We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at El Charro”
Review of El Charro Cafe

El Charro Cafe
Ranked #5 of 64 Restaurants in Oro Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lunch at El Charro”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wonderful "off-shoot" of the original downtown restaurant...great ambience and the food is wonderful...the service was a bit on the slow side, but who is complaining when you're visiting with friends....definitely recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flyinsolox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    91
    42
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“FUN, DELICIOUS, EXCELLENT SERVICE”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I ate here during the week on a business trip and the place was packed. Our server did not stop moving, was cheerful, and took great care of us. A kitchen mistake was quickly corrected with an entirely new meal, and our server also graciously corrected the bill. The food was terrific and fresh, and we tried to return for a second dinner but the wait was too long. Highly recommend for casual and convivial dining for anyone, and family friendly too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Cute place, good service, good food”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a group of 7 and they gladly gave us separate checks without any hassle or additional fees. The chips and salsa were very good and we enjoyed the ambiance. The food was spiced perfectly, nice size servings and very tasty. Prices were reasonable. The Margaritas were very good, too. Hope to go back on our next visit to Tucson.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chriskaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiawassee, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Better Mexican style restraunts in Tucson.”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

El Charro is suppose to be really great but it is really mediocre for Mexican fair. Prices are high for what you get on your plate and the service is spotty. When you pay extra for a cheese topping and only get very little drizzled on top of your entree, it's time to move on to where you get more value for your dinning dollar.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Florascope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The food was very well prepared and was delicious. The price was also pretty good. The menu had just what I wanted. Would go back again with our visitors.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank aznana41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Charro Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing