We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night”
Review of Faofao Beach Fales

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Faofao Beach Fales
Ranked #1 of 1 Saleapaga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“one night”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

we only stayed one night as we had prebooked to go to another place, the fale was good as it was traditional with the flax type blinds, it also had a little veranda and bowl of water supplied to wash feet. The dining area was lovely, the food was nice and we had good music in the evening played by two samoan guys. It was very enjoyable. The only complaint is that tea and coffee was not readily availiable and I was hanging out for one in the evening, there wasn't any availiable at dinner either. The beach of course is lovely,some sad reminders of the tsunami remain, much respect to the local people who lost so much but continue to look after us lucky tourists.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    27
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
39
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 509 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed three nights at these fales on the south coast in Saleapaga. They are the first in a line of more modest fale businesses, none of which were open when we were there. They are about 5 km west of Lalomanu.

This really was a pros and cons place for us. There were three things that I really liked. The fale itself was very good. It was a spacious oval shape with clean woven mats on the floor, a foam mattress also on the floor and good mosquito net with a rectangular crown so that we did not feel too enclosed and elastic sides so that we did not have to tuck them in. However I did not like the plastic cover under the sheets on the mattress as it made sleeping hot and sticky.

The roof was thatch over timber frames. The best feature was the walls which were traditional woven drop-down blinds so that you can have as much or as little privacy as you want but the air can always flow through. It had a veranda on the front with two chairs. The fales are right on the beach facing the sea and are sufficiently well spaced apart with plenty of palms in between.

The beach is lovely for walking and swimming. Unfortunately there is Crown of Thorn starfish throughout this area. There is pleasant snorkelling. It is not what it was before the reef was damaged by the 2009 tsunami but it is nice to see the reef recovering.

The dining area and bar was just across the road as were the facilities. I liked the long table where we sat down to meals with all the other guests. It was a very friendly, social environment. The bar sells reasonably priced beer and wine. I also really loved the Fiafia night on Saturday. There were 14 guests so there were no bad seats and the dancers were just fantastic. This was so much better than the Wednesday night Fiafia that we attended at Aggie Greys. There was none of that dreadful business of getting some tourists up on stage and enabling them to make total fools of themselves.

We booked through the Apia hotels website and paid ST80 per person for bed, breakfast and dinner (ST160 per double). That was fine and the meals were adequate. A taxi From Apia cost ST100.

What I was really peeved about was that, although the family was very friendly, they did not want to be bothered making lunch for the guests. This was a problem as there was nowhere close by to purchase a meal. Not a problem if you have your own transport but a real problem if you don’t. The nearest restaurant was at Taufua Beach Fales in Lalomanu which was a one hour walk down the road in the hot sun.

I was also unhappy with the facility block. The showers needed a good clean and some decent shower curtains. Then the whole block needed to be demolished after a new block had been built. There was one tiny wash basin. There was nowhere to do any laundry except in the showers.

Frankly I think this family needs to decide whether they really want to run a business or not. All that laidback Samoan charm is great, but you really cannot half run a business in a place like this.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaisyClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

OK, I have not stayed there recently. In fact, the last time was 2006. What is fantastic about this place is the lagoon beach. I have always considered this the loveliest beach on the island, if not the South Pacific. And it is never crowded.

Over the years I stayed there and from what I know, the management of this property has changed a lot over the years and a review from one year might not adequately describe the next years "atmosphere".

The accommodations ARE spartan. But I don't care if I had to sleep on the beach in a pup-tent, this is a most gorgeous beach.

If you are real beach person, stay here...but rent a car so you can go elsewhere to eat and party. If you are not adventurous and love beaches, then go elsewhere....but come to the beach anyway!

Room Tip: This place is all about the beach.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Frihed89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Faofao beach fales as traditional fales right on the gorgeous beach that is Saleapaga - much more laid back and uninhabited than nearby Lalomanu.

Va'a, Rosetta and the family make you feel so so welcome, from the laid back chat and drink on arrival, to the shared meals (so yummy and plenty to eat) to the 'displays'. It is so nice to see all the family take part in the 'displays' which are essentially real people having some fun with the traditional activities of their culture and villages.

I desperately didn't want to leave after our stay here and will definitely be back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelson
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Have spent the week at FaoFao beach fales. amazing. stay on the beach - really safe. clean. the waves come to the door of your fale.

the water is crystal clear and great for snorkelling.

every sat night there is a big traditional feast and dancing with the locals. there is a fantastic fire dance with a samoan forth firedance champion who is practising. you get your breakfast (we love the pancakes, paw paw and lime) and dinner included. for lunch you can hire a motorbike from ritchie and go to a restaurant down the coast. if you are a vegetarian you can eat here and if you like meat they have great fish, chicken, pork, beef and other filling samoan food every night.

i am coming back for more. if you dont want to stay in the beach fale you can have a room with a shower and toilet as there are 12. the beach fales can be fully covered so you dont get wet.

you tell the owner that you want a transfer from the airport (tell them the flight number and time/date of arrival or departure) and they pick up you up. It is about 2 hours driving and can cost a bomb ($200 tala plus with a regular taxi) you can ask the faofao to pick you up and it is significantly cheaper and a good friendly driver who will stop for water and will point out points of interest during the trip to faofao.

Since the 2009 tsumni, many fales have closed on this coastline. fao fao is the first to reopen and it is a delight to be here. the fales are made of natural wood and coconut leaves which cover the fale. it is very safe and if there ever was a tsumni then there is a track 100m behind to a 100m hill.

the faofao fale sell beer, wine, water, cola and some other supplies. there is a wee shop 100m down the road. the owners go into apia during the week and you can ask to travel with them.

i highly recommend staying here, the days have passed and i am very relaxed and sad to leave...i have already booked for next year. go to facebook and search for faofaobeachfale email faofaobeachfales@samoa.ws

Room Tip: sleep outside and have a shared bathroom (one for ladies and one for men) or sleep in the standard r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cyndi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Fao Fao. Very easy to find, can't miss it as it straddles the main coast road. We had 2 nights in a fale, which was comfortable enough, mozzie net provided, though the mattress was a tad thin, but I'm sure if we had asked for another, Korosetta would have obliged. I didn't enjoy having to walk to the amenities in the middle of the night, but that's not a complaint, just how it is. The fales are pretty close together, though they are screened well with palms etc, and are right on the beach. Its a beautiful stretch of beach, with great swimming right there. It does seem to be the beach where a lot of locals come for the weekend, it can be a bit noisy, but didn't bother us at all and everyone is very friendly. The beach is nicer further on near Sina PJ's, but its way overcrowded up there. We ended up staying in a motel room for one night, and that was comfortable, but very close to the restaurant and it happened to be party night, but still an interesting experience. The food was fine, plenty for breakfast (lovely pancakes and eggs), dinners were plentiful also, and the bar is fairly well stocked. Very welcoming family run place. Our only real complaint is the local dogs at night! Sounded like a dozen of them barking and fighting up and down the road, right outside our fale and even up on the verandah outside our room when we slept in the motel part...that was annoying!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

For 70 tala a night including dinner and breakfast we thought this was a great deal. We stayed in one of the fales by the beach. It was like it was in the picture. Simple but perfect. The food was fine. We had the chance to try some Samoan food like taro and you certainly didn't go away hungry. We enjoyed the communal and had better conversation here than anywhere else on our trip (although that obviously depends on who else is there!) The bathrooms are like in an NZ camping ground and could have been cleaner. Wear jandals. Fine for the price though. The beach is lovely. You can snorkel out the front. While the coral was damaged by the tsunami, it's regrowng and there's still stuff to see and lots of fish. What I liked the best was going to sleep to the sound of the gentle lapping of the lagoon on the shore combined with the roar of the surf on the reef. I wish we had spent more time just lying around there. You should be able to hire scooters from here too. The guy who owns them was doing some pre season maintenance and they should be available soon.

Room Tip: There's one fancier fale higher off the ground than the others, but apart from that they all see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amelia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saleapaga
23.1 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
0.5 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#5 of 30 in Apia
204 reviews
2.3 mi away
Litia Sini Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Taufua Beach Fales
Taufua Beach Fales
#1 of 2 in Lalomanu
444 reviews
7.9 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
381 reviews
1.7 mi away
Manusina Beach Fales
Manusina Beach Fales
#1 of 1 in Saleapaga
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faofao Beach Fales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faofao Beach Fales

Property: Faofao Beach Fales
Address: Main South Coast Rd | Private Bag, Saleapaga, Upolu 000, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Saleapaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saleapaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Faofao Beach Fales 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are having 18 beach fales directly at the beach - you could easily go for a swim after waking up - and 12 ensuite rooms with basic facilities. We are also offering a breakfast and traditional samoan food for dinner. Once a week we are having a show called Fiafia which includes some of the most famous polynesian dances including the impressive firedance. On request we will arrange a bonfire at night for your amusement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Faofao Beach Fales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faofao Beach Fales Hotel Saleapaga
Faofao Beach Fales Samoa/Saleapaga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing