We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fales in Samoa!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lalomanu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anita's Beach Bungalows
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My friend and I travelled to Samoa (Upolo) for a relaxing beach getaway and to spend time and waterfalls and To Sua Trench. We arrived to our hotel in Apia (where we originally planned to stay our whole trip) then quickly realised how far away the nice beaches were. We checked out and headed to lalomanu to find any accommodation available. Anita's had availability luckily so we booked a night there but I soon realised I have forgotten my passport and all my money at the hotel in Apia. Tautala, the owner, very kindly organised her sister to drive it to me all the way from Apia! She was so lovely and trustworthy- we ended up staying our whole trip at Anita's in the open fales right by the water.
The breakfast and dinner was amazing!! And there was always so much food we never went hungry. All the staff there was so kind and lovely to be around and the ocean was so clear, it was stunning!
To Sua Trench was only a 20 minute drive away so we ended up spending two days there as it was so close and cheap to get to. The area was exactly what we were hoping for, relaxing and not very touristy!
Tautala was so amazing, she drove us to Togitoggiga Waterfalls, into Apia and back home as we didn't have a rental car.
Being two girls sleeping in open beach fales I was very hesitant at first for the safety of our belongings and us! But after the first night we realised we had nothing to worry about. Anita's was by far the highlight of our trip. We now think of Tautala and all the staff at Anita's as our Samoan family!
When I go back to Samoa with my boyfriend we will be driving straight to Anita's!

Room Tip: It was so nice sleeping right by the ocean, but the waves get very loud during the night.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cambo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Anita's Beach Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Auntie Galu who owns and runs Anita's Beach Fales is the most lovely and good hearted lady. She provides good company and conversation and manages to make everyone feel like part of the family. The place is small - only 3 fales and a restaurant - so was perfect for quiet relaxing and is worth booking ahead. But I also managed to do a little socializing. The price was a little more expensive than some other places in Samoa - SAT$120 per night - but the view and beach is worth it and a quality breakfast and dinner is included. Dinner included lobster on some nights! The piña coladas were really good, too. It's an easy saunter to Taufua Beach Fales for Wednesday night fiafia. Anita's often holds a disco on Saturday nights with a DJ and disco lights - it ends by 12 at the latest. I will be going there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Spent the day at Anita's and loved every moment of the day... we were staying down the road in my fathers village and it was nice to get away to somewhere close down the road. It was great food, awesome views, swimming to your hearts content and great company.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank diane9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Wow!
Unlikely to meet a more lovely woman! We didn't have a place to stay,and we just passed with our bags..she called us in and made us a lovely cup of coffee! She had a big group coming that night and all her fale's were full, but she invited us to come around the evening..she told us about the tsunami and was so interesting to listen too! She was so talkative, laughed, made jokes, was so funny and lovely...amazing!
Again..lovely host! Even we couldn't stay here, it was a bless to meeting such a wonderful woman on our travels!
I reckon if you will meet her, you understand and you would love to stay around!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank feedback-and-wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed next door to Anita & Wena beach fales in July, but went to Anita's every day for ice cream and cocktails :o) Beautiful cocktails, and even cheaper during their happy hour!!

Many of the beach fale properties on Lalomanu Beach are owned and managed by the same extended family, so you might end up staying at Anita & Wena, and having your meals at Taufua!

The beach fales here are lovely. Low to the sand, absolutely right on the beach, with a clean shower and toilet block directly across the road. The beach is stunning, as you can see from my pics.

Aunty is a wonderful hostess and will regale you with tales of the old days, walking over the hills to catch the bus, and of her childhood in the village. She splits her time now between Australia and Samoa, so if you are lucky enough to catch her in Samoa, do have a good chat to her over a cold Vailima (beer)!

Anita & Wena used to be managed by the wonderful Anita; Aunty's daughter. Sadly Anita lost her life in the 2009 tsunami, but the property has been rebuilt in her memory :o) She was a very special lady.

Often this property's fales are used as day fales only, as many of the locals from Apia come to Lalomanu Beach for huge family picnics and BBQs. If you are travelling around the island and want to stop somewhere for the day, you can always ask if there is a day fale available.

Lalomanu Beach is a great spot for snorkelling, the coral was badly damaged by the tsunami but very very slowly it is starting to regrow. However, the water is still clean and clear, and the sand is clean and white! There is also plenty of fish life and in the early morning, you may be lucky enough to see turtles. Please always check with someone about the safest places to snorkel.

If you are staying at Anita & Wena, you are more than welcome to go to the bar at Taufua for lunches etc, and to their fiafia nights which are every Wednesday and Saturday.

Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tinzaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smskyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fabien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lalomanu
0.1 mi away
Litia Sini Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#4 of 29 in Apia
212 reviews
25.2 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Taufua Beach Fales
Taufua Beach Fales
#1 of 2 in Lalomanu
454 reviews
9.9 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
394 reviews
2.2 mi away
Faofao Beach Fales
Faofao Beach Fales
#1 of 1 in Saleapaga
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anita's Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anita's Beach Bungalows

Address: Beach Road | Lalomanu Aleipata, Lalomanu, Upolu, Samoa (Formerly Anita & Wena Beach Fales)
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Lalomanu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lalomanu
Price Range: $40 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anita's is warm and inviting - a home away from home. Find us on facebook for enquiries. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing