We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting and worth the Drive outside of Tucson”
Review of Biosphere 2

Biosphere 2
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Oracle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Visitors can observe nature in a controlled state at this world-famous steel and glass research center where desert, forest, ocean and other ecosystems are monitored and studied.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very interesting and worth the Drive outside of Tucson”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

It is a bit expensive for a tour, but they offer a AAA discount or the same small discount if yoou pick up their brochure at the airport or hotels. The facility is big and requires a lot of walking and climbing stairs, but was so interesting and worth the trip to get some insight into science and the experiments being conducted. What a neat BIG lab, the scientists must love it!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank RoInCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    298
    138
    38
    24
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Biosphere 2 keeps doing new research”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We had heard about Biosphere 2 for a long time and finally got the opportunity to visit. The University of Arizona now owns the area and is continuing to do new research; this time into what happens to water when it goes through the soil. New test areas are being constructed that will allow the scientists to track a gram of water from the air through the soil.

Biosphere 2 is interesting to anyone who can remember the project from the 1990s when 8 people lived in it for two years without ever going outside of the sphere. Now we can tour and see what has happened and is still happening with this marvel of engnineering.

Visit for a day and come away inspired.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank TravelerFromPenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Friend and I both agree, a waste of time. I will say the architecture is pretty neat but the inside was much smaller then I was expecting. You only can see a small section of the rain forest area due to overgrowth of vegetation. Ocean area is a stagnant pool of water. Desert area has a few cactus growing. A small food area selling hot dogs and pre-made sandwiches. There's so many other attractions in the Tucson area worth seeing, don't waste your time here.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank whitem3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fascinating view of a manmade world.”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We did this tour with guests and we all found it fascinating. Our tour guide was well informed and told us lots of anecdotes.
We bought a book about the experience of living there for two years and that it made our tour even more interesting.

Helpful?
2 Thank TICPEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing science project on a huge scale.”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I visited the Biosphere a little over 10 years ago, went on the rather short guided tour and thought the place was pretty amazing then. I recently went again and was even more facinated by it the second time around. The guided tour was $20 per person but if you have a AAA card you can save $2. It may seem a bit hefty of a price tag, but it was well worth it. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the history and workings of the Biosphere. We were guided through the different biomes from the rainforest to the ocean to the desert biome to name a few. There were several ongoing experiments being done throughout the biosphere and our tour guide was able to show and describe what each was about. The best part of the tour, in my opinion, is the underground portion of the tour. It is here that we were shown how temperature/climate conditions are regulated for each individual biome and we were also shown one of the "lungs", which was used to help regulate pressure in the biosphere when it was a closed system. It is a pretty amazing engineering marvel!
One thing to note, because it is a walking tour, be prepared for climbing up and down stairs. I wouldn't recommend the walking tour to anyone who has difficulty walking at a moderate pace up hill. Also, some of the biomes are pretty humid, so dress comfortably and bring some water. Otherwise it is a great place to check out. You don't have to be a science geek to enjoy the Biosphere 2, but if you are, you are going to love this place!!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank socalgummibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biosphere 2 also viewed

 

Been to Biosphere 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing