized poster bed and rather large bedside tables. There is a sliding red window between the bedroom and the bathroom. The bathroom is large enough but there are no towel racks. The red flower toiletries smelled wonderful. The decor is 60s style but is updated, except for the kitchenette cabinets. The unit was well-insulated from outside noise. The bed was very comfortable.

The views are excellent and we would have spent more time out on the balcony if the temperature wasn't 107 degrees. A patio umbrella would be nice to have. The resort layout feels very tight; there are not many open spaces, even by the pool. There are 2 pools - one outside the restaurant and a lap pool by the fitness room. I didn't go for any spa services but the spa environment looked very nice and relaxing. Apart from the views the best part of this resort was the staff; everyone was friendly and helpful. Overall this is a very nice resort but we've stayed at others in the area more to our taste.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#14 of 79 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,922 reviews
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Camelback Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

Property: Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Address: 5700 E McDonald Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Camelback Mountain 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your sanctuary at the best Arizona resort...a luxury boutique hideaway on Camelback Mountain. Overlooking the spectacular views of Paradise Valley, relax in a mountainside or spa casita. Retreat to Sanctuary Spa for Asian-inspired treatments and exhilarating classes. Taste the award-winning cuisine of elements' by Food Network star Chef Beau MacMillan. Savor the sunset at jade bar or on edge, raising the bar for happy hour. Play tennis or hike in a fabulous setting, lounge by the infinity-edge pool, or indulge in Scottsdale's hottest shopping, cultural attractions and championship golf just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanctuary Camelback Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Hotel Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Paradise Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing