We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very strong fragrance used in all laundry”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Nogales
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nogales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2012

If you read all the other reviews, I pretty much agree with all of them. We have stayed at this hotel more than 4 times in as many weeks, and finally figured out why we both came away the next day feeling sick and having asthma issues. The laundry cleaning products have a very strong fragrance, which, it seems, that we are both sensitive too. This fragrance is throughout the hotel, so you just can't get away from it. We have now chosen to stay at the Best Western next door, and find it much newer and cleaner, and no strong fragrance smells. If strong fragrance smells don't bother you, please frequent this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mechanic_da
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nogales, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Dear mechanic_da,

Thank you for posting a review of our hotel, I am very sorry to hear you did not find our laundry fragrance pleasing. We appreciate your feedback and your comments will be shared with the appropriate department. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Katie J
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 115 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2012

This appears to be a fairly new hotel with larger-than-usual rooms (at least mine was). The desk staff was friendly and the free breakfast had hot items--scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy. The only downside (temporary) was the fact that the front entrance was blocked off because a contractor was refinishing the concrete in the driveway. It was inconvenient to have to go around to the side of the hotel to gain access.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBearden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Your average hotel. The rooms were okay. Wi-Fi wasn't the greatest. Breakfast was blah. The fitness center equipment could use some upgrading (I avoided the universal gym). Nothing majorly wrong with the hotel but I'll probably try the Candlewood Suites next door during my next visit to the area just because it's newer (both hotels are part of the IHG group so I don't feel to bad saying that).

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monster_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Express Nogales, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear Monster_1981,

Thank you for taking the time to let us have your feedback via Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Nogales, AZ. I was disappointed to read that you did not find our hotel to your liking. All of our reviews are evaluated by management, and your review is no exception. We appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests, this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer. Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We always stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Nogales, AZ before going across the border to Mexico. The rooms are clean and quiet and breakfast is always consistent. It's very handy to the Mariposa border crossing.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AdventureForward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

was only here for 1 night, so not too much to say.

Breakfast was what I expected.

Wifi Internet performance was fine and free.

the room was clean, large and decent.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Churchill_Fortunato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

The HIE in Nogales is a new hotel and they are working hard on getting it in tip-top shape. I stayed at the kids' suite with my family on a business trip and we would travel out most every afternoon. As a neurotic traveler, I always unpack and take stock of what we have and where we're storing everything. The night before our departure, when we were re-packing, I found that my digital camera ($100-$150 price range), a pair of earrings (<$30), and a ring (>$300 and yes - definitely my bad for leaving something this valuable in the room) had been taken. Additionally, when we arrive at home my wife couldn't find some inexpensive make-up items that she had in her make-up bag.

The hotel manager was very courteous and the seemed interested in our complaint however nothing could be done because hotels aren't liable for what you leave in your room apparently. And - Oh by the way, the person who cleaned my room was a long time (4 yr) empoyee of the hotel and is "very honest". So my only other alternative (as a foreigner) is to call in the Nogales police to investigate.

Yes, I should've placed the ring in a safe deposit box...but a note to any traveler coming here - the hotel is fine but be sure to put EVERYTHING in you safe deposit box...because I had things taken from my room that a random (non-neurotic) traveler like myself might not have noticed until much later. Unless you're willing to get the Nogales PD involved - I suggest RUN. My suggestion - stay across the street at the Best Western or the Candlewood.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stonewall80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvanDrechsler, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nogales, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2010

It is always difficult in handling the issues of potential theft or missing items in the hotel environment. This particular incident was the first one I have encountered at the hotel. Plus we have a seasoned staff who in the 9 years the property has been opened, most have been with us,( especially in Housekeeping) for three years or more. We have the ability to identify all who have accessed the room over the period in question and we did determine that the hotel staff going into the room was the person assigned to servicing the room. Upon the guest departure we thoroughly inspected the room and found an item that was left behind and kept it for them until their return trip to Nogales along with their twin baby cribs for their young babies. I did offer to facilitate a report with the police, but the offer was never taken up. The unfortunate thing is that Hotel Law only provides responsibility for items of value that are placed in the hotel security lock boxes and issued a key. A secure procedure is followed to assure the access is only by the individual signing up for the box. This is a free service for most hotels, especially ours since we value the security of valuables on the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Pretty standard fare as far as Holiday Inn Express is concerned. The hotel is not that old so still in pretty good shape. There is very little to choose from there on the border, and this is perfectly fine for where you are at. If you are looking for luxury, you won't find it but the rooms were clean and decent sized in a SW motif. Decent workout room and standard fare HI Ex breakfast (those cinnamon rolls are evil and delicious).

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAL504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nogales
0.1 mi away
Best Western Sonora Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Nogales
1.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Americana Nogales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
El Dorado Inn
El Dorado Inn
#6 of 9 in Nogales
12 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fray Marcos De Niza
Fray Marcos De Niza
#4 of 7 in Nogales
45 reviews
7.5 mi away
Fiesta Inn Nogales
Fiesta Inn Nogales
#1 of 7 in Nogales
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Nogales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Nogales

Address: 850 W Shell Dr, I-19 and Mariposa Road, Nogales, AZ 85621-1150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Nogales
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nogales
Price Range: $98 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Nogales 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Nogales, Arizona is designed for business and built for pleasure. We are conveniently located one hour south of the Tucson International Airport and just minutes away from the Mexico Border. Our close proximity to Mexico is great for both business and leisure travelers as it allows our guests access to 109 American companies such as Motorola, Fortune Brands, Kimberly Clark, Xerox, etc. as well as a wide variety of shopping, dining and tour options in Nogales, Sonora Mexico. The City of Nogales and its neighboring towns such as Tubac, Patagonia, Sonoita and Elgin are rich in history, culture and wildlife. With its majestic mountains and untouched desert landscapes its no wonder the area is home to one of the largest varieties of birds and as such, is internationally renowned among bird watching communities. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Nogales offers oversized rooms with a refrigerator, microwave and free high speed wireless internet, not to mention an unforgettable experience filled with such activities as wine tasting at local vineyards, golfing, shopping, bird watching and unique cultural and historical ventures. Whether visiting the area on business or pleasure we are your ideal hospitality provider. We look forward to hosting you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Nogales, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Nogales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nogales Hotel Nogales
Holiday Inn Nogales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing