We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nogales
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda Corona de Guevavi
Ranked #1 of 3 Nogales B&B and Inns
Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An oasis”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stayed here on a long road trip, and totally loved the experience. The property is magical, and the host (Wendy) went out of her way to make sure my visit was enjoyable, even accomodating a special dietary request for breakfast.

I loved wandering the property, and waking up in the morning to the sound of so many kinds of birds was amazing. I wish I could have spent longer here; it is such a restful place, and there are all kinds of corners in which to park with a book, or take a nap, or just sit and enjoy the desert.

I'll be back when I'm in the area

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickle229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hacienda Corona de Guevavi, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thanks for the great review and especially for the beautiful pictures. We'll be looking forward to that return trip!

Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
24
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We did not know much about the Hacienda when we arrived. We had received a gift certificate to go there and did not have much information about the ranch. Boy were we in for a surprise! The accommodations were outstanding. My husband and I slept so well in the La Patrona room. Wendy Stover, the owner, was so hospitable and friendly- we felt right at home. And the next morning, we had a delicious breakfast that would put any other hotel's breakfast bar to shame! We are telling all our friends and family about this wonderful place.

We will surely visit again!
-The Shaws

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

My husband and I just got married at the Hacienda, and it couldn't have been a better experience. We don't live in Arizona now, and planned everything (almost) site unseen- local family members did pay a visit for us. I have to admit I was nervous arriving at the Hacienda for the first time- only a couple days before the wedding- but it was exactly what I was looking for- authentic, original, luxurious and Nisa and Wendy could not have been easier or nicer to work with- they have a beautiful architectural gem of a property that they have obviously poured their heart into.
It was wonderful to have our wedding here, and be able to stay and have some of our guests stay- everyone loved the rooms and the surroundings. Everything from the wedding, to the gourmet brunch the following day (and even Nisa finding toys for my nephews to play with) were fabulous and done with a level of care you don't often see.
If you are planning an event in Southeastern Arizona, or just looking for somewhere to escape to- I highly recommend this off-the-beaten-path gem- I am already trying to figure out when we can go back.

Room Tip: Each room has it's own personality but La Patrona is well worth any extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

You will not be disappointed....well worth going over my lodging per diem for the week. I will return with my family for a true getaway vacation. Thank you Wendy...you made my week.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed at Hacienda Corona de Guevavi during a road trip vacation in Arizona, and it was such a cool experience. The rooms are beautiful and well kept, very unique in decor. The Hacienda is authentic and the stories of it's history were told to us by the inn's owner and daughter over wine and cheese. It's perched up on a hill with views of the valley, surrounded by gardens. We had an absolutely delicious breakfast, spanish style eggs and homemade breads in the warm and friendly kitchen. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tracy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Anyone looking for the real Arizona - away from the strip malls and chain restaurants - should consider staying at the Hacienda Corona. It has both class and comfort and is excellent in every way: the food, the decor, the towels and bedding, the ambience, the desert views, the hospitality. The cocktail hour was the best. It renewed our faith in the possibility of luxury in a home away from home. The three generations of women in charge ministered to our every need, became our friends, and left us in peace when we needed it. It was stunning!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kdgerber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Staying at the Hacienda was just an amazing experience!! It is an historic hacienda, built in the 1930s. The restoration is unbelieveable. If you go, be sure to look through the album of Before and After photos! This place has SO much authentic atmosphere. It is very classy and beautiful. We got to see all of the rooms and each one is unique and lovely. There are large public rooms and a wrap-around veranda for relaxing outside and enjoying the desert vistas. Wendy, the owner, is a gracious, professional host and she is full of helpful and interesting information. We went over the border for an elegant meal at La Roca. We also took lots of scenic drives in the area. The border issues are overstated and we felt completely safe during our entire stay. The Hacienda is a perfect getaway from the cares of the world!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bkriehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nogales
4.2 mi away
Best Western Sonora Inn & Suites
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nogales
4.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Nogales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Americana Nogales
4.1 mi away
El Dorado Inn
El Dorado Inn
#6 of 9 in Nogales
12 reviews
13.9 mi away
Spirit Tree Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Corona de Guevavi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Corona de Guevavi

Property: Hacienda Corona de Guevavi
Address: 348 South River Road, Nogales, AZ 85621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Nogales
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Nogales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Corona, the onetime headquarters of the Guevavi Ranch and playground for Hollywood star John Wayne, is a historic treasure. A perfectly private and peaceful desert oasis for all kinds of events. Weddings, corporate events, family retreats or a romantic weekend for two getaway! Guests relax and refresh with birds singing in the lush, vibrant gardens with historic murals on courtyard walls and a sparkling mosaic tile swimming pool. Guest rooms are luxurious and unique and while "gourmet" is not a typical ranch phrase, breakfasts are scrumptious. One hour south of Tucson between the towns of Tubac and Patagonia. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing