We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete Disappointment”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Overgaard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mogollon Resort Cabins
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My recent stay at the Mogollon Resort Cabins was nothing but disruptive and disappointing. It was suppose to be a relaxing weekend getaway to celebrate a birthday with some good friends. Unfortunately, it was nothing of that nature. There were numerous mishaps and management had to come out several times in order to assess or "fix" things.The dvd player ate our dvd and despite their efforts to fix it, it was just a lost cause. We specifically chose the Homestead cabin for the the sole fact that it had a hot tub. Of course, like everything else in the cabin it broke. The first night it worked fine, but the next day when we went to go sit in it we found that it would not heat up. Management came out again and told us there was nothing they could do to fix it and promised to "credit us completely for Saturday night when we check out". Unforunately, that did not happen. That is completely unacceptable when the whole selling point of staying there was for the hot tub and that is not what we were originally told when they came to the conclusion that it could not be fixed that night. This was a weekend we were all looking forward to and it's unfortunate that it was so frustrating and such a letdown.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 72 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

For our stay there were two adults and two granddaughters for our two nights in the Whispering Pines cabin. Reservations and any questions I had were addressed quickly, completely, politely and professionally. Check-in was efficient and an "as expected" experience. Our cabin sat on the very back of the 10-acres. So we did not experience any significantly loud road noises from the highway. We assessed the cabin to be clean and completely adequate for our stay.

The only constructive feedback we have is about the gas, thermostat-controlled fireplace. It did not work. On the first late afternoon of our stay I called the resort telephone number and left a message to that effect and also cited my cell phone number for a call back or a maintenance-person visit. We did not get a call back nor a visit from a maintenance person. Since a fireplace was one of our primary requirements for a cabin, we were very disappointed about this one point.

Overall we enjoyed our stay. My granddaughters loved the loft. The nightly rate was reasonable... the accommodations were as expected and we would consider staying at The Mogollon Resort Cabins again... But next time we'll require an accompanied walk-thru before accepting the cabin... especially to verify the proper functioning of the fireplace.

Room Tip: The "Whispering Pines" cabin. Placed at the very back of the 10-acre grounds and accepta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrTurbodad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I will start with the positives. The Cabin was very nice and had everything we needed. It was clean and well kept. It was exactly what you picture when you think of a log cabin but with all the modern amenities The staff was very friendly & helpful. We stayed in the Talking Rain cabin. Now for the negatives. The complex is right off SR 260 so we heard, and saw, the traffic. If you are looking for a remote cabin in the woods this is not the place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rvp1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at the Bear Paw cabin and it smelled terrible, like the windows and doors had been sealed for several weeks, also evident by the large dinner-plate sized cob webs, over the sink and stove and fireplace. We had planned on grilling, but the grill was filthy and not useable. Also, the cabin is not on a secluded acre lot...neighboors are close and plentiful. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had to try and locate a pet-friendly cabin at the last minute (1 week before) when a friend's cabin was flooded just before we were to stay there on vacation. We rented the Bear Paw cabin, which was a little more secluded (not surrounded on both sides), but was close to the highway and road to the neighborhood behind. The cabin was clean, but I saw alot of cobwebs as well. The entire staff was friendly, and overall I am so glad I was able to find this place. I would recommend them to anyone.

Room Tip: be sure to read the descriptions carefully, or play with the sort options to make sure you are getti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed in the Lonesome Dove Cabin. The Cabin was clean and the Hot tube was nice, but not very private. The road noise from 260 was bother. It killed the serenity of the woods. We had a minor emergency(We got locked out). It was after 3PM so office was closed. Luckily My daughter was able to climb through a open window. Next time we are going to spend the extra money and stay at Greer Lodge. They offer more to do with your stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Never in my life have we received such friendly and most helpful service...Linda Scott is amazing...thank you sooooo much for everything...this is our favorite place to stay...beautiful cabins...so relaxing.... I highly recommend this place. Our kids love it!!! Thanks again! We will see you soon again!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gcoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mogollon Resort Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mogollon Resort Cabins

Address: Highway 260-Mile Marker 309-31, P.O. Box 1390, Overgaard, AZ
Location: United States > Arizona > Overgaard
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Overgaard
Price Range: $85 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Cabin Services is the new ownership company that manages the reservation system and facilitates maintenance and cleaning services for individual owners of Bison Ranch, Mogollon Resort Cabins and Mogollon Airpark on the East end of Overgaard at an elevation of 6600 next to the Sitgreaves National Forest. The terrain is made up of tall growth Ponderosa Pine, Cedar, Pinion Pine and Juniper. The temperatures are typically 20 - 30 degrees cooler than the desert of Phoenix and a wonderful escape from the heat in summer and nice retreat year round to include snow most winters with Sunrise Ski Resort about an hour drive. The current inventory of individually owned cabins/condos is approximately 5 in Bison Ranch, 10 in Mogollon Resort Cabins and 1 in the Airpark. All the properties are fully furnished and include linens and towels. Guests should plan to bring their own personal hygiene items and beverages. Beware that Resort Cabin Services should not be confused with other management companies that also rent properties in the same named communities. Resort Cabin Services limits the number of properties serviced to maintain the highest standards of cleanliness, maintenance, and repair. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mogollon Resort Cabins Hotel Overgaard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing