We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,128)
Filter reviews
1,128 results
Traveler rating
677
283
102
44
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
677
283
102
44
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach bedroom villa the general manager room service relaxing holiday ocean view great facilities buffet breakfast fia fia night close to town enjoyed my stay lovely staff nathan pools catamaran abraham samoa
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 1,128 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2018

Samoa is an amazing place. It's like being in a Bali type environment before all the tourists got there. This resort was a delightful place that I was fortunate to stay in while on a business planning trip. the staff were exceptional, rooms clean and modern. You could snorkel just off the resort beach and get a fish's eye view of lots of varieties of fish. Or laze around the three pools. Being on the end of a road, no passing traffic noise, only the joyous noises of weddings being held at the resort which didn't interfere with the general guest population. Every night there was some form of energetic entertainment. Beware the beer night..... the local drop is really nice and two for one is a good recipe for a sore head.
A great place as a launching pad for many other island sights and activities

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank noakey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taumeasina, General Manager at Taumeasina Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Talofa Lava

Thank you for spending the time to review your stay with us

We are very glad that you enjoyed your time with us,and that we were able to exceed your expectations

We hope to welcome you back again one day soon, to our tropical island, just outside Apia

There are a couple of choices of local beer - and you are correct the happy hour price or the 2 for 1, can if result in a sore head the next day :)

Warmest Regards and Alofas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2018 via mobile

We spent 10 days at Taumeasina Island Resort in the July school holidays.

First the good points:

The resort is beautiful, on a private island just outside of Apia. The surrounding lagoon is very clear and there is a private beach where you can snorkel, sail or kayak. The pool area is well laid out with different pools and a mix of chairs, loungers and day beds. There are two restaurants plus a bar which also serves food. See my other reviews for the restaurants.

We had to move rooms (more on why below), so got to see the standard Ocean view King hotel rooms and the interconnected ocean view King and Twin. All the king rooms had a similar layout, with a closet and tea/coffee facilities in the entry hall, a counter/desk forms the headboard to the king bed, which faces towards the large window. There’s a TV on the wall which has local channels and satellite (sky tv). The bathroom is well appointed, fully tiled with a rain shower and handheld shower. There’s a couple of waffle robes in the closet and large umbrellas for use while you stay. The twin rooms have two double beds, which seems to be a bit of a tight squeeze for the size of the room. The interconnected king room is quite a bit larger than the standard king room. It would be nice to have a comfy chair in the room to sit on. The desk has a couple of hard plastic chairs and the only other place to site is the bed. All the rooms had a patio or balcony with wicker chairs outside.

Now to the experience, which wasn’t great. Our first room assignment was 408, which is just outside the bar. There is no soundproofing on the rooms and no door seals to reduce noise. The bar noise was unbearable and continued until around 2am for both the first two nights. After he second night we asked to move rooms, and were assured we could do so the next day.

We went and bought some earplugs to get some sleep. The next day we were informed that as other guests also had to move that day we couldn’t shift until Monday. It seemed that the hotel had oversold their twin rooms (we had booked a double and twin but initially had two double rooms). Other guests had told the same thing. By my calculations there are only 20 twin rooms available and clearly they didn’t have enough to accommodate everyone who had booked them on the day we arrived. For the price of this resort, the experience was not worth the money.

The staff were generally very friendly and helpful. However I felt that the management does not have a good handle on bookings and noise control. I also suspect the kitchen was responsible for us all having diarrhoea and vomiting from our second day for most of our holiday.

Finally, don’t pay for laundry! Take your clothes in a taxi to a local laundrette. The hotel charge $50 tala per bag (even for a small bag).

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Kiwiana13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taumeasina, General Manager at Taumeasina Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Talofa Lava

Thank you for spending the time to review your stay with us
We appreciate your feedback, and it has been shared with all members of the management team.
Entertainment in the bar finished at 11pm every night.


Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2018

We had a fantastic family holiday staying at this resort. Pool area was great and it was lovely to be able to swim at the beach. You do have to get in early to get a chair by the pool though. Staff were very friendly. Parking is an issue if there is a function on and you leave the resort for a meal in town. The overflow car park is a bit of a stroll.

Room tip: Great to have a balcony but not if rooms around you have smokers.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jacinta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taumeasina, General Manager at Taumeasina Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Talofa lava Jacinta S

Thank you for spending the time to review your stay with us

We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us, we have implemented vehicle passes to ensure that all of our in house guests are ensured parking

We hope that you are able to return and visit us again one day soon

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

Lovely modern resort, close to Apia town. Clean, modern rooms, execellent pool facilities. Restaurants/bar good. Would highly recommend as a family holiday destination, couples retreat or quality business stopover. Nice outlook over ocean and towards port. I would return here

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank U6763VXmelissac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taumeasina, General Manager at Taumeasina Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Talofa Lava U6763VXmelissac

Thank you for spending the time to review your stay with us.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your time with us, and we hope to welcome you back again soon, whether it be for a family holiday or for a business stopover

Fa'afetai tele lava

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2018

This hotel was great, I loved everything about it, they had great food, nice rooms, amazing pools, a great beach, and beautiful views sunrise and sunset. I highly recommend going to this hotel if you plan on staying in Samoa

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank owentheamazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taumeasina, General Manager at Taumeasina Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Talofa Lava owentheamazing

Thank you for spending the time to review your stay with us, and your excellent recommendation

Look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews