We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taufua Beach Fales
Nearby Hotels
Aga Reef Resort(Saleapaga)
$233
$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$189
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Insel Fehmarn Hotel(Apia)(Great Value!)
$65
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$300
$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samoan Outrigger Hotel(Apia)(Great Value!)
$54
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveler rating
271
131
39
14
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
131
39
14
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopen falebreakfast and dinnerbeautiful beachlong tabletaufua familybeach faleother guestsfia fia nightlobstermosquito netcommunal stylebeach frontthe water is crystal cleartraditional samoansound of the wavesthe water's edgeshared bathroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 475 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We only stayed here the one night as a result of not booking enough nights at the beach fales next door but I would definitely recommend it if only for the friendly, welcoming atmosphere. The fales are very basic but clean. Important tip: make sure you bring a bath towel as well as a beach towel as they aren't provided. The food is great and the staff are happy to pull up a chair and have a chat with you. The communal dining set up throws you together will other travellers and contributes to the family atmosphere. They are very proactive at promoting the sights and activities on the island and provide transport at a very reasonable cost if you don't have a rental car. More luxury and privacy at the beach fales next door, but 10 out of 10 for atmosphere and true Samoan hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kmitch2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is definetly the best place to visit in Samoa. Friendly staff make your stay a pleasure. We visited the fales with four boys and all of us loved it. Good variety of food for breakfast and dinner which is included in your rate. The place is clean and oh so close to the Ocean. At night can be a little to noisy because of the waves.
On our arrival on Sunday we were invited to join all the guests for a traditional Samoan feast which included rosted suckling pig, palusami and taro.
Fia fia night on Wed was good with the locals showing off their skills in the traditional dancing and a fire demonstration.
We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Bring some ear plugs for the open fale experience. Enclosed fales are more comfortable with innerspring matresses. Some come with bathroom.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piotr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Taufua Beach is an amazing destination for a great getaway from a busy lifestyle. Its located on the south-east of the Upolo Island of Samoa, well away from the busier towns/villages between the airport and capital Apia. ts a long drive, but well worth it! (We had a hire car for the whole time which allowed for a lot more flexibility with travel to places of interest).

We stayed in the enclosed on-suite fale, which has a very basic en-suite, proper bed, power and lighting. Friends were in the Open fales, which had better views out to the ocean, but really are very basic. Despite being basic they fit perfect with the setting and really make you feel like you are living the samoan lifestyle, we loved it, but if you are expecting posh accommodation then you may want to look elsewhere!

The staff are really friendly and helpful, always trying to make sure you are having a good time and that you feel welcome, plus they can help arrange taxis and excursions for very cheap (NZ) prices including an amazing day trip round most of the island.

Meals and the food are amazing, you get breakfast and dinner included for the price and there is always a good selection of food and amazing quality considering the location and what is available. As a note the meals are served at 9am and 7pm and everyone eats together at on large table passing different dishes of food around, which really encourages you to talk to others and helps create an amazingly friendly atmosphere. For us this was perhaps the best thing about the accommodation as no-where before have I seen this done, yet it led to making good friends and encouraged people to head off together to sites and share experiences...such a simple but great idea.

The snorkelling at the front of the resort is a mixed experience. There are a lot of diverse fish and large amounts of them, plus we were even lucky enough to swim with a turtle just 15 meters from the shore, but the coral has been badly damaged by the tsunami, so there are only small areas that are now alive and colourful (try the deep reserve in Apia for more spectacular coral). It was still a great experience and especially good to have in a safe shore location.

overall a great location, friendly staff and guests,a great base to explore the more remote areas and a true Samoan feeling...plus they gave us a gift on leaving :)

Room Tip: Enclosed fales or those on the mountain with a fan at night can be a blessing on a really hot day!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P_S_Houghton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Lalomanu is such a beautiful location, and Taufua Beach fales is where you should stay if you want to experience the real Samoa.
We stayed in an enclosed fale and were glad we booked one rather than an open fale to allow for some privacy and a private balcony...and because it rained for alot of the time we were there (May). That said, we still swam 4-5 times a day rain or shine and started each day with a dip before breakfast in the beautiful, clear, warm water.
The accomodation is basic and unless you rent one of the 2 ensuite fale you will need to use the bathroom block across the road. It's very good value for money with dinner and breakfast included. Prepaid meals are shared and you will sit with the other guess for meals, which is great if your a social person and enjoy meeting people from all over. I really liked the food but I know that if your preference in food is salad and vegetables you might not.
Lalomanu is not near anything! So make sure you have everything you need and transport if you intend to do day trips or you will need to arrange a taxi to go anywhere.
I really enjoyed living at the beach but Taufua has a reasonably vibrant night life so sometimes sleeping in the evening is not always possible but...you can always nap during the day because at Tuafua lifes a beach!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cest m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Taufua Beach Fales is the best place in Upolu, the beach in front is excellent, the fales are very confort and very clean, every wednesday and saturday there is a party after dinner, the meals are very good, the buffet is delicious, the attencion in general is good, if you want spend fanny and relax days go to Lalomanu.
The toilets need a renovation, sometimes they were a little dirty, and only is 4 showers, 4 toilets, and 1 sink, isn´t enought for all people, the internet is very expensive, is 50 SAT per hour, or 200 SAT per week, and the breakfast could include more fruit, is very dry if you like the fruits and natural juices.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria Paz U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews