We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely inn, in a residential area of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hermosa Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hermosa Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
197 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Lovely inn, in a residential area of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I just got back from a few days at the Hermosa Inn. I had a great room - #108 - at the back of the property. Nice big room, really (!) comfortable bed, big bathroom with separate shower and tub. Some of the rooms looked to be a lot smaller so it is good to ask about the room configuration beforehand. The property is very nicely done - some interesting local sculpture (not all Native American themed) and pretty gardens. Nice pool area (I didn't use it). The restaurant, Lons, is quite good - I only had breakfast and lunch there, not dinner. The bar, and bartender (Jeremy) was also good - seems like it gets a mix of locals and hotel guests, so it was fun the night I was there. Only drawback (and this depends on your interests) is that it is a little out of the way. It's in the middle of a residential neighborhood (very upscale), which makes it nice and quiet, but it's a bit of a drive to get to things you might want to see. Also, no fitness center - they have an arrangement with one that's about a mile away.

Room Tip: Rooms seem to vary quite a bit in size - rooms toward the back of the property are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OaklandBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to AZ! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your time spent on property and we hope to see you again on future trips.

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    59
    17
    13
    13
See reviews for
17
196
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our family stayed at the Hermosa Inn for two nights. We booked one casita that connected to one deluxe casita, forming a hacienda. This arrangement worked very well for the family: one room for us and the other for the children, ages 12 & 14, to share.

The rooms were luxurious and spacious including the bathroom which was equally grand. There were special touches like sky lights, walk in closets and a convenient electronic docking station for your camara and cell phone.

The view from the room was lovely as well, I was constantly spying on the birds landing outside our patio door near the jacuzzi.

On our first night we ordered in from the room service menu. It was delivered to the room with aplomb fitting just how good the food was. It is the best room service meal we've had; each of the four selections were delicious.

We found the Inn secluded and classy... no crowds here. Even the walk from the lobby to our rooms was inspiring as you pass by the flower covered pool area and various gardens including a garden filled with statues and other art pieces. The lobby is very inviting, especially with the complementary fresh fruit, water, coffee/tea, and fresh baked cookies!

The concierges were very helpful, providing guidance about the neighborhood. As a result, we ended up taking a lovely walk from the Hermosa Inn along the canal all the way to the Arizona Biltmore. While at the Arizona Biltmore, we signed up for a guided tour of the establishment which we found to be very interesting and worthwhile as it explored the architecture and history of the hotel and surrounding area (before you go: check which days/time they do the tour; there is a $10.00 pp charge if you are not a hotel guest).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G0tt0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review and for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your hacienda, the views and the room service from LON's.

Hope to see you again soon - safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We've been going to the Hermosa at least once a year (and also dining at Lons - a treat not to be missed) for about 4 years. It is small, old South Western adobe style, gorgeous grounds and plantings, nice quiet private pool area, and especially friendly staff. It is truly a special place - like a home away from home. They provide complimentary unlimted bottles of water for sun bathers, coffee and danish (differing breakfast rolls) in the morning, and nice afternoon tea time treats. Bottom line, we highly recommend the Hermosa - it is a special treat: good for a romatic anniversary; special birthday; or just a great get-away from it all !!!!

Room Tip: I like to stay away far from the pool - much more privacy. All the rooms are very nice and cozy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSallyTacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review, John and Sally! We love that you've made the Inn and LON's one of your regular retreats and we look forward to seeing you again next time.

Safe travels and have a wonderful weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumont
Level Contributor
180 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We selected the Hermosa Inn for the last 2 nights of a two week vacation through NV-UT-AZ. It was selected a place to stay before flying back east. It turned out to be so much more! Quiet elegance, Our room was amazing, large, very well appointed, and beautiful.
The staff was helpful and the grounds are amazing. I was very impressed with the pool and spa area and the gardens are truly magnificent.
The coffee and snacks in the morning were a welcome addition to our stay.
We look forward to returning next year for more than 2 days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rbwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
So happy to hear we could be the setting for an enjoyable end to your two week vacation. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you next time! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My friends are huge Giants fans and wanted to see them play so I decided to add a little romance and culture to the trip. I couldn't have chosen a better place than the Hermosa Inn. The setting was beautiful with the sculpture gardens and pool along with the quite neighborhood. We also enjoyed the restaurant and sitting under the stars while listening to the great musicians.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for sharing your experience with others and we hope to see you again soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I just wanted to give you and the staff at the Hermosa a big “thank you” for such a lovely event on Saturday. It could not have been enjoyed any better. 

Your staff there was top notch, friendly and professional and every attention to detail was met. My husband is in the restaurant business and commented all night (and on Sunday) about the service and especially about Randy and David - and their concern about the event and if everything was to my husband’s satisfaction. Example - they served all the ladies first at the table and then the men….. haven’t seen this at some of the nicer restaurants here in the valley!

The cake was fabulous - your pastry chef did an exquisite job on the taste and the décor of the cake! So happy with it all - please thank her!!

I would highly recommend the hotel for the food, personal service and “character” of the setting - I am new to the Phoenix area and cannot believe there is such a hidden gem in the valley that I hadn’t found yet!

My parents had such a great experience (and they live in California) that they are going to plan their wedding anniversary at the Hermosa Inn! So, we will be seeing all of you again soon -

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PuraVida001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you again for the wonderful review! We've passed this on to our team and look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Intimate, small hotel in a great central location. Our room, a Rancho, was perhaps a little cosy for two adults, but the patio was great addition. The staff were friendly, outgoing, & without exception made us feel welcome. The food at Lon's was excellent, and sitting out on the patio or around the fire pits made it even better, whether it was breakfast, or dinner. The gardens & pool area are all lovely with several sculptures by local artists. We've stayed at other resorts & hotels in Phoenix/Scottsdale and the Hermosa has been our best experience yet. Would recommend it to anyone from business travellers to families with kids, and we'll certainly be staying there again ourselves.

Room Tip: Rancho a little small, try a Casita
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolFJamesA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that out of all the resorts in the Valley you enjoyed Hermosa Inn the most and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
Hotel Valley Ho
#5 of 78 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 4 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 1,413 reviews
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermosa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermosa Inn

Property: Hermosa Inn
Address: 5532 N Palo Cristi Rd, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253-7599
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermosa Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked among the top hotels in the Southwest, the AAA Four Diamond Hermosa Inn is a jewel of a hideaway surrounded by an exclusive neighborhood in Paradise Valley, and minutes from Scottsdale and its many attractions. Handcrafted in the 1930s by cowboy artist Lon Megargee as his residence and art studio, the Inn's adobe architecture has kept its "authentic Arizona" character and charm. The 43 newly renovated guest casitas are nestled in a garden setting with breathtaking vistas of the lush desert and Camelback Mountain. Accommodations reflect the southwestern design of the original Casa Hermosa (beautiful house) and most include deep soaking tubs, beehive fireplaces and private patios. The culinary centerpiece is LON's at the Hermosa, a AAA Four Diamond restaurant with a Best of Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator serving globally inspired Arizona fare. The restaurant is complemented by a subterranean wine cellar, a celebrated outdoor dining patio, and its bar and casual dining counterpart LON's Last Drop, named after one of Megargee's iconic paintings, many of which are displayed throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hermosa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermosa Hotel Paradise Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing