We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home away from Home!”
Review of Big Pine Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Overgaard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Pine Resort
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Home away from Home!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in Cabin # 3. We were so amazed that everything was in the cabin. All we needed was our food. It made a short getaway easy because we didn't have to pack up all the linens, dishes, pans, etc. The cabin was very clean and comfortable, with the special touches of caring owners. What attracted us initially was the very reaonable price and the welcoming of pets without an extra fee. We took our Golden Reteiver Gracie for her first lodging experience and she had a great time sunning on the wonderful porch with us. Jack was so welcoming and we felt like family rather that customers. We will defintely be back. We have also been telling family and friends about our so they can experience 'A Home away from Home'!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee Dee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
21
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We loved a very clean and comfortable Cabin #2. We spent Memorial Day weekend and had a very relaxing time. Getting away from the city (Phx) was our plan and we love it when a plan comes together. The temp was perfect. sat on the porch and read my kindle with a glass of champagne while hubby was next to me. This was the best medicine for 2 workaholics, Thank you so.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We spent 3 nights in cabin 1, arrived late on the first night but Jack had the lights and heat on and it was cozy from the first minute we stepped into it, until we left.

Will be back again soon

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Scrabo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We came up for Christmas and arrived later than planned. The cabin was lit up and ready for us! We did get stuck in the snow, but Jack was able to call a friend of his to get us out. Had a great time! The cabin was clean & stocked with what we needed. The cabin was near the main road, but we didn't really hear a lot of traffic. We really look forward to going back!
They do have one cabin that is handicap accessible, which we would like to check out with our son. He would love it!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusk, Wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We went to Overgard in early December to see snow and look for a Christmas tree. We arrived in a blizzard and it snowed itermittently every day for 3 days. This was exactly what we went there for so we were happy. The cabin was very nice and modern, and so well insulated that we only had to keep the heaters set for about 70 degrees to keep things cozy even when it was very windy outside. The cabin was very clean and nice. The hosts were very attentive and caring. Although we did not plan on watching TV, we were surprised to find that they had satellite TV so we did end up watching our favorite football team on Sunday while it snowed. We did not want to leave when our vacation was over. We will be going back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Loved the cabin and the decor! Wished we could have stayed longer. The only down side was the cabins nearness to the main road. We look forward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Clean, friendly rustic knotty pine cabin. Has everything you need even coffee for the coffee maker.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank milesrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Pine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Pine Resort

Property: Big Pine Resort
Address: 2268 Hwy 260, PO Box 1408, Overgaard, AZ 85933
Location: United States > Arizona > Overgaard
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Overgaard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Big Pine Resort offering cozy, private cabins, in Heber-Overgaard. Open Year Round - Family Pets Welcome, no additional charge!Located in the Sitgreaves National Forest, we're about a 2 1/2 hour scenic drive Northeast of Phoenix, in the White Mountains.We offer cozy real log cabins for Daily or Weekly rental, open year round for all your seasons of fun and relaxation. Average summer temperatures are about 20 degrees cooler than Phoenix up on the Rim. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing