We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Nearby Hotels
JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa(Paradise Valley)(Great Value!)
$220
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hermosa Inn(Paradise Valley)(Great Value!)
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia(Paradise Valley)(Great Value!)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mountain Shadows Resort Scottsdale(Paradise Valley)(Great Value!)
$144
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows(Scottsdale)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Andaz Scottsdale Resort & Spa(Scottsdale)(Great Value!)
$165
$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$139
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Scottsdale Resort & Villas(Scottsdale)(Great Value!)
$128
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Scottsdale Plaza Resort(Scottsdale)(Great Value!)
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,866)
Filter reviews
1,866 results
Traveler rating
1,481
231
92
38
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,481
231
92
38
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjade barelements restaurantspa casitainfinity poolcamelback mountaintop notchmountain view suitespa treatmentsliving roomroom serviceflip flopsget awayfitness classespool staffturn down servicefour seasonssoaking tub
Filter
Updating list...
1,238 - 1,243 of 1,866 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was my second stay at Sanctuary. Some of the staff remembered me by name which was amazing. They are outstanding and want to ensure your stay is perfect. The sunsets from the Edge are breathtaking. The food is presented well and very tasty. There are mixology classes with several tastings every Saturday for a nominal fee, and you get a recipe card to take home too. The concierge and restaurant/bar staff are unbelievably friendly. The rooms are all beautiful and extremely comfortable. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabtrav001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Exclusive and private, this former tennis club is now converted into a spa and event resort space. Each casita is a duplex, so you are really in a private setting. There are 100 units peppered around the property, so you do have to do some walking: up and down the hills, since it is on the side of a hill. The views of the setting sun over the "Praying Monk" are really nice, although watching the sun hit the sides of the red rock mountains is just as nice. The rooms are well stocked, have great beds, and fine linens, with several nice features: turn down service included fresh ice, and live candles lit with a nice aroma to greet you as you return to your space. Large, double headed rain shower heads feel awesome, although in a dessert, you feel a twinge of guilt as the water flows down. You can never really have cold water, since the temperatures outside in June are way above a 100 F. The spa is relaxing, separated into women and men. Whirlpool, steam room, and quite reflecting rooms prepare you for your spa experience. There are dozens of spa treatments to choose from depending on your budget -- but they are all very well executed! Constant, discreet attention is enjoyable, although you may have to hang on to your towel if you don't want to lose it! The pool (infinity type) has small cabanas around it with constant serivce -- and open seemingly all hours of the day and night! The food was wonderful, but since we were there as part of an event, I am not sure what the restaurant food would be like per se. The drinks are discounted in the summer, but you should ask for what is special. Overall, very relaxing in a tranquil setting without anything else to do but lie back and luxuriate!

Room Tip: Request a casita close to the main pool-spa area, otherwise you walk forever. Use the flip-flops they give you -- otherwise you will burn your feet around the pool and on the paths
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lestertheinvestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

What an incredible energy about the place. An oasis away from the hustle and bustle of the big city - it is an excellent place to get away and relax. The staff is helpful and friendly and we even made a friend with one of the servers. I highly recommend going for relaxation and spa trips. The bed was super comfy and you MUST try the gluten free pancakes! Even if you are'nt gluten intolerant

Room Tip: All of the rooms are fantastic!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snicker67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was our second time staying at this hotel. I can honestly say we never return to a hotel without good reason. Travelling all the way from Ireland we always want to be sure of the hotel we choose.

I can highly recommend Sanctuary. We stayed in one of the Spa Casitas. The hotel had in fact arranged that we had the same room from our previous trip. What excellent service.

The room had a very private balcony which offered space to relax outside in the sun. Beautifully appointed furnishings in the room and an extremely comfortable bed which received turn down each evening.

Breakfast, which we had on our balcony each morning, was as good as I have ever had. Perhaps even one of the best. And on the couple of occasions we ordered room service the food was always excellent.

Great bar staff were present in the bar, very friendly and mixing great cocktails. Well done.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough and I look forward to returning in the near future. Well done and Thankyou.

Room Tip: Try one of the Spa Casitas
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgiarain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I slip away from LA to Scottsdale for a nice little break from our hectic lives a few times each year. Nearly every trip is spent checking out a different resort in the area. Needless to say, we have stayed in many 5 star properties here and by far, Sanctuary is the very best. It's secluded, romantic, and has exceptional staff and services. The amenities are fabulous and the location could not be more perfect for avid hikers like us that like to get a good workout in before lazing about at the pool. I can't wait for our next trip - and no reason to try another place when this one hit all the marks.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brentond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews