We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Great Program

From the very start, the program staff was helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. Clear directions to... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Barbara B
Mind expanding

This is a low-key trip with a real astronomer in a real observatory. The dinner's fun to eat. The... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
handsacross
,
Tucson
Read all 254 reviews
  
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveler rating
227
18
5
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
227
18
5
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews adam block inch telescope star clusters new moon hand warmers kitt peak celestial bodies guide travis winter clothing warm room light years dress warm rare opportunity viewing experience clear sky solar system clear night
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I visited this past weekend, and we were blown away by how knowledgeable our guide Travis was! The tour was very interactive and informative, as we learned a ton about star clusters, planets, nebula and so much more! Th sky is so amazingly clear in that area, like thing we would ever see at home. The scenery on the drive up and the sunset view were also amazing. Very unique experience I will never forget!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank SVarjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2019

My family and I visited and were thoroughly impressed. Our hosts Travis and Tracie were very fun, friendly an super knowledgeable. The night ran smoothly from viewing the sun with filters, to sunset viewing, to seeing various parts of the universe through the 32" telescope. We say all kinds of interesting things, nebulae, stars, galaxies and more and all the while Travis was explaining things and joking it up with the crowd. That night was very cold, but were able to warm up in the "warm room" which helped a lot. A must see in Tucson!

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank CandyKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2019

The SkyCenter observatory offers small groups (up to 20) individuals the opportunity enjoy personal viewing - through the eyepiece of the Schulman 32 inch telescope - of celestial bodies way beyond our solar system.

The evening starts with the group convening at the gates to the observatory property and a van ride to the observatories. After a quick outside tour and history lesson, we moved indoors for a light meal buffet and a brief presentation by two of the Astronomers. As the sun set, we observed the prism-like spectrum of colors along the horizon. We they proceeded into the observatory containing the Schulman 32 inch telescope.

The astronomers explained the mechanics of the observatory then shared a personal viewing experience of Mars, a collapsing star, and a nebula while also narrating a view of several constellations.

We had a good mix of young families and retirees, yielding some great Q & A periods.

We'd sure recommend this tour to young and old alike! Reservations are required and can quickly fill up.

Date of experience: March 2019
2  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2019 via mobile

Kudos to Vanessa, Tracie and Travis for being excellent hosts, a well prepared buffet dinner (yes, not just a sandwich box), and your friendly, helpful guidance, interpretations and learned answers. We have been to Kitt Peak and Mauna Kea, and by far the 32” and 24” offer the best deep field detailed viewing we have seen. Being there on a new moon, with a clear sky break in the weather following heavy snowfall was a great score, and really cool experience. The vista and view alone is worth the trip, not to mention the stargazing program and fun, passionate guides.

Date of experience: January 2019
3  Thank HOUBONN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2018

My wife and I were entertaining a group of old friends here in Tucson. Just the drive up Mt. Lemmon is beautiful, but when I found out about the SkyCenter it seemed like a great outing for the 13 of us. I was able to book a private group session which could have accommodated 16 people. It was the highlight of our week together. Tracey, our astronomer/guide, was fantastic. She was so knowledgeable and had a wonderful way of communicating it to our group. The light supper provided was tasty and the facilities were great. Tracey really worked hard to find special sights to look at. A couple times, some low clouds swept in and she quickly adjusted to find something in a different part of the sky. It really was a fantastic late afternoon and evening on top of the mountain. Word of warning though, it does truly get cold on top of a 9,150' mountain. Listen to their warnings and be prepared with layers, gloves, and hats. They did have a warming room in the telescope dome if you wanted or needed a little break.

Date of experience: October 2018
5  Thank oilguy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews