We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to relax”
Review of Faofao Beach Fales

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Faofao Beach Fales
Ranked #1 of 1 Saleapaga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2011

The Fao Fao Beach Fale Resort is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been.
We stayed there in September 2011 and had the best time ever. You can choose between living in little Fales (Samoan Beach huts) or in a hotel. The Fales are very nice and directly at the beach-it’s only 5 metres to the sea! There are matress on the floor of the Fales und you have a mosquito net. We really enjoyed staying in such a nice little hut and hearing the waves the hole night and having the best view when opening the eyes in the morning. You can spend the days snorkeling and reading on the beach or just relax in one of the open beach fales.

The price per night includes breakfast and dinner and we loved the food there a lot! The breakfast was always eggs, pancakes, fresh food, toast, tea coffee, … and the dinner was very delicious and samoan way cooked, which means a lot of coconut cream, taro and fish. Great!

The family who owns the Fao Fao is lovely, everbody is just nice and friendly and you really feel safe and home with them. There is a Fia Fia night every Saturday, which means traditional Samoan dancing and music, made by the family and friends. On Sunday there is a brunch and you can also join the family for church which is a great experience as well. They even organised a little party for my birthday, which I had during my stay there.

All in all one of the best and most quiet places to stay in Upolu. We really whish to come back one time!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeepRed88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 93 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2011

We took a spontaneous trip to Faofao after it was recommended by some travellers we met whilst on Savaii. I felt overall that although the beach was lovely the hosts were somewhat 'after our money'. We wanted to get back to Apia for our flight and were told this would be 100 tala which seemed a lot so we planned to get the bus back (a couple of tala..). When we enquired where to get it, we were told we would have to walk to the next village as they didn't come past Faufau. Disappointing as they have vehicles and it would have been nice if they had offered to drop us. Anyway we were going to walk. Then we found out they were going into town for other business and managed to catch a ride for 10 tala with them!! Drinks were pretty expensive - you had to buy water for 4 tala and tea and coffee weren't available through the day (though I asked for the kettle a few times so I could drink boiled water).
A group of guests wanted to go along to the sua trench down the road and help was not forthcoming. Would have been nice if they had offered to drop us - so close. But we had to pay 50 tala round trip to a ripoff taxi man. This costs 15 tala pp to get in (overpriced but was quite cool - see pics that someone else has put on here of big pool). Overall, very hard to get around anywhere, and transport soo difficult as no cars go by (so hard to hitch) and no buses either. Also later found out that they have scooters for hire but noone told us!! We would def. have been interested.

Beach gorgeous however (though strong current sometimes). Reef close so noisy from bed! Food amazing! Loved the meals, really high quality food - best of all the fale places we stayed in. Costs 70 tala pp but 60 if you stayed 3 nights. Nice bathroom area - outside and cool stones around the place and pretty gardens. Shower was also warm which was a nice surprise! The eating area was nice too, has been redone since the tsunami - quite stylish.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Aziran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

If you are after a relaxing beach holiday without shops and lots of traffic, this could be it. Lovely hosts who arranged transport and side trips, provided good food and entertainment and wonderful traditional open fales on the beach or hotel rooms near the beach. A true family experience. Don't expect all the comforts of the western world! But having said that, the bed was comfortable and mosquito free with a mossy net, the food good and more than adequate plus nightly entertainment an added bonus. Close to Sua trench for a freshwater swim and a local bus stop at the door.

Room Tip: Phone 41067 if peak season, or just turn up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rozz60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Fao fao it a wonderfull place to stay! I was there two weeks with Kroseta´s family (owner of fao fao), she was soo nice and friendly with me. The food was very nicee and the hotel and faleys are very comfortables. Its a perfect place to relax and stay away from the problems and noise, sand very clean and a amazing coral to do snorkel.

Thanks a lot Fao fao fales for my unforgettable holidays.
See yoou soon.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juanfranp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

My partner and I stayed here initially for 4 nights returning for a further 10 nights after a trip over to Savaii. We found the whole family to be extremely welcoming and had an amazing stay. The fales allow you to have a true Samoan experience and the hotel is now up and running. We had the opportunity to stay in both the fales and the hotel and we couldn't fault either of them. The fales especially exceded our expectations. They are so simple but are truely beautiful and its amazing to wake up in the morning to the sound of the waves.

The area is quiet but there are plenty of things to do including visiting the waterfalls, going a having a swim in the trench cave, snorkelling and fishing. The New Zealand couple previously mentioned were packing up to leave when we were there so there will no longer be the opportunity to higher a motorbike. The family provide traditional weekend entertainment which we very much enjoyed.

Throughout the month we spent in Samoa we stayed in various places and Fao Fao was the only place where we were offered the umu (a traditional sunday lunch). This was offered free and gave us a great opportunity to try real traditional Samoan food which is what we went to Samoa for. The food that is included in the price of the accomodation (breakfast and dinner) is plentiful. The one thing we did notice is that the more guests there are the better the meals. Breakfast included toast, a variety of fruit, eggs, tea and coffee and every so often pancakes. Dinner was pretty much always good. Unlike some places we had something different every day including chicken, fish and sausage. The meals always came with rice but we were also served noodles, eggs, salad including seafood salad and potato salad with some meals.

My one piece of advice is not to let previous comments written on here put you off going to Fao Fao. We were there at low season so there were not many people around but there were a few female solo travellers during our time there and not one of them experienced anything that made them feel uncomfortable. If anything the bad experience the family had has made them even more attentive to guests. I would 100% recommend Fao Fao Fales to all travellers. We had the best time there and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rtwtraveller1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Sadly, I was there when shawnyb84 had her dreadful experience, and every word of her account of events is true. That aside, being a third time visitor to Saleapaga, I found Korosetta and Tapu to be great hosts, as was Tina (the girlfriend of the inappropriate man), Tina has since left for obvious reasons. Saleapaga is truly a gorgeous place, one of the very special places I have ever been too. From the tourist's point of view the location and beauty is perfect for a true simple island get-away, it is just a shame that some of the people in the village have subsided into behaviours of harrassment for tala, lack of respect of the tourist's need for privacy, and it's clear that social drunkenness is rife at any hour of the day. In general I found my one month stay to be quite uncomfortable because of the invasiveness of the general populous, and I'm not mistaking their conduct for good old fashioned Fa'a Samoa, that in it's true form seems to have died. Rick and Dawn of Fao Fao Scooter Hire are indeed great folk, genuinely friendly Kiwis. They also run a taxi service. Fao Fao Beach Fales now have thirteen very good fales, and for those wanting more comfort, their building of twelve modern motel style units is almost complete. If the tourism authority could only firmly educate the local people on how to conduct themselves then tourism at Saleapaga will be a success. I would still recommend Fao Fao Beach Fales, especially during the busier season May to August when one wouldn't feel and be so isolated. Also, they seem to think that modern rap/techno Samoan music is the ultimate, it's booming out of every vehicle and entertainment spot. What happened to the traditional music in it's original form? Rap/techno is not part of the tropical island dream.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
4  Thank mrkiwi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

The owners and staff treated you like family and made you feel welcome and at home. Offered a discount for extended stays. Only take Samoan cash at this time.
Fale was incredible, right on the sand, water lapping gently onto shore underneath, coconut shutters could be rolled up or down and always allowed a breeze to keep it cool, comfortable and bugs away. Mattresses are a bit outdated, placed on floor, mosquito nets overbed, light. Unobstructed ocean front.
Location was well worth the journey from the airport. Take a taxi or arrange pickup. Bus is unreliable and crowded. Car rental is a nice option too as there is a lot of things around there to do. Family goes into town often, almost everyday and offered to take guests when there is room in van.
Amenities are basic. dining area/bar very nice, turns into nightclub when fully booked with music, and dancing. Shared/public shower block with 4 toilets, 2 sinks, 4 cold water showers. (upgrading in progress). The food was very good, and there was plenty of it, a little something for everyone. Usually served family style, eggs and toast and fruit for breakfast and for dinner 3 different main dishes like fish cooked in coconut, chicken curry, pork stirfry, and different starches, salad and fruit. Special diets might be accomodated, and should talk to staff for alternatives. I didnt drink the water although they say it's safe, from a spring out of the mountain.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jophielangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saleapaga
3.7 mi away
Litia Sini Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#3 of 29 in Apia
220 reviews
22.2 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Manusina Beach Fales
Manusina Beach Fales
#1 of 1 in Saleapaga
131 reviews
3.6 mi away
Taufua Beach Fales
Taufua Beach Fales
#1 of 2 in Lalomanu
471 reviews
6.4 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faofao Beach Fales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faofao Beach Fales

Address: Main South Coast Rd | Private Bag, Saleapaga, Upolu 000, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Saleapaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saleapaga
Price Range: $52 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Faofao Beach Fales 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are having 18 beach fales directly at the beach - you could easily go for a swim after waking up - and 12 ensuite rooms with basic facilities. We are also offering a breakfast and traditional samoan food for dinner. Once a week we are having a show called Fiafia which includes some of the most famous polynesian dances including the impressive firedance. On request we will arrange a bonfire at night for your amusement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Faofao Beach Fales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faofao Beach Fales Hotel Saleapaga
Faofao Beach Fales Samoa/Saleapaga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing