We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every dollar and more...”
Review of Le Alaimoana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Alaimoana Hotel
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Apia
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I would recommend Le Alaimoana Hotel to anyone who is looking to save a little yet receive a culture-wrapped luxurious experience only 5 minutes walk from town. I stayed there with my partner and 10 month old son and we could not find fault in the service or hospitality. breakfast's are second to non and the dinner menu is a fine reflection of pasefika cuisine. Le Alaimoana is that perfect place you'd want to return to when you've had an action packed day of sun, surf and sight seeing. We would definately return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taineblue, Owner at Le Alaimoana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Talofa Chris T,
I'm glad you and your family had a good time with us, and enjoyed Samoa. Thank you for taking the time to respond about us. Its always good to know that we are meeting the needs of our guests and that our staff is helpful and friendly.
Yes we are currently using options of Samoan cooking in our menu so your feedback is helpful - we can't have you leave our shores without tasking taro and palusami, or our fresh Oka. Smoked fish and chicken we have also introduced recently so I hope you did try some when you ere here.
Till you next return,
Alofa from all at Le Alaimoana hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 106 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

Great staff. Clean reasonably spacious rooms. You can walk most places form here. Or get a cheap taxi just down the road. Yummy evening meals provided if you want to stay in. Breakfast is ordinary but sufficient. Good to have internet- but it is expensive. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taineblue, Owner at Le Alaimoana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Talofa Heidi9575,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for Le Alaimoana. We really appreciate it.

We are pleased that you were comfortable staying with us, and that you enjoyed the small gestures that we extend to our guests!
I will pass on your comments to our staff, it will give them a buzz tomorrow.

Yes my tomato relish has been a big hit in the kitchen, will try some other recipes soon.

Faafetai tele for your feedback,

Alofa atu,

Mara Hunter
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Le Alaimoana Hotel provided friendly and comfortable motel-type accommodation in Apia.
Located at an easy walk to the harbour and shops it was an air conditioned retreat at the end of the day. Breakfast included in the rate and the availability of dinner made this accommodation a convenient, no fuss place to stay.

Dorfor

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taineblue, Owner at Le Alaimoana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Talofa Dofor, Thanks for the positive response about Le Alaimoana Hotel. I hope your trip was fruitful business wise and that you will look us up next time you travel to our shores.
from Sunny Samoa,
Mara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is a basic hotel at best. But compared to others in Apia it isn't too bad. I was going to give this hotel only a 3 star rating, but the helpful and friendly staff convinced me to give it 4 stars.
The rooms are basic, but clean, however I found them a bit noisy. My room was across the patio from the reception, and with Apia having so many flights that leave / arrive during night hours, I found myself woken by the noise of people checking in at all hours.
The staff were superb. We checked in at 3am and believe it or not we felt like a beer so the staff opened the bar for us. We wouldn't see this happen in too many places!
This hotel is a little way away form the centre of Apia however is an easy walk to the harbor front.
The negatives were the wireless internet. It was far too expensive and not reliable. But this seemed to be the problem everywhere in Samoa.
Don't change money at the hotel. Sure I know hotels never offer the best rates, but this hotel was charging a 20% commission.
I also found the complimentary breakfast a but ordinary. Most mornings I walked down to a restaurant called Portofino on the marina and has an excellent breakfast.
All in all it wasn't a bad place to stay. Next time I find myself in Apia I will probably try somewhere else, but if Le Alaimoana is where I find myself I won't be too disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front or at the back of the hotel. If you are in the centre you will have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJMAUNDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed in the Le Alaimoana Hotel early this year and absolutely LOVED it... we were taken care of and the staff were very helpful and sooo friendly...makes a big difference when staff greet you with a smile ..... I stayed there with my three boys and they didn't want to leave..... will definitely stay there again when travelling to the homeland again.... Highly recommend A++++++

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3Rugratz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Leaving Le Alaimoana was like leaving home; we had such a magical time there. The staff are wonderful and welcoming, the rooms clean and comfortable and the grounds gorgeous. Every day began with a delectable complimentary breakfast, enjoyed in a tropical garden beside a pool. The hotel is located an easy walk from Apia, with its colourful markets crammed with locally-made clothes and handicrafts—close enough to the action but far enough for peace and tranquility. There’s a marine reserve a few minutes walk away, where you can swim and snorkel in a placid lagoon. If you want to go jogging there’s a large park next door with a full-sized track and arena. We did much of our own cooking and a sprinkling of small shops, and a vegetable stand, provided for most of our needs—along with some visits to Apia’s fabulous fish market. Just across the way is a taxi stand. That’s where we discovered Leo, an obliging and knowledgeable driver who showed us around his beautiful island. My wife and I want to return to Upolu. When we do, it will be to stay with our second family at the lovely Le Alaimoana.
Period of stay Feb. 23-29 and March 9, 2012
Chris McGowan

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. We chose the first floor, where we could sit on the balcony in the evening a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

clean rooms and of coarse helpful staff. you will have a complimentary breakfast every morning of fresh fruits, porridge and more.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelbabe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apia hotels
2.0 mi away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
1.0 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
1.8 mi away
Le Manumea Hotel
Le Manumea Hotel
#9 of 29 in Apia
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
4.2 mi away
Samoa Tradition Resort
2.0 mi away
Amanaki Hotel
Amanaki Hotel
#5 of 29 in Apia
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Alaimoana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Alaimoana Hotel

Address: Main East Coast Rd, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Apia
Price Range: $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Alaimoana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean spacious and convenient to town and just around the corner to beaches and the CBD of Apia. Exotic garden with beautiful flowers to greet you each day. Our staff are friendly, helpful and responsive to any requirements.Our rooms are immaculate with a choice of standard, or with kitchen and dining area for guests who wish to cook their own meals. Tours are available by request for minimal of 4 guests at a time. Wireless Internet available on a prepaid time basis. Printing and business services available at all times with front office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Le Alaimoana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Alaimoana Hotel Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing