We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE LOVE LOVE”
Review of Taufua Beach Fales

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Taufua Beach Fales
Certificate of Excellence
Vava'u Islands, Tonga
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“LOVE LOVE LOVE”
Reviewed January 20, 2011

No words can describe how wonderful my stay , the food was excellent , the beach heavenly , good on the Taufua family for bouncing back from such devastation after the tsunami !

Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank seganaleqafiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    121
    33
    10
    19
See reviews for
90
157
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

There is a peaceful and welcome feeling that comes over you as you enter the home straight driving into Taufua Beach. This is confirmed when you arrive at the main fale where the day to day operations are conducted. It is an open fale with a restaurant and bar. There is always a cold drink available and all the foods are cooked fresh on request. The food is something that is of notably better quality and value for money than a lot of the other places where I've eaten or dined. The staff are friendly, helpful and there is good sense of humor amongst them all. The owner and management team have a relaxed manner in which they operate. However the first thing you realy want is to get yourself snorkels (available to hire) and get in the water. There is plenty of room on the beach to lay about reading or simply rest. The FIAFIA NIGHTS are also a must. You get to see the FIRE DANCE, a whole lot of other traditional dances and songs

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeMulitalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

I stayed at Taufua Beach Fales for two weeks in an open beach front fale. My friend and I absolutely loved the location. Lalomanu Beach is one of the most beautiful beaches in the world and has a protected lagoon area that is great for snorkeling. The fales are basic, but new and clean. I would not recommend staying in the open fales for prolonged stays. The strong wind and occasional rain at night can make it difficult to sleep at times. If I return (which I plan to), I would stay in an open fale for a few days then move to one of the closed fales to ensure I enjoyed a restful vacation. The food was generally good with plenty to go around. Lunches on Sunday should not be missed! They served whole roast pork, at times lobster, and many other local dishes. Like I said previously, the location makes this place one of a kind.

Here are full resolution pictures from our trip:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/pflum21/sets/72157624459072153/

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pflum21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

We stayed here for a week in August and had an amazing time. We booked into one of the beach front fales, which is right on the sand only a few meters from the sea. The rooms are basic with just a matress and a light, but that is all you need.
We got breakfast and dinner included, which consisted of all the guests sitting down to eat, whist the waiters bring out a huge mix of food.
You are far away from any real shops or bars/restaurants, but there is two village shops about a 5to10 minute walk in ether direction from the resort and they have a bar stocked of snacks, beer and water and have a lunch time menu. Being far away from the bigger towns the prices aren't inflated. I think a bottle of beer was about 6to7 tala.
The family are great and extremly welcoming
The journey from the airport is a long one (but worth it), it is about 2hours and can cost about 150to200 tala.
They are also trying to build up their collections of flags again, so bringing one would go down well with the family.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mizarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2010

My partner and I travelled with 7 other friends to celebrate a special occasion. The beach is beautiful. The fales are cute. The staff/family who run Taufua are friendly and helpful. The food was plentiful (good quality home cooking). We spent our days swimming, snoozing, eating, lying in the sun/shade, reading, drinking and swimming some more. Perfect holiday.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaInWelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

We stayed in a beach fale with our children, 9 and 3. The fale, essentially like a wooden verandah with a fence around it, was right on the sand. Around the sides were plastic canvas blinds that could be rolled up and down offering simple but effective privacy and protection from odd rainy spells. At the bottom of the steps, they had put a basin for rinsing sandy feet, which was great. The kids slept better than the adults at night (we could have benefited from slightly thicker mats) but there are worse things than lying awake listening to the surf and I loved stacking the mattresses up during the day and reading (aka dozing!) overlooking the beach. With two double mattresses down at night the fale was a little crowded with gear for a family of four, so we kept quite a bit in the car. Lalomanu beach was truly sensational, white sand and crystal clear, turquoise water, which had safe but interesting surf, and snorkelling just off the beach. The price included excellent breakfast and dinner meals, which were eaten around a big table. Both meals were an interesting selection of good, home-cooked food. The variety could seem a little strange, but there was something there to appeal to everyone. At lunchtime, we took another traveller's tip and tried out Wena Fales next door, which did very nice, well-priced lunches. The people running Taufua were relaxed and friendly. They were good with the kids: one day Mika brought in a bit of flax and had an impromptu session teaching them how to weave some stuff. We all enjoyed the fia fia nights, with fire dancing, which were simple and not touristy. The Taufua crew were hospitable with a mixture of guests, including backpacking singles and families. Our facilities were shared, kind of like at a campground, and were across the road. They were pretty basic and at least one of the four women's showers was out of action. However, it wasn't too crowded, so we only had to wait a couple of times. I liked how there were hooks by the outside of the shower to hang stuff as other places we went didn't have that. The bathrooms were cleaned every morning. Taufua Beach Fales took me out of my comfort zone to a really cool place. It was sobering to still see so much evidence of tsunami damage in the area and really humbling to experience the hope and courage of the Taufua family, who have rebuilt this wonderful place from total devastation just a year earlier. We all had a fantastic stay there and met some really cool people.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaisySelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

I can't recommend this place enough. The people and the culture make this experience the best. You feel like part of the family - with the Taufua family being so welcoming.
This was my second visit and they all recognised me from my first visit and some even remembered my name.
The beach and water is stunning. You can just play in the water, snorkel or even go on a turtle tour.
Dinner and breakfast are a load of fun, as you all eat together which helps you meet new people. Wed & Saturday nights is fia fia night - which is their traditional dances. Usually a few drinks and some sing alongs happen after this (well most nights)
As I said, I can't recommend this enough!
If you are abit of a princess who can't deal with cold showers, sleeping on a mattress in a hut and wants everything to go to plan - don't bother.
It's an amazing place... I promise you will want to go back!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkiniknik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lalomanu
0.1 mi away
Litia Sini Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#5 of 30 in Apia
199 reviews
25.3 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
364 reviews
31.4 mi away
Sa'Moana Resort
Sa'Moana Resort
#9 of 30 in Apia
204 reviews
3.8 mi away
Manusina Beach Fales
Manusina Beach Fales
#1 of 1 in Saleapaga
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taufua Beach Fales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taufua Beach Fales

Property: Taufua Beach Fales
Address: Main South Coast Road | Aleipata, Lalomanu, Upolu, Samoa
Phone Number:
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Lalomanu
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lalomanu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Taufua Beach Fales 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist service provider of accommodation, bar & restaurant. Tours on or off the island are arranged on the premises. About 1 and 1/2 hour by vehicle from the International Airport. We operate in 2 locations: 1) On the beach of Lalomanu; and 2) on the cliffs of Lalomanu overlooking the beach and the Pacific Ocean along with Islands off the beach of Lalomanu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Taufua Beach Fales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taufua Beach Fales Hotel Lalomanu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing