We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They overly photoshop their website pictures!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Terrebonne, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“They overly photoshop their website pictures!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were eager to get to this resort and we booked at Mountain Suite. We are in our 30s and the pictures on the website looked like a Luxury resort aimed for a younger crowd. Mind you, most of our stays are in high-end luxury resorts and the crowd is usually older than us, we have no problem with that. But on their website, the rooms look full of bright colors and it seems that they were recently done. Very misleading! The rooms are bland, the bright colors from the website is just photoshop. The rooms clearly shows their age, I suspect they were built 50 years ago with only the soft good changed. Toilet was in a small separated cabinet, which is normally nice in most hotels but this one was very small, creepy, smelled like humidity and poorly lit. The AC was not working properly unless the door between the living room and bedroom is left open. We book suites especially to have a door that can close. Since the room is on pillars, the hot air of the desert flows freely under the suite, which heats the floor. Very uncomfortable at night.

The setup of the hotel is very unique, being on the Camelback mountain and rooms at different heights. The main pool is very nice and very relaxing (maybe a bit too much, we went into the water carefully, to make sure not to make too much noise, and it still felt like we bothered the people around). Breakfast outside by the pool with the view of the mountain is also very nice.

Had a facial at the spa. The service was very professional and nice but I thought the facilities would've been larger with more pools as it is a spa resort.

We were supposed to stay at the Four Seasons At Troon North in Scottsdale, but because of the Sanctuary's website pictures, we decided to switch... We shouldn't have...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank martinbutler888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,346
    211
    82
    35
    22
See reviews for
201
793
88
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Sanctuary was very restful and serene. We highly recommend it for younger people who find the Biltmore stodgy.
- Sanja gave phenomenal massages with neck techniques we haven't seen at other resorts.
- Spa is beautiful (nicer than Four Seasons) and was especially dramatic in the rain.
- accommodated us with skin sensitive products because we had allergies.
- Don't miss breakfast at Elements. Great view, healthy and delicious .
- Resort was consistently peaceful and the grounds have nice walks.

Thx Trip Advisor for telling us about Becketts Table, Elements, Frank & Alberts. We'd add Chez Vous at Gainey Village for an authentic French restaurant shopping break.

Room Tip: Avoid the Mountainview double/double room 222. No patio, housekeeping leaves carts out all day and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metzger_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is a great Hotel with outstanding service. We went there for our anniversary and had a wonderful experience. Their restaurant "Elements" is a must, the food there is delicious. The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiroloco-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Came to this amazing getaway with my husband for a last min. retreat. We have never experienced such a warm, relaxing, and beautiful environment before! My husband and I have traveled and stayed at many "top" resorts, but nothing compares to this! We both had massages, facials, and the best pedicures EVER! My nail tech (Marideth) gave one of the best pedicures I have ever had! It was much needed after a long hike. We can not wait to come back again for tasty food, pampering, and relaxation. Everyone is so friendly and warm!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beach Family D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The casitas were awesome and could not ask for better service. Great restaurant and spa!!! We will definitely return. Pricey but worth every penny. A little slice of heaven in the dessert. Would recommend to all

Room Tip: Try for a casita higher on mountain for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassafras111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We booked a four night long weekend due to the good reviews and decided we would even splurge on a spa suite the first 2 nights because all other room categories were booked. Well, our $700 spa suite was next to a parking lot, so the room had a parking lot view and the porch had no privacy. It didn't help that when we arrived there was a huge corporate event throughout the hotel with groups of people playing bonding-type games (including a bouncy house and rock climbing wall in the parking lot next to our suite). That wasn't exactly what we had in mind when booking a trip to "Sanctuary."

The corporate group eventually left but we still decided to downgrade out of our suite after the first night because the cable tv didn't work and the air conditioning unit made banging sounds throughout the night. We are now staying in a mountain casita for around $500 which has no soundproofing from the adjacent room. Last night the people next door were watching "Lincoln" on tv until midnight and we could hear it almost as if it were in our room. Tonight it's more of the same. I told the front desk and they said all mountain casitas have the same sound problem.

Obviously it's disappointing to pay these rates and have to deal with these issues.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
500 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a great room with a wonderful view of the mountains and the sunset. The room was large and had a fireplace which was great for a cool evening. The restaurant was outstanding as usual with Chef Beau there. Everyone was very professional and the staff was very helpful. I would defienitely reccommend for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#21 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Camelback Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

Property: Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Address: 5700 E McDonald Dr, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253-5218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Camelback Mountain 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your sanctuary at the best Arizona resort...a luxury boutique hideaway on Camelback Mountain. Overlooking the spectacular views of Paradise Valley, relax in a mountainside or spa casita. Retreat to Sanctuary Spa for Asian-inspired treatments and exhilarating classes. Taste the award-winning cuisine of elements' by Food Network star Chef Beau MacMillan. Savor the sunset at jade bar or on edge, raising the bar for happy hour. Play tennis or hike in a fabulous setting, lounge by the infinity-edge pool, or indulge in Scottsdale's hottest shopping, cultural attractions and championship golf just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sanctuary Camelback Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Hotel Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Paradise Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing