We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Nearby Hotels
Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia(Paradise Valley)(Great Value!)
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa(Paradise Valley)(Great Value!)
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hermosa Inn(Paradise Valley)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain Shadows Resort Scottsdale(Paradise Valley)(Great Value!)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows(Scottsdale)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$89
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Scottsdale Resort & Villas(Scottsdale)(Great Value!)
$99
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Scottsdale Plaza Resort(Scottsdale)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,884)
Filter reviews
1,884 results
Traveler rating
1,495
234
93
38
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,495
234
93
38
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjade barelements restaurantspa casitainfinity poolcamelback mountainpraying monktop notchmountain view suitespa treatmentsliving roomroom serviceflip flopspool stafffitness classesget awayturn down servicethe entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
1,315 - 1,320 of 1,884 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We held our company annual meeting here this past January. The property itself is magnificent, and the service levels were some of the best I have experience in my travels. Ever time you turned around, someone was available to assist you in whatever you needed, from giving you a ride to the other side of the resort, to making you a cup of home-made cocoa (which is totally worth the 10-minute wait). The grounds are well-kept, and while you will do a LOT of walking getting from the lobby to your cassita to the meeting rooms, you are invigorated each time you step outside and take in your surroundings.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a "bad" room on the property.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hegartnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I visited the resort in January, 2013, for a conference. The hotel grounds were very nice, and the setting was beautiful. The service was great and food was terrific. The rooms had a "dormitory" look to them, on the outside, and I was told that this was because it was previously a tennis camp. Inside, they were luxurious and well-appointed.

I wish I could say that I visited the pool, played some tennis, and hiked atop Camelback Mountain, but the weekend I was there, the Phoenix area received about one-third its annual allotment of rain. The fitness room was excellent and not crowded in the morning, but how much time can one spend working out?

Overall, an excellent resort. I would return to it in the future. I just wish we had better weather.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank RYKan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were eager to get to this resort and we booked at Mountain Suite. We are in our 30s and the pictures on the website looked like a Luxury resort aimed for a younger crowd. Mind you, most of our stays are in high-end luxury resorts and the crowd is usually older than us, we have no problem with that. But on their website, the rooms look full of bright colors and it seems that they were recently done. Very misleading! The rooms are bland, the bright colors from the website is just photoshop. The rooms clearly shows their age, I suspect they were built 50 years ago with only the soft good changed. Toilet was in a small separated cabinet, which is normally nice in most hotels but this one was very small, creepy, smelled like humidity and poorly lit. The AC was not working properly unless the door between the living room and bedroom is left open. We book suites especially to have a door that can close. Since the room is on pillars, the hot air of the desert flows freely under the suite, which heats the floor. Very uncomfortable at night.

The setup of the hotel is very unique, being on the Camelback mountain and rooms at different heights. The main pool is very nice and very relaxing (maybe a bit too much, we went into the water carefully, to make sure not to make too much noise, and it still felt like we bothered the people around). Breakfast outside by the pool with the view of the mountain is also very nice.

Had a facial at the spa. The service was very professional and nice but I thought the facilities would've been larger with more pools as it is a spa resort.

We were supposed to stay at the Four Seasons At Troon North in Scottsdale, but because of the Sanctuary's website pictures, we decided to switch... We shouldn't have...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank martinbutler888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Sanctuary was very restful and serene. We highly recommend it for younger people who find the Biltmore stodgy.
- Sanja gave phenomenal massages with neck techniques we haven't seen at other resorts.
- Spa is beautiful (nicer than Four Seasons) and was especially dramatic in the rain.
- accommodated us with skin sensitive products because we had allergies.
- Don't miss breakfast at Elements. Great view, healthy and delicious .
- Resort was consistently peaceful and the grounds have nice walks.

Thx Trip Advisor for telling us about Becketts Table, Elements, Frank & Alberts. We'd add Chez Vous at Gainey Village for an authentic French restaurant shopping break.

Room Tip: Avoid the Mountainview double/double room 222. No patio, housekeeping leaves carts out all day and generally makes pests of themselves
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metzger_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is a great Hotel with outstanding service. We went there for our anniversary and had a wonderful experience. Their restaurant "Elements" is a must, the food there is delicious. The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiroloco-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews