We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A HUGE DIFFERENCE FOR THE BETTER!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel in the Pines

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel in the Pines
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Munds Park
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A HUGE DIFFERENCE FOR THE BETTER!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed at this motel and it was nice and comfortable. It is under new management. The new managers are nice and very helpful. The rooms are clean.They are doing a great job...Keep up the good work guys!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: The suites are nice and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swilson76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    16
    8
    28
See reviews for
29
31
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

This place is disgusting! The room stunk and was dirty. Our friends, who had another room, brought their dog with them. When they took the dog out a little later, he refused to go back up the stairs to their room, he was so horrified. He's a large dog so they could not get him to go back up. They wound up checking out and driving back to Phoenix that night. We had to stay as we were at a party that lasted very late. Later we found out from a Munds Park resident that the motel is known for bedbugs.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CandaceLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munds Park hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Las Vegas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

Disgusting and dirty. I had a horrible night's sleep. The room smelled like urine and it looks like it hasn't been maintained in 30 years! They have star pictures of Buddy Hackett and Joyce Dewitt. Joyce looked like a teenager what, about 40 years ago??? Buddy Hackett's been dead that long! haha.

Hotels.com says it's 8 miles from Sedona. Took us an hour to get there! We canceled our second night and were still charged for it. NO MORE hotels.com! We've booked our last room with these frauds and rip offs.

Room Tip: Read the fine print and take the negative reviews!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gastonlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

The room we stayed in was supposed to be a Deluxe. Far from it! We are not that picky, just want a clean & quite room. A large tool box was left in the doorway to the bathroom. The bath had no control knob for temperature. When we arrived the room was very cold. The heater was extremely loud, even sleeping with ear plugs. The bright outside light reflected off a badly placed mirror right onto our sleeping area. It reminded us of a deer in the headlights. The mattress was like a Medieval punishment. No one was there upon check out to voice our room problems. Just a small box to drop off your key.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AntiqueLover13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

My husband and 9 year old daughter stayed here (as an alternative to staying at Mormon Lake Lodge) for 2 nights. We were looking for a budget friendly place to get our Spring Break vacation started. We chose the "mini-suite" mainly for the fireplace and king-sized bed, thinking we could make s'mores and watch movies. There is nothing "suite-like" about the room. It's a standard hotel room with a small bathroom. At check in I inquired about the location of the firewood for our fireplace. I was told that logs should already be set up for me and that additional wood was available on the patio. However, I was also told that I was not able to burn a fire due to the time of year. I was told that the "date for fires had passed." I asked what exactly was the point of my paying for a "mini-suite" with fireplace if I can't use the fireplace? The guy just looked at me like this was a stupid question. Ah, well I will be with my family and we can have fun anywhere. I decide not to make a scene. So we get to the room and the stench of campfire smoke hits us before we can even open the door. We get inside and the smell is so strong we decide to air the place out to prevent our eyes from watering. After the smoke clears, we discover that we have a tiny heater to chase away to 20 degree weather, no extra blankets or pillows of any kind including any to make up the sofa bed. All bed and bath linens that we do have feel like sandpaper. And you know you're in the ghetto when you have a bottle opener screwed onto the side of the bathroom vanity. I would not stay here again. If you are absolutely desperate then do it, but I would drive the 20 more minutes to Flagstaff and stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFabCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

The Proprietor of this hotel charged $140 for a $39 room when my collage-age son and teenage daughter had to stop for the night due to bad road conditions.

Please let this guy know that its not ok to price gouge-just drive right past this crook. There are a hundred motels 15 minutes away in Flagstaff..

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank cozumelsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

The first clue came when we checked in. The manager's office was strewn with newspapers looking like a college dorm room on Sunday afternoon. But the biggest disappointment was the room. It was supposedly a "deluxe" room with fireplace, but it smelled like the fires had been burned in the middle of the room instead of in the fireplace. It was smokier than any campsite and the smoke had impregnated the carpets and furniture. Even the filters in the air conditioning/heating unit were full of smoke so we couldn't use the unit without making the problem worse. The fireplace itself was filled with ashes and obviously hadn't been cleaned for months. We stayed 2 nights but the room was not cleaned during our stay. The manager's explanation was that we hadn't hung out the "Maid Service Please" sign and his policy is not to enter a room unless that sign is displayed. This unwritten, unspoken policy must save him from cleaning hundreds of rooms a year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stilltraveling65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munds Park
4.8 mi away
Oak Creek Terrace Resort
10.9 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
7.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
6.0 mi away
Junipine Resort
Junipine Resort
#4 of 48 in Sedona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
13.0 mi away
Desert Quail Inn
Desert Quail Inn
#7 of 48 in Sedona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel in the Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel in the Pines

Property: Motel in the Pines
Address: 80 West Pinewood Road, I-17 North, Exit 322, Munds Park, AZ 86017
Location: United States > Arizona > Munds Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Munds Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel in the Pines 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel in the Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel In The Pines Hotel Munds Park
Hotel In The Pines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing