We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise just one turn away…”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Paradise just one turn away…”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Montelucia is an amazing Phoenix resort. Its backbone is a highly trained staff, eager to make your stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. The city of Phoenix seems to generate these amazing resorts, just one turn off of a highly traveled city road. The abrupt change from city driving to a well-run, hidden resort is remarkable.

Be prepared, however, for some walking, albeit all flat grounds, if your room happens to be on the limits of the well-manicured grounds. On a very early morning checkout, my luggage was a bit too much to handle, and a call to the valet station had an electric cart with driver to my door within 5 minutes…very impressive.

The spa, pool, dining facilities, bar and other amenities are kept in perfect repair. Your first or following stays at this wonderful facility will not be disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Professorbobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisonm708, Director of Marketing at Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your review! We hope to see you back again for a vacation as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,555
    443
    148
    61
    32
See reviews for
346
859
94
604
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goochland, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

To say this Resort is large becomes even more important when the temps are in the 20's-30's. unusual for Arizona. It is quite a hike from my room to the valet and restaurants.
The room is quite dark with tan/gold walls almost totally devoid of any bright art work. There are two huge mirrors within 6 feet of each other. Heavy gold woven drapes, HUGE Moorish-type furniture. Inadequate lighting. Outlets and switches awkward to reach.
Carpet is heavily worn and a wipe with a white cloth came up dirty. Same with 3 areas of the bathroom floor tile. Eeuuw. I brought my slippers.
The ubiquitous Keurig with coffee/tea is squirreled away on the bottom shelf inside the massive credenza so one has to squat to retrieve it, find an empty wall receptacle, and make nasty coffee. The housekeepers put it back faithfully while you are away.
Prado, main restaurant, is lovely. At my request the chef graciously made me a sauté instead of a deep fried appetizer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago land area
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

The montelucia is an amazing hotel! The atmosphere is great and the staff really does cater to your every need. the rooms are nice although we weren't in the much... to busy outside! I hope other people enjoy this hotel as much as I did!

Room Tip: Any room at the Montelucia is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilMan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisonm708, Director of Marketing at Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

As locals we only visited for one night after attending a company party at the property. The party itself was amazing, one of the finest we've attended. They did a beautiful job setting up the ballroom and cocktail hour foyer. Service was top notch from check-in and ballroom staff to valet and bellhop.

We selected a deluxe poolside room on the second floor with a fabulous view of the Kasbah Pool and Camelback Mountain. The room was very clean and well appointed. The tub was large enough that my boyfriend (who is 6 foot 2) was able to sit in it with his legs stretched out. Dual shower heads in the glass enclosed shower area was a bonus. Normally wouldn't ever use hotel provided soaps and lotions but I loved the smell of the shampoo, conditioner and lotion from the Joya spa and used them all. The robes they provide are also amazing, comfortable and I loved the embroidery on the back. No expenses were spared, even in the "low rent" rooms. Sometimes it's the little things that make the biggest impact!

The hot tub was perfect and I love that the pool is heated too. We enjoyed a late night dip in both, and it was the middle of December! There are not many places you can do that and say it was perfectly pleasant and relaxing.

My favorite part: the bed. We've traveled a lot and stayed at many high end resorts, but never have I had such an amazing night of sleep! The mattress, soft sheets, down comforter and abundance of pillows combined made me feel like I was sleeping in the clouds. I really did not want to leave the bed in the morning. For once, I felt rested and relaxed, soaking up every last minute of it.

My only complaint is that we didn't book a longer stay! It truly is a gem in the desert and I can't wait to have another stay-cation weekend at the Montelucia.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the Kasbah Pool (adults only) so it was very quiet and very accessible to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selinajoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisonm708, Director of Marketing at Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! Hopefully next time you can stay longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

It is a beautiful resort, with spacious rooms, which are extremely comfortable for week-long stays. Rooms are a little dark, and be sure to plan for rooms close to each other if you are traveling with a group because they can be quite spread out. The pool is lovely, and the food/drinks at the resort restaurants are excellent but SLOW. You must be "on vacation" to enjoy the slow service of this resort because it always took forever for anything to be done. Checkin was the worst - being lined up twelve people deep, without a hope of an apology or bottle of water to drink. THEN, my room wasnt ready even after checkin time, which was awful given that I was not feeling well and just wanted to lay down- a plea also ignored by the checkin staff. Car and sedan service was excellent, and overall great value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Makena11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisonm708, Director of Marketing at Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to let us know of your issues during your stay. My apologies for the service level not being our norm. We hope to see you again! Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glorious Midwest
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had a superb stay at Montelucia on the "Experience Montelucia" package, which I can highly recommend for its value. It builds in breakfast and the resort and parking fees, so do the math and you will see that it's a bargain. Everything is exquisitely maintained: the landscaping, pool areas, and the buildings themselves. I had to wonder how they can afford this level of maintenance, in fact, but they know that keeping things beautiful and inviting, and particularly keeping their staff trained and attentive, are what it takes to attract and keep customers. We were very impressed.

The bed was the most luxurious and comfortable we'd ever experienced. Seriously. I love a great bed, but they're surprisingly difficult to find even in resorts. Montelucia gets this right!

I found the dining and other incidentals priced reasonably for a resort. Loved the Mbar Happy Hour, a really good value. Also, the Centro Cafe (nominally a sports bar, but really family oriented casual dining) had very good food and lovely service.

The staff made the most difference. Can't say enough about the attentive treatment of guests, which came in especially handy when a weather issue made us stay over another night. Five stars all around!

Room Tip: Go for a room facing Camelback Mountain, at the rear of the property. It's just a few minutes wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farmerchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisonm708, Director of Marketing at Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your review! Hope to see you again soon, Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Montelucia for 3 nights over New Years. This is a top notch resort with excellent service. Days before our arrival the resort called and sent a couple of emails to find out if we had any special requests, etc.I do not recall getting a personalized phone call from the past hotels and resorts we have stayed at.

We tried to get a early check in but with the holiday and bowl games in the Phoenix area we did not expect it to happen. The front desk called as soon as our room was available which was still before the resorts 3pm check in time.

The room: We had a Camelback Mountain view room that is just one step up from the standard resort view room. Very large room with a large balcony. The bathroom is VERY large with one sink. The bed was also excellent.

Fitness Facility and Spa: We did not workout but did walk around the facilities. Plenty of equipment for cardio and weight training. They also offer classes that include spinning bikes.

We called the front desk a couple of times. Once for a toothbrush and then a newspaper. Both were delivered in less than 5 minutes.

Even though it was 32 degrees one morning we did go to one of the pools. Very clean and plenty of towels. Even with it being a very cold morning (by Arizona standards) the pool was very comfortable.

We plan on going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arizona100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisonm708, Director of Marketing at Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. I love the refernece to our "cold weather". We are certainly spoiled with sunshine and year round pool time! Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia

Property: Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia
Address: 4949 E Lincoln Dr, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253-4139 (Formerly InterContinental Montelucia Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the rich history, white-washed villages and sun-drenched hills of Spain’s Andalusia region, the Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia brings the essence of Europe to the heart of Scottsdale. With arching entryways, splashing fountains, floral walkways, and a collection of antiquities hidden throughout the property, Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia is an enchanting resort destination that boasts 293 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, the Moroccan-inspired Joya Spa, six tempting dining options including the critically-acclaimed Prado restaurant, a myriad of radiant pools and breathtaking views. Nestled at the base of Camelback Mountain, the resort’s convenient central location offers easy access to the area’s best golf, recreation, nightlife and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montelucia Hotel Paradise Valley
Montelucia Resort And Spa
Intercontinental Paradise Valley
Intercontinental Montelucia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing