We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Retreat”
Review of Hermosa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hermosa Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Delightful Retreat”
Reviewed September 30, 2006

Spent three nights here and enjoyed it very much. Its a beautifull complex in a quiet upmarket residential area a short drive to the centre of Scottsdale (inn actually in Paradise Valley).

We were given a large one bedroon "casita" with a delightful living area (complete with flat screen 32" LCD TV and CD player), kitchenette but a disappointingly small bathroom compared to the rest of the suite. However, it was all beautifuly furnished in south west style and with Mexican tiles and really did not spoil our stay.

The rest of the complex was similarly elegant and the origional adobe that formed the basis of the inn was very picturesque. The grounds were also very pretty.

Breakfast was a buffet and although not overly extensive in choice was of a very high quality. Service could not have been more helpful and friendly.

We had dinner at Lon's the hotel's restaurant one evening which was top notch and we could not fault it in any way. It was full each evening of our visit, so must be held in high esteem locally. Dining on the terrace on a warm evening - lovely.

Reception was very helpful and even allowed free internet use which was a pleasant surprise. We were advised there would be a $12.95 "resort charge" per night of our stay which was for continental breakfast, none food and beverage service charges and free local phone calls. However on checking out, this did not appear on our bill. We thought this was maybe as compensation for the property's swimming pool being out of action for refurbishment which was a slight disappointment because it would have been lovely to use at the end of a busy day and as the inn was not too busy with guests, would have been a relaxing addition to our stay. But you know, in the end it did not matter - that is how lovely this place is!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Whinbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    60
    20
    13
    13
See reviews for
19
219
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2006

We originally made our 4 night reservation for a Villa, their 'best' room. We were very disappointed once we entered. The room clearly hasn't been touched in at least 15 years. The carpet was filthy. Most of the furnishings including the stained couch were showing their age. We've never understood why anyone who owns a property like this would allow it to get to such a tattered state.

The kitchen was beyond filthy. We wouldn't have felt comfortable making anything more than coffee. The inside of the cabinets were stained and gross. To top it off, we couldn't have eaten anything we cooked, as there was only one fork and one knife.

So we asked to have some flatware delivered. We ask again. Two hours later we gave up and I went to the front desk and got it.

At that time I walked back to the room with the front desk person to show her that state of the Villa. She agreed that the room was disturbing and said they would move us the next night as they were full.

The next day we looked into the other Villa they were going to move us to and it looked just as tired. I went to the front desk and suggested that we move to one of the Haciendas, the next level down from the Villas. At that point we were over giving them any more input on the state of their property, so we didn't explain why.

So we move to one of their Haciendas. The photo we have submitted is a good example of how they have maintained this property. Everything is beat up, poorly maintained and has seen its better day at least 5+ years ago.

We left for the day with our Do Not Disturb sign up. The maids entered the room, ignoring the sign. We have two dogs and from that point forward didn't feel at all comfortable leaving them in the room for even 15 minutes as the maids might enter and they could get loose. Very inappropriate and it seems the hotel's manager needs to get some training as the entire staff is unpolished (they are pleasant, just unpolished).

The exterior areas of this property are wonderful. The interiors of the rooms, at least the rooms we have seen are what one would expect from a 2 star property. If you stay at 4-5 star properties on a regular basis, you will be sorely disappointed with this hotel, especially it's neglected interiors.

  • Liked — Exterior
  • Disliked — Interior
  • Tips/Secrets — No
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank rondave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2006

My husband took me to the Hermosa Inn to celebrate my 40th birthday. The minute we walked through the door we knew it was the biggest mistake. The woman at the front desk was horrible. We had questions about the rate as we booked everything online. We had paid for a "romance package" that included as casita room, 'champagne' on arrival and $100 credit to dine at Lon's. Basically what I wanted to know was if the casita room was $300 and the Lon's certificate was $100 what was the other $100 buying us? She rudely told us it didn't matter as the package is what we paid for and basically we were stuck. This was the weekend before Christmas and it looked like about 2 other rooms were booked besides ours. When we got to our room the fireplace wouldn't light so the maintence man had to come work on it 3 times to get it to work which took over an hour. We had dinner that evening at Lon's and I will say without exception it was the best meal and service we have ever had. It was lovely. The next morning my husband and I woke up and headed to breakfast around 10:15. We were told our room rate included breakfast. We sat down and were handed menus where the price of omelets started around $21. We asked about the complimentary breakfast and were told it ended at 10. We asked the server if we could just grab something leftover and they said no, even though the buffet was still set up and people were still there eating. When I went to the front desk where an even more rude woman than the one from the day before was working, she also said no - not a muffin, a banana, a cup of coffee. We were welcome to purchase coffee at the bar was what she said. I asked to see a manager and she said they didn't work on weekends. I was furious at this point. I realize we missed breakfast and rules are rules but we hadn't been at this hotel more than 18 hours and we'd spent over $700. A little gesture of free coffee was all I was looking for at this point. We checked out and went back to our room to get our things and I called the front desk to ask one more time if someone could please contact a manager and have them call us back. The woman working the front desk told me that since we were checked out we were no longer allowed on the property and told us to leave. This was the thanks we got? When we got home my husband finally got a manager to call him back days later and he confirmed everything we told him and he was mortified - that is not the "Hermosa way" he said. He promised to make it right and he'd send us a gift certificate blah blah blah. That is the last we heard of him. Nothing was ever sent and to this day the thought of that experince can send me through the roof. If hemorrhaging money and being treated horribly is your idea of a good time than by all means book your stay. It is a decrepid old property and I for one cannot wait until the day they go out of business.

  • Liked — restaurant
  • Disliked — rude staff
  • Tips/Secrets — stay someplace else
  • Stayed December 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank dorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2006

My wife and I decided we wanted to go to Paradise Valley, AZ and check out neighboring Scottsdale for our anniversary trip this year. We booked a couples romance package at Hermosa Inn, which included dinner at Lon's at Hermosa, champagne and chocolates in our room, breakfast, and a room in a mountain facing Casita all for a little over $200 a night. So we were worried it was going to be a dump.

So we drove 6 hours from LA and arrived at Hermosa Inn which is tucked in a nice area with some beautiful homes. Check in went well and the hotel was very south-west style and very nicely maintained. It was like staying at an artists ranch. They showed us to our Casita which had a dining area, small kitchenette, living room, bedroom, dressing room and bathroom all in good shape. Our view from the back patio was Camelback Mountains and the view from the front was their beautiful desert gardens. So far we were impressed. We drank champagne and ate our chocolates and they also left us homemade cookies. We then went to dinner at Lon's on the property and sat out on the patio under the stars with two fires roaring by us. The food and wine were very good and the service was amazing. Everyone there was soooo friendly and the atmosphere was very casual. We felt very comfortable. They made us a special desert and wrote happy anniversary in chocolate on the plate and brought us more champagne for toasts. Our stay there was fun and wonderful and we will definitely stay there again if we go back.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank krazygoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2006

I can't say enough nice things about the extraordinary service level at the Hermosa Inn. The front desk was extremely friendly and went out of their way to accomodate every request I had. Lon's was a beautiful experience too. The Chef was extremely gracious in accomodating my special diet request as well.

Loved the service. The rooms were comfortable, if not exceptional. And the pool area was small, but very quiet. Location can't be beat. Will be coming back.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ianj613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 11, 2006

This hacienda type hotel is extremely unique in every way. The grounds' gardens are bright and beautiful and impecably maintained. The rooms are relaxing and comfortable. The delicious flaky breakfast pastries are handmade on the premises!

The most unique aspect of this hotel is not found anywhere on the physical grounds though; instead it lies with the people who work at this wonderful place. I found all of them to be kind and caring in a very low key way, as though they were friends you had to come to visit. If you don't believe me, then call the front desk any weekday and talk to Frank. He will make you will feel very much at home even before you set foot on the grounds.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2005

Thought this was really good. They had just refurbished the guest rooms (so previous comments about tired rooms may no longer be valid). Very well appointed rooms, decent bathrooms. Pool area very nice.

This is a small hotel, with a small hotel feel. Very friendly staff, but generally you're left to your own devices. We lounged by the pool all day - you can have lunch and drinks sent out from the restaurant. The pool and pool furniture were very nice - definitely a good spot to chill out.

The restaurant (Lons) is a big deal in Scottsdale and you'll probably need to book - it attracts a large crowd for dinner (locals as well as tourists). It's a great place and definitely worth it, but if you get bored and want to eat elsewhere you'll need to drive (Scottsdale isn't made for walking).

Overall, I'd strongly recommend this for anyone who wants some 5* luxury but can't stand big 100+ room hotels. This is very much a boutique hotel with an emphasis on understated luxury and is an ideal place to chill out after a regional tour.

Interestingly, all the other guests seemed to find something else to do during the day (some were on business - odd for such a resort type hotel). So we normally had the pool to ourselves.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank HolidayJunkie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermosa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermosa Inn

Property: Hermosa Inn
Address: 5532 N Palo Cristi Rd, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253-7599
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermosa Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked among the top hotels in the Southwest, the AAA Four Diamond Hermosa Inn is a jewel of a hideaway surrounded by an exclusive neighborhood in Paradise Valley, and minutes from Scottsdale and its many attractions. Handcrafted in the 1930s by cowboy artist Lon Megargee as his residence and art studio, the Inn's adobe architecture has kept its "authentic Arizona" character and charm. The 43 newly renovated guest casitas are nestled in a garden setting with breathtaking vistas of the lush desert and Camelback Mountain. Accommodations reflect the southwestern design of the original Casa Hermosa (beautiful house) and most include deep soaking tubs, beehive fireplaces and private patios. The culinary centerpiece is LON's at the Hermosa, a AAA Four Diamond restaurant with a Best of Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator serving globally inspired Arizona fare. The restaurant is complemented by a subterranean wine cellar, a celebrated outdoor dining patio, and its bar and casual dining counterpart LON's Last Drop, named after one of Megargee's iconic paintings, many of which are displayed throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hermosa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermosa Hotel Paradise Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing