We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be part of the family”
Review of Faofao Beach Fales

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Faofao Beach Fales
Ranked #1 of 1 Saleapaga B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Be part of the family”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Faofao beach fales as traditional fales right on the gorgeous beach that is Saleapaga - much more laid back and uninhabited than nearby Lalomanu.

Va'a, Rosetta and the family make you feel so so welcome, from the laid back chat and drink on arrival, to the shared meals (so yummy and plenty to eat) to the 'displays'. It is so nice to see all the family take part in the 'displays' which are essentially real people having some fun with the traditional activities of their culture and villages.

I desperately didn't want to leave after our stay here and will definitely be back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    26
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
37
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nelson
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Have spent the week at FaoFao beach fales. amazing. stay on the beach - really safe. clean. the waves come to the door of your fale.

the water is crystal clear and great for snorkelling.

every sat night there is a big traditional feast and dancing with the locals. there is a fantastic fire dance with a samoan forth firedance champion who is practising. you get your breakfast (we love the pancakes, paw paw and lime) and dinner included. for lunch you can hire a motorbike from ritchie and go to a restaurant down the coast. if you are a vegetarian you can eat here and if you like meat they have great fish, chicken, pork, beef and other filling samoan food every night.

i am coming back for more. if you dont want to stay in the beach fale you can have a room with a shower and toilet as there are 12. the beach fales can be fully covered so you dont get wet.

you tell the owner that you want a transfer from the airport (tell them the flight number and time/date of arrival or departure) and they pick up you up. It is about 2 hours driving and can cost a bomb ($200 tala plus with a regular taxi) you can ask the faofao to pick you up and it is significantly cheaper and a good friendly driver who will stop for water and will point out points of interest during the trip to faofao.

Since the 2009 tsumni, many fales have closed on this coastline. fao fao is the first to reopen and it is a delight to be here. the fales are made of natural wood and coconut leaves which cover the fale. it is very safe and if there ever was a tsumni then there is a track 100m behind to a 100m hill.

the faofao fale sell beer, wine, water, cola and some other supplies. there is a wee shop 100m down the road. the owners go into apia during the week and you can ask to travel with them.

i highly recommend staying here, the days have passed and i am very relaxed and sad to leave...i have already booked for next year. go to facebook and search for faofaobeachfale email faofaobeachfales@samoa.ws

Room Tip: sleep outside and have a shared bathroom (one for ladies and one for men) or sleep in the standard r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cyndi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Fao Fao. Very easy to find, can't miss it as it straddles the main coast road. We had 2 nights in a fale, which was comfortable enough, mozzie net provided, though the mattress was a tad thin, but I'm sure if we had asked for another, Korosetta would have obliged. I didn't enjoy having to walk to the amenities in the middle of the night, but that's not a complaint, just how it is. The fales are pretty close together, though they are screened well with palms etc, and are right on the beach. Its a beautiful stretch of beach, with great swimming right there. It does seem to be the beach where a lot of locals come for the weekend, it can be a bit noisy, but didn't bother us at all and everyone is very friendly. The beach is nicer further on near Sina PJ's, but its way overcrowded up there. We ended up staying in a motel room for one night, and that was comfortable, but very close to the restaurant and it happened to be party night, but still an interesting experience. The food was fine, plenty for breakfast (lovely pancakes and eggs), dinners were plentiful also, and the bar is fairly well stocked. Very welcoming family run place. Our only real complaint is the local dogs at night! Sounded like a dozen of them barking and fighting up and down the road, right outside our fale and even up on the verandah outside our room when we slept in the motel part...that was annoying!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

For 70 tala a night including dinner and breakfast we thought this was a great deal. We stayed in one of the fales by the beach. It was like it was in the picture. Simple but perfect. The food was fine. We had the chance to try some Samoan food like taro and you certainly didn't go away hungry. We enjoyed the communal and had better conversation here than anywhere else on our trip (although that obviously depends on who else is there!) The bathrooms are like in an NZ camping ground and could have been cleaner. Wear jandals. Fine for the price though. The beach is lovely. You can snorkel out the front. While the coral was damaged by the tsunami, it's regrowng and there's still stuff to see and lots of fish. What I liked the best was going to sleep to the sound of the gentle lapping of the lagoon on the shore combined with the roar of the surf on the reef. I wish we had spent more time just lying around there. You should be able to hire scooters from here too. The guy who owns them was doing some pre season maintenance and they should be available soon.

Room Tip: There's one fancier fale higher off the ground than the others, but apart from that they all see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amelia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Faofao Beach Fales. I stayed in the hotel accommodation, rather than the actual beach fales on the beach. Perfect location , right beside the beach which you can go swimming , snorkeling or lying on the beach. I found the family to be very warm and friendly. The rooms don't get cleaned daily while you stay there. The water cut off a couple of times, but the family were always good at getting it back up and running again. Breakfasts were great - papaya , coconut , pineapple , eggs , pancakes , coffee etc. Dinner was also reasonably good. They also supplied a traditional Sunday Samoan lunch. Saleapaga is in quite a remote part of Upolo and there is no regular public transport. They took us on a tour around the island to see waterfalls , to sua ocean trench and drive past the villages for 50 tala which I thought was reasonable. I was in Samoa during the Independence festival and they drove me into Apia to see the celebrations at night which was a great experience. I felt this place was a down to earth experience of the real Samoa rather than a 5 star luxury resort. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 29AJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Fao Fao has the most amazing beach fales I have stayed in at Samoa. You are right on the beach, have a little porch, mosquito net, light and traditional blinds (much nicer than the plastic ones). The hosts were incredibly helpful and friendly. Always up for a chat, always ready to help with any questions/problems. I loved the fia fia evening. It was all family members dancing and singing, and although the choreography wasn't always perfect, you could see they enjoyed it themselves, which is worth a lot more to me. What the other reviewers wrote about being ripped off for transport, that is absolutely not true anymore. I know of people who got a free ride to the rock pool when the owners went into town, and they also gave me a ride to Apia since they had to go there themselves, all free of charge. The meals are buffet style, shich I like because you can take as much or as little as you want. Dinner wasn't gourmet, but it is Samoa and they have to cook with the food that is available. All in all, I had some good meals there. Fale and meals were also reasonably priced compared to other places in the area. The reef is very damaged after the tsunami, so I wouldn't go there for snorkeling, but the beach is just amazing! Waking up in the morning in my fale, looking out over the ocean, and going for a swin; paradise!

Room Tip: I had to stay in a private room for two nights because the fales were fully booked, and I truly reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lore_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night only. We were the only ones staying. The location was great. The snorkelling was good although I can imagine before the tsunami would be have much better. Close to Tu Sua Trench - very cool, beautiful gardens.
Food was very average for the dinner..... however breakfast was fine.
Staff were super friendly and great to talk to. In particular, it was great talking to Va about his baby girl.
As we experienced in other parts of Samoa, water supply was dodgy but apparently this was due to the reconstruction efforts continuing post the tsunami damage.
Drove past the 'more popular' Litia Sini and I'm glad we stayed at Faofao as there you are jammed so close together in accommodation that it spoils it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GE_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saleapaga
2.3 mi away
Litia Sini Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#5 of 30 in Apia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
23.1 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Taufua Beach Fales
Taufua Beach Fales
#1 of 2 in Lalomanu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.7 mi away
Manusina Beach Fales
Manusina Beach Fales
#1 of 1 in Saleapaga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
7.9 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faofao Beach Fales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faofao Beach Fales

Property: Faofao Beach Fales
Address: Main South Coast Rd | Private Bag, Saleapaga, Upolu 000, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Saleapaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saleapaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Faofao Beach Fales 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are having 18 beach fales directly at the beach - you could easily go for a swim after waking up - and 12 rooms with basic facilities. We are also offering a breakfast and traditional samoan food for dinner. Once a week we are having a show called Fiafia which includes some of the most famous polynesian dances including the impressive firedance. On request we will arrange a bonfire at night for your amusement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Faofao Beach Fales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faofao Beach Fales Hotel Saleapaga
Faofao Beach Fales Samoa/Saleapaga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing