We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jerry Bob's

Ranked #34 of 61 Restaurants in Oro Valley
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

We have eaten at Jerry Bob's previously and had OK food for the price. Today certainly was not OK. It was cold, although the waitress said she tried to make it less so. The liver had a very bad taste; we think it was spoiled. There was no effort to adjust the price. The pork cutlet came smothered in brown gravy. We were not asked if we wanted gravy or what kind. Since I ordered French fries, I assumed there would be no gravy on the pork. It will be a long time until we go back, if ever.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mlee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    8
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“our weekend standard for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

cheerful service, good diner food, all the basics. Our faves are omlettes and cinnamon roll.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank amyptucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
2 reviews
“great food at great portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

great food at great portions. home style feel to the place and the menu is enough to satisfy.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson AZ
Level Contributor
194 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Margarine?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

People like Jerry Bob's and that's not surprising. The service is friendly and folksy, the place is friendly and folksy, and it is local and has been for years.

But, the food is just okay, nothing great. Not a bad meal at all, but nothing that you haven't had at a hundred places before.

It's a nice breakfast joint, unlimited coffee pot brought to the table, your basic options on the many varieties of omelets, etc. The bread is standard supermarket bread, the sausage is standard supermarket sausage, and it's the same meal you can get at IHOP or Denny's or any other local breakfast place.

The one thing at Jerry Bob's that irks me, is that you cannot get butter. Your bread comes with margarine, and butter is not an option. They cook with margarine.

Other than that, it's a friendly place with a good decent breakfast at a good price. It's popular; you may have to wait for 10 - 15 minutes on a weekend.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Prince_of_Peas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Getting seated was a bit confusing. You have to write your name on a white board in the enterance and wait to be seated. Be prepared to wait a little while; it's a popular place to eat. The food was good, nothing to brag about. The service was fast and friendly.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank KaneJx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jerry Bob's also viewed

 

Been to Jerry Bob's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing