We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I'm due to give birth in January and wanted to ensure my husband and I had a 'babymoon' before he/she arrives. After various recommendations, we booked a week's stay at the Sanctuary - I'm so pleased we did!

The hotel and grounds are fabulous, ALL of the staff were fantastic, friendly and so helpful. The food in the restaurant is excellent as is the lunch options by the heavenly infinity pool.

We had a Mountain Casita room which is far larger than we expected and extremely luxurious too. It made us wonder just how exquisite the larger rooms must be!

The spa is fabulous - it's certainly worth treating yourself whilst there and bring your tennis rackets with too! Great courts you can use as well.

If you want to leave the hotel - everything is moments away including the Fashion Square Mall. If you're feeling adventurous I highly suggest renting a car and navigating the Apache Trail. LOTS of fun but perhaps best travelled in an SUV!

In other words - a truly 5 star experience in a wonderful setting. Thank you to all the team at the Sanctuary for arranging an unforgettable break.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucyfromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,718)
There are newer reviews for Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,208 - 1,214 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

I went to this spa for a massage and it was excellent. The Pool area is at base of Camelback Mountain and has a jacuzzi as well!! There is resaturant there called the Elements which as beautiful outdoor seating over looking the pool area!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Thank debaden_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great place to have a meeting interspersed with food breaks out side in the day and under the stars at night. But environmentally...dual head showers in the middle of the desert? They need to start thinking and acting about sustainability. How about solar panels to heat the pools? Generate electricity? So simple to to in Phoenix...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pscotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sancmanager, Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and I do want to call your attention to the many green initiatives that the Sanctuary Green Team has in place. These are listed on our website and we are very proud of our recycling programs, low water use (natural, desert) landscaping and extensive use of recycled products throughout the property!

Warm regards,
Jill Clark
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel is at the foot of Camelback Mountain and is just gorgeous. We found it very relaxing. Rooms are very spacious and well done in a Zenish/modern way. THey even light real candles in the room during turn-down service. Also, nice variety of excercise classes that I really enjoyed. Make sure to hike Camelback though a round trip takes about 4 hours plus you have to hike back to the hotel, walking in the most gorgeous neighborhood. Be sure to get a ride to the mountain since the hike has you really scrambling (and we are in good shape). Totally enjoyed that.

Room Tip: Rooms are scattered on the property in little townhouses. I think there is a new section and an old...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katica46855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My family wanted to do a fun, relaxing, and special trip to celebrate my father's retirement, and we chose to go to Sanctuary. The stay from start to finish was amazing and everything we had hoped for! We stayed for five days and at the end of our stay, we all remarked we wish we were staying longer. My father remarked that Sanctuary was a "perfect" destination for his retirement trip. Specifically... dinner at Elements was lovely, the drinks at the pool were delicious (try the flavored bellinis!), and the staff was top-notch. We couldn't have asked for more and we will hopefully be back at Sanctuary soon!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Sanctuary is a wonderful oasis nestled in the mountains of Paradise Valley, Arizona. Their attention to satisfying your every waking need is their utmost priority. My husband and I stayed there for a week to celebrate my birthday and couldn't have picked a better place. They made sure we never wanted for anything and we were able to have the adventures we were looking for knowing our comfort was going to be their top priority. I encourage anyone looking for a lovely vacation spot either to simply relax and unplug or to play and have adventures to go you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The spa casita's are lovely and have higher ceilings than the mountain casita's. The mounta...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Sanctuary is what you get at this wonderful spot situated on Camelback Mountain with views of the valley below. Well-appointed rooms, delicious restaurant, great service around the pool, and a concierge team that have great recommendations.

Room Tip: Ask for a spot higher up on the Mountain for better views.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eawnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#21 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Camelback Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

Address: 5700 E McDonald Dr, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253-5218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range: $369 - $815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Camelback Mountain 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your sanctuary at the best Arizona resort...a luxury boutique hideaway on Camelback Mountain. Overlooking the spectacular views of Paradise Valley, relax in a mountainside or spa casita. Retreat to Sanctuary Spa for Asian-inspired treatments and exhilarating classes. Taste the award-winning cuisine of elements' by Food Network star Chef Beau MacMillan. Savor the sunset at jade bar or on edge, raising the bar for happy hour. Play tennis or hike in a fabulous setting, lounge by the infinity-edge pool, or indulge in Scottsdale's hottest shopping, cultural attractions and championship golf just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sanctuary Camelback Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Hotel Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Paradise Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing