We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT WORTH IT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oro Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The problem with this property is the Manager. First, we had no TV, next two nites, no hair dryer and now they are switching to Holiday Inn Express. His answer to all the problems "You can't flip a switch". Location is OK but with this management, not a good place to stay. His nasty attitude to his customers goes over to his employees. Plus they do not have good pillows - glad I packed mine and our bathroom door would not shut. There are other places in the area far better for the value.

Room Tip: Make sure all the amenities work! Our hair dryer never did work and they sent us to other rooms to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tucsonjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear tucsonjan ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property regarding your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to hear your poor experience during your visit. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the service issues you had with the Manager on Duty. We strive to give great and impressive service to all our guests and we deeply regret that we have failed to deliver on this occasion.

We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 147 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you are looking to stay in the Oro Valley area, this hotel provides a clean and what looks like newly renovated atmosphere. It definitely isn't a 4 or 5 star resort, but the rooms were a good size and very clean; the beds comfortable. A breakfast buffet is provided, else there are plenty of places around to grab food (strip malls with shops and food places) to the north and south of the hotel. There is a fitness room that was larger than expected. The location is good for Oro Valley, but the Tucson attractions can be up to 40 minutes away, but the drives are usually pretty as there are mountains as backdrops.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Euro_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Quick, easy check in. No issues with room or bill. Location was ideal for us to visit family in Oro Valley. Breakfast was decent, kids loved the waffle maker and juice machine. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank targetswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, California, USA
11
Reviewed June 15, 2012

First room we were given had a serious plumbing problem. Staff immediately assigned us a different room. They were very courteous and responsive to our needs, and met our requests without delay. I have stayed here before, and will do so again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I have stayed here twice now on business, both times for two weeks at a time.

During my first stay, I noticed that someone had thrown out a bunch of food in the trash can in the vending area and also put a few extra bags of trash around the trash can. That trash all stayed there for a week until I complained that it wasn't being cleaned and was starting to stink.

The second time I stayed there, it was exactly the same problem. Then I realized that people weren't putting extra bags of trash there. The can was full and people were stacking it up around the can. This time, I waited to see how long it would take before anyone cleaned it up. They never did. I finally mentioned it to the front desk after 12 days.

Inside the room, there is one glass cup by the ice. I'm paranoid that they don't replace them on a daily basis. I noticed that there was a scratch on the bottom of the glass on the first week. I filled it with water and left it. The same glass was there at night, but emptied and dried. I don't know if housekeeping is using dishwashing detergent to clean this one cup, but I doubt it.

There is a sign by the bed that says they'll change the sheets every third day for extended stays, like me. The same sheets, with the same stain, stayed on my bed the entire time. I guess that's okay with me since I was the only one using the sheets and I did see them strip down a bed between guests in another room.

The walls are thin. I can hear the people talking in the rooms next to me, and the "doorbell" sound the elevator makes can be heard all the way down the hall.

Also, it's not clear if this hotel is owned by Wyndham or is something else. When I sign on to the free wi-fi, it directs me to the Wyndham website, and there is Wingate by Wyndham literature and directories in the rooms, so I guess it's Wyndham.

Now for the good stuff.

The views around here are beautiful and there is a hiking trail adjacent to the hotel. It's also in a nicer area. Other than Chili's, there is nothing within about a mile, so there isn't any through traffic in the parking lot, so that helps with the noise. The hotel is also set off a little from the main road, so I couldn't hear any traffic.

Breakfast was okay. I can't complain because it's free. It's a standard continental breakfast - juice, coffee, bagels, waffles, eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits (and gravy!) Also, free USA Today on weekdays.

The "high speed" internet was free. It includes both wired and wireless, but in my first room, the wired didn't work and the wireless was slow. The second time, both worked and the speed was fine.

The rooms are a nice size and overall were clean and looked newer. The rooms have a mini-fridge, microwave, and coffee pot.

The workout room is nice and has new, high-quality equipment (treadmill, elliptical, bike, and weight machine.) I haven't used the pool or hot-tub, but the area looks nice.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from the elevator as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reno_Traveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Hotel was clean and quiet. The breakfast buffet was adequate but nothing special. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful with questions about the area.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

This was a super nice hotel, room,pool,spa, the front desk person. The food in the AM was also good, seems no one knows about it, but stay here instead on the city limits of Tucson.
They even had a special lift at the hot tub so a handicap person could also enjoy the hot tub.
That was cool.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oro Valley
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley
5 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Tucson North Foothills
6.8 mi away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson Mall
1.6 mi away
El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North

Address: 11075 N Oracle Rd, Oro Valley, AZ 85737-5601 (Formerly Oro Valley Hotel and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Oro Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oro Valley
Price Range: $115 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oro Valley's newest hotel. Formerly Wingate by Wyndham. Beautiful views of the Santa Catalina Mountains. Chili's restaurant in parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oro Valley Hotel Oro Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing