We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT the HIE experience that we are used to”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oro Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

First of all would like to say the front desk staff were great & very personable. Over the last 7 years, we have stayed at a dozen different Holiday Inn & Holiday Inn Express hotels. This was by far the most disappointing.

Day 1: Sheets scratchy, felt cheap, Tp & Kleenex rough. Upstairs floors creaked, thin walls, could hear talking, footsteps, coughing, flushing, etc...

Day 2: Got in at 9pm. Coffee was not restocked and soap bar disappeared & wasn't replaced. Walked into bathroom & floor was 1/2 filled with water. Looked like leaking toilet. Staff had one clean room left & checked us in to the room upstairs.

Day 3
Got back around 1pm. I could see our door was not latched & just pushed it open without using card key. Maids cleaned room & not locked.

We payed for a suite this time thinking it would be a nice upgrade. The only difference is that it was a larger room. The taxes on the room were about $22 per night. There were lots of small issues such as the bathroom doors stuck & were hard to open & close, the closet doors were tough to pull open, the water pressure was poor, it took 5 minutes for the hot water to reach the third floor, the shower handle was loose, the toilet handle felt like it might fall off, and the front door locking mechanisms were definitely having problems. I advised the staff of the major issues as they occurred. Upon check out we received no apology or discount. We would never stay at this particular hotel again. What a disappointment!

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank Bodakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressYuma, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Bodakota,

Please allow me to apologize for the chalanges you experienced inthe Holiday Inn express Oro Valley,
As the New General Manager of this property I ave taken it upon my self to use these surveys and the face to face feedback that we recieve throughout the day to day operations to creat a geat hotel guest's will love.

All these surveys are now being posted in the employee areas to help our staff concebntrate at the goals i have set for them.

We ask that you give us one more chance to show you what the Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley has to offer.

Sincerely,
Frank Quijada
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 147 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

I had a four-night stay in October. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone needing to stay in the Oro Valley area.

This is a newly renovated HIX with oversized rooms. Nice, large workout room and great outdoor pool and hot tub.

Everything is very clean, good usual HIX breakfast spread.

This area is suburbia. There is a chain restaurant and huge convenience store in the parking lot. Approximately one mile south is a full grocery store along with every chain and big-box store imaginable.

I look forward to my return.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I needed a late check and they bent over backward to accommodate us. The friendliest staff one could ask to have at your hotel. Free breakfast and a great greenway behind the property. Greenway is good for cycling, running or walking. Connects to restaurants and shopping without ever crossing a road. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed for two nights with another couple. Staff was excellent, room felt new and very clean. The free breakfast was unbelievable. The first night we were running late and would not arrive until after 10:00pm. While afraid that might be an issue it was no problem, we checked in at ease upon arrival. I now have a place to stay when I travel to Oro Valley, Tuscon, Arizona.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samrjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We used the dining area and pool area for our 40th year class reunion the weekend of Oct 18-20, 2013. The staff was very flexible and accommodating and the area was just what we needed for two different evening events on Friday and Saturday. We were able to have different food brought in and it was easy to find for our deliveries. Our class members were able to book into rooms with a group discount and a Presidential Suite was used as our hospitality room and was also booked at a discounted rate. We highly recommend this facility for group events that are interested in a "do it ourselves/keep the cost down" format.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmphiClassof73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Visiting Tucson in Fall can be spendy so finding a place to rest can be a financial challenge. Discovering this little gem in the heart of Oro valley made our visit all the more better. From the 2 soft & 2 firm pillows on the bed, tidy surroundings, free WIFI (which is not common in this area), flat screen HD TV, and basic breakfast offerings your dollar goes far. My only desire is to have a patio but that was easily overlooked. Consider this hotel if you want to spend less staying next to the large golf resorts.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cleisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I searched a lot of local hotels before picking this one.we were very happy we did.its clean and quiet.we stayed on the second floor the bed were comfy and the pillows great. .the staff were nice,and the area around the hotel is great. We felt very safe. There are fresh baked cookies in the lobby for you for free. Free Wi Fi and Cable TV. And a newspaper waiting outside your door when you wake up.the free breakfast was good,and the coffee great! They even had vanilla creamer.my favorite.the only bad thing was the jacuzzi was broken.:( only the bottom jets work,not the top ones. But the pool was very clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiannaS514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oro Valley
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley
5 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Tucson North Foothills
6.8 mi away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson Mall
1.6 mi away
El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North

Address: 11075 N Oracle Rd, Oro Valley, AZ 85737-5601 (Formerly Oro Valley Hotel and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Oro Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oro Valley
Price Range: $115 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oro Valley's newest hotel. Formerly Wingate by Wyndham. Beautiful views of the Santa Catalina Mountains. Chili's restaurant in parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oro Valley Hotel Oro Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing