We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb attraction if you have any interest in science at all.”
Review of Biosphere 2

Biosphere 2
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Oracle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Visitors can observe nature in a controlled state at this world-famous steel and glass research center where desert, forest, ocean and other ecosystems are monitored and studied.
Kitchener
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Superb attraction if you have any interest in science at all.”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We visited the Biosphere 2 on a visit to Tucson. At first, given all the negative press we had encountered, we were not intending to go. My husband is an engineer and science is a passion. He wanted to go and I decided I was interested enough to accompany him.
On other trips our forays into scientific venues have been very worthwhile.

The Biosphere 2 was no exception. The tour is fascinating -- with just enough information as well as a self-guided section to keep everyone interested. When we visited there were several families and they all enjoyed their visit. The guide was knowledgeable and kept the tour moving and did not get too bogged down in details. Instead he wisely pointed those interested to materials that they could peruse at their leisure instead.

This University of Arizona facility is certainly underrated and should be on many itineraries!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Gundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    300
    138
    38
    24
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, IL
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Something to do!”
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Tucson was pretty boring for us. Biosphere 2 gave us something to do for a while here just north of Tucson. The tour was $20 each but we got a $2 per person disc from a brochure on one of those racks with all the tourist attractions in the area. It was kind of interesting learning about the place and what they are studying there. It is really a well engineered place. Not totally what I was expecting though. I thought the place was built to be a self sustaining complex but they run on power off the main power grid with only a little help from solar. The experiments they are doing there are about water usage in different areas of the world. I thought it would be more about different ways to grow things (like crops) to get better yields or how to make hybrids so they are less resistant to drought and stuff like that. It was still interesting and a good way to kill about 3 hours while still learning something.
Just to let you know there are a lot of stairs to climb on this tour and it is all walking. The tour lasts about 2 hours and then you are free to roam around outside on your own to see the living quarters where the crew stayed and you can go down to an underwater observation area of their ocean which is set up with displays and all kinds of information.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank mnovak61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slingerlands, New York
Level 6 Contributor
521 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Fascinating but sad.”
Reviewed June 11, 2011

A piece of history. Before you go, read about the history of the place and the missions that took place here, along with the intrigue and interpersonal conflicts. The building looks like something out of a bad sci fi film, this mass of glass and steel rising out of the desert. It is no longer sealed to the outside environment, and the areas inside are deteriorating and in need of help (the coral reef being the saddest!). If you are in to technology, engineering and the history of science, don't miss it. No, not for kids. Younger ones won't understand the place and it's history.

Helpful?
4 Thank Rhapsodyinblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“great place to take kids but rather pricey”
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Good place to take kids for educational experience but basically a big greenhouse; interesting scientific experiments; owned and run by the university of Arizona; rather pricey at twenty dollars per adult for a couple of hours but you are supporting science; the most impressive were the twin “lungs” made of hypalon rubber [6 tons] and steel [14 tons]; nice to visit once; nice educational posters everywhere; interesting architecture

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank PULAOKHAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“How to live on one small planet.”
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Biosphere 2 is the home of an experiment in living within one's means, literally, in an enclosed space, producing all your own food, air, and recycling to the maximum. The experiment in living is over, but the Biosphere remains, now operated by the University of Arizona and the basis for any number of tests involving plants under controlled conditions. The place itself is fascinating, while the tours are very interesting and educational. A great place to visit for anyone with an interest in sustainable living on our Earth, particularly good for students and/or those thinking of a career in environmental science.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank BigReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biosphere 2 also viewed

 

Been to Biosphere 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing