We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't hesitate-just go and enjoy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Overgaard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mogollon Resort Cabins
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I booked the City Slicker cabin for 7 nights and ended up staying 2 more. The cabin is wonderful, has all the modern conveniences with plenty of rustic charm. Washer/dryer, dishwasher, microwave, fridge and stove. The cabin was complete with everything you would want: dishes,plates,bowls, glasses, cups, utensils, spices, coffeepot etc. The only complaint we had was that the bed was not that comfortable but with the wrap-around porch, private hot tub and gas grill it was soon overlooked. My husband really missed a firepit at night but that was his only complaint. Del, the caretaker was very helpful when we needed advice on the satelite system-was personable guy. It was wonderful to get out of Phoenix for awhile and enjoy the high country. We are planning to go back next summer. Also, across the road you can visit The Wild Women Saloon-fabulous food. Don't hesitate to go. Finally, don't bring alot of items as you can get everything you need at General Dollar and the Overgaard Supermarket just down the road. Save on packing and just go and enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 72 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

The wife and I spent 3 nights in the "Outlaw" cabin for a stress relief getaway. The cabin was clean, everything was as advertised, without any problems. The placement of the cabin amongst the neighboring cabins was perfect. The covered porch off the main bedroom provided plenty of privacy for using the spa. If there is a negative to the experience, the bed in the master bedroom was a little soft for our preference.

We will plan a future visit to this cabin for more R & R.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobr804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is my 5th year to return to these resort cabins but I think I may find another getaway destination next time. I rented Someplace Special because I invited my son and his family to come join us. They heard us speak of the Mogollon Resort Cabins often and were eager to check it out. The cabin called "Someplace Special" was a bit larger with an oversized loft and 2 queen beds + lots of room to move around, which we liked. But it was the most ill-equipped cabin I've ever stayed in. No blender; No mixing bowls; Cookware was disgusting...teflon all scratched off and rusted. BBQ burners were all rusted out....could barely get a flame to grill our food. Fabric on the lounge chairs on the top deck was all sun-rotted and tearing off of the frames. At $200/night I expect everything to be at your finger tips and in good condition. Reading some of the other reviews it sounds like much of what we experienced. Really sad to see the Resort owners letting things get worn out and run down...good way to loose business! (Maintenance man was helpful and willing to meet our needs) State Route 260 way too noisy for a good night's sleep!

Room Tip: State Route 260 is noisy with truck and vehicle traffic day and night; and the cabins are situated w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueandfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortCabinServices, Owner at Mogollon Resort Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

A copy of the review was sent to the cabin owner and a follow up will take place to discuss refurbishment and upgrading their kitchen supply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great cabin, excellent stay for the price. We rented the Maverick. Cabin was very clean and comfy. Would definately stay again. Only 2 "areas of improvement". 1. Needs a new BBQ. burners are so rusted out and damaged that we only had 1 flame to cook on. 2. Hot tub - we had to figure out / troubleshoot (flip the breaker to reset) in order to get the spa to heat.

Overall...GREAT stay, very relaxing. Would recommend for a family of 4.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffgk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortCabinServices, Owner at Mogollon Resort Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

We are very embarrased for this guest disappointing stay and the impact to our track record. The guest had knowledge of the spa being unserviceable prior to the stay and was charged the non spa cabin rate at time of booking. The guest actually did receive an additional discount for the water heater issues. We were surprised to hear the comments that were relayed from the handyman to the guests. He actually was hired based on his abilities in the construction business and not just for spa maintenance. The individual owners in the reservation system with Resort Cabin Services are all exceptionally keen on keeping their properties in the best serviceable condition possible. The lesson learned for management is to always keep one property available to move guests in the case of unexpected maintenance and to ensure (even when the boss is away) the importance of the pre check-in inspection. The actual repair to the hot water heater was a heating element and the fireplace pilot light relite which our new handyman is very ept at all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have traveled the entire United States and stayed in many cabins. We booked the Outlaw for two nights in late July, 2013. The rate was reasonable and the cabin was mostly clean. The washer and dryer was a God send as we were completing a three week trip and needed somewhere to relax and do laundry. Please buy your groceries before you arrive. There is no where close to buy much of anything, and bring everything you think you might need. There was salt in the cabin, but nothing else. I was disappointed in the shampoo/soap/coffee provided. For a family of four we had two small ketchup size packages of shampoo and enough coffee for one pot. packages of creamer, but No sugar. I was not overwhelmed by the location, as there was nothing to do anywhere close-but I got my laundry done, so I accomplished what I set out to do.

Room Tip: The cabin states they provide soap,shampoo and coffee-bring your own. It's not enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debwiltshire69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortCabinServices, Owner at Mogollon Resort Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

In our confirmation we email guests, it is stated in there that we provide "complimentary" coffee, shampoo, conditioner and soap. Typically, this lasts a guest one night. It is also stated to bring your own personal items, if they wish.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had multiple issues with our cabin spa didn't work, fireplace wasn't working, and water heater wasn't working! After two days of not being able to shower I called the owner who never even offered to comp us in anyway at all. The owner was apparently on vacation and the maintenance man told us he had told her multiple times to not rent our cabin out because of the water heater. The maintenance man was only hired to maintain the spas and had no expertise in anything else. So he had no idea how to fix the problem. We had brought our five kids there to get away from the heat and regretted it completely. The maintenance man also told us how cheap the owner is and how she wouldn't pay a plumber to fix it or comp anyone who had stayed there!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was the last stay on our honeymoon, and it was very quiet and relaxing. The cabin we stayed in was clean and had a great hot tub. I would suggest that anyone visiting the area may want to stock up at a grocery store or Walmart as there isn't any close.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Universalguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mogollon Resort Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mogollon Resort Cabins

Address: Highway 260-Mile Marker 309-31, P.O. Box 1390, Overgaard, AZ
Location: United States > Arizona > Overgaard
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Overgaard
Price Range: $85 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Cabin Services is the new ownership company that manages the reservation system and facilitates maintenance and cleaning services for individual owners of Bison Ranch, Mogollon Resort Cabins and Mogollon Airpark on the East end of Overgaard at an elevation of 6600 next to the Sitgreaves National Forest. The terrain is made up of tall growth Ponderosa Pine, Cedar, Pinion Pine and Juniper. The temperatures are typically 20 - 30 degrees cooler than the desert of Phoenix and a wonderful escape from the heat in summer and nice retreat year round to include snow most winters with Sunrise Ski Resort about an hour drive. The current inventory of individually owned cabins/condos is approximately 5 in Bison Ranch, 10 in Mogollon Resort Cabins and 1 in the Airpark. All the properties are fully furnished and include linens and towels. Guests should plan to bring their own personal hygiene items and beverages. Beware that Resort Cabin Services should not be confused with other management companies that also rent properties in the same named communities. Resort Cabin Services limits the number of properties serviced to maintain the highest standards of cleanliness, maintenance, and repair. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mogollon Resort Cabins Hotel Overgaard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing