We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of Big Pine Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Overgaard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Pine Resort
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Loved the cabin and the decor! Wished we could have stayed longer. The only down side was the cabins nearness to the main road. We look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 45 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2011

Clean, friendly rustic knotty pine cabin. Has everything you need even coffee for the coffee maker.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank milesrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

This place was a good value. Friendly service, clean. Very close to highway, so a bit noisy. Cabin had everything we needed including movies (a nice touch!) for the evening. Only negative besides noisy highway was the very grouchy lady in the big RV in the adjacent RV Park (think she was the owner) who repeatedly yelled at my kids to "GET OFF HER PROPERTY!" Even though they were just next to our cabin....

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gullagulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Everything that is under control of the management at Big Pine is well done. The cabins are clean and well appointed (you even have sat TV should you want it). The only downside to this resort is its proximity to the road. If you are looking for a good home base for your outdoor adventures in rim country, this is a great place, especially if you have pets as they stay free. However, if you are looking to spend significant amounts of time at the cabin itself, enjoying the sights and sounds of nature, think again, the road is busy and high speed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

WE went up for a week -- last week in Aug with my hubby and our friends. We had a birthday to celebrate. We loved the fully stocked kitchen- lacked for nothing as far as every utensil, pan, beautiful almost new appliances...even paper towels! HUGE TV was perfect for showing our home movie CD's-- never saw them so clearly before. The small yard in back is fenced so our two corgies had full run of the place and had as much fun as we did. Being city, hot weather dogs-- they were in their glory watching the world go by from the porch. What I especially loved -- the hosts were down the road, but didn't bother us once in the week we were there, so we truly felt the sanctuary of the place. It was not as remote as I'd have preferred (being a Montana native).. but on the other hand, for convenience-we had a store nearby & access to the road to get out fast when it was time to head to the lakes for fishing! All in all... this is one of the BEST VALUES on the entire rim area. We do our homework and it's really one of the nicest and least expensive places there.
The loft has a queen bed, and private bath with a huge walk in closet.. the downstairs master bedroom has a huge walk in also. We also took advantage of the sofa sleeper in the living room so the two parties downstairs shared a nice big bathroom down there. We were totally comfy with all the amenities and solitude.
We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azironia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We went for a leisure trip to Heber, the big pine resort is a perfect place to stay. It feels like home. The cabin was very good. The cabin had all the necessities in kitchen incase we planned to cook something. The linen, towels etc were neat. the cabin had a VHS player with a few good movies and also some kids movies. This felt nostalgic. All in all an EXCELLENT PLACE to stay and relax, especially if you have kids.
Jack and Joyce were very warm and welcoming people; another reason to stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelverve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

This is the 2nd time we've stayed here and the owners are great. The cabins are tidy and comfortable. The location is a bit close to the highway in Overgaard, but otherwise a great place to get away from the heat! The cabins are surrounded by big pines, hence the name, and it is dog friendly. I would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Pine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Pine Resort

Address: 2268 Hwy 260, PO Box 1408, Overgaard, AZ 85933
Location: United States > Arizona > Overgaard
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Overgaard
Price Range: $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Big Pine Resort offering cozy, private cabins, in Heber-Overgaard. Open Year Round - Family Pets Welcome, no additional charge!Located in the Sitgreaves National Forest, we're about a 2 1/2 hour scenic drive Northeast of Phoenix, in the White Mountains.We offer cozy real log cabins for Daily or Weekly rental, open year round for all your seasons of fun and relaxation. Average summer temperatures are about 20 degrees cooler than Phoenix up on the Rim. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing