We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss staying here!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Litia Sini Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Litia Sini Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Gisborne, Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss staying here!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed here and were extremely happy with all aspects of our stay. Food was great, staff very friendly and Lydia and Joe awesome. Nothing was ever a problem with our stay and they went the extra mile to help with hiring a car, which attractions to see, and any general questions. The fales were just perfect and great value for money. We stayed in the front fale and was definitely worth the extra with uninterrupted views of the water. Don't miss staying here as you won't be disappointed. Visit the island just down the road. Great for a day trip or stay as long as you like. Just a short trip over by dingy and the snorkelling is really awesome. The coral still intact after the tsunami. We had a very delicious lunch and the local family that run it are so friendly. We will definitely be back !!

Room Tip: Front fales as the views are just awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcia22014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    136
    21
    9
    2
See reviews for
99
155
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is a great place. The beach is beautiful and the water gorgeous - clear, warm and in a nice reef. The fales are also of a high standard as far as fale accommodation goes - we have stayed in the rustic fales and these ones are really quite luxurious in comparison - comfy beds, lots of room, tables for things to go on etc. They are also serviced every day with clean towels etc which is lovely. The beachfront fales really are worth the extra if you can afford it because you get an uninterrupted view of the sea, reef and beach and a fantastic balcony from which to see it all. Yes, these fales are more expensive than Taufua next door (and the people at Taufua seemed lovely too) but unless you are a budget traveller I think you'll be pleased you chose the nicer ones - we had a few windy/showery patches while we were staying and having built walls around you and a bigger space to hang out in when the showers came was a blessing. Bathrooms are fine, clean and as others have said erratic water supply although I only had one instance in about a week when there was no water. The food was fabulous for the price - not swanky hotel style but good home cooked food, plenty of it, delicious salads with fresh ingredients and lots of fresh fish which was divine - sashimi, tuna steaks, marinated fish. Lots of choice for breakfast and food suits adults/children and even enough variety for vegetarians. If you need lunch also give Taufua restaurant next door a go - the food there was very generous and basic but tasty. The staff at Litia Sini were amazon - friendly, helpful and relaxed (Lydia the manager is more distant and not so friendly). I recommend getting a car unless you really want to do a lot of sitting on beach. There are lots of things to see around the island and many of them are a good hours drive away. I heard other guests say that they were given rides to Sua trench (about 20 mins away by car) etc but we get a bit restless and used the car a lot to explore the island. Apia is about an hour away, the airport about two (and the dive shop is up there too if you want to scuba dive) and there are lots of other great spots around the island to see. The snorkeling at Lolamanu is enough to give you something to do while you swim but nothing amazing (although one lucky guest saw a turtle n the reef). The coral is coming back after the Tsunami very slowly and there are fish out there but not that many. There is a quite a current inside the reef especially when the tide is going out - the channel for water flow out of the reef is quite close to shore so watch you kids if they are not strong swimmers - it's fine, but just something to be aware of. The current is actually less strong further out towards the reef so don't be scared to swim right out to reef if you want to snorkel. All in all, this place is highly recommended and we'll return.

Room Tip: Beachfront if possible although others are lovely, doesn't really matter which one, noise from d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBbonjour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Our family of 2 adults and 2 kids stayed here for 4 days and had an awesome time. There was something for everyone and was close enough to the surfing breaks for the surfers in our family to be happy as well -a 20 minute drive away. The beachfront fale was perfect for us and we spent a lot of time on the deck!
Breakfast and dinner were fine but lunches were awesome. I was a bit put off by the scramble for dinner when it was served buffet style but there was always plenty for everyone.
The bathrooms were very clean and the water issue didn't bother us.
Will definitely come back again. Thankyou!

Room Tip: Beach front is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOrganicMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We arrived late in the pitch black and woke to the most beautiful beach right outside the door. The long drive to Lalolamanu was amazing. All the villages fales lit up - dogs and people wandering about the place. Its a good time to chat to the local driver who had all the info on the culture and the level of excitement building ahead of the All Blacks planned trip.
Breakfast is different to home but was superb - everyday is different. The fresh fish on the lunch menu is awesome - sashimi and poke my recommendations. Dinner is simple 'homestyle' cooking and more than adequate. We had a vegetarian staying and she was well catered for - guess she told them of her needs when she booked.
The fales are very clean comfortable and airy. A fan and mosquito net make the nights bearable. The 'boys' clean the fales every morning and you get a fresh fluffy towel - they love a chat and are happy to answer all your questions. Beach front is really the way to go.
Take coffee and a plunger and you can use the jug in the dinning room to fill it up and then sit on your deck - watch the fish for dinner arrive, the local 5 a side team playing hard and the odd canoe paddle by. The weather wasn't great while we were there but this didn't matter the water was warm no matter what! We took a few walks, one to the village back up on the hill and a number of guests went to church - the singing is amazing. Lots of dogs wander about but seem to cause no problems. Everyone was friendly and wonderfully laid back.
As for the shower - the shared facility is fine - its clean and sure water pressure was not the best at times but as Joseph explained they supply water to villages without it since the tsunami so they turn the pump on mainly during busy times and if you need water at another time just ask. In fact just ask or tell them about any issues or questions you may have - we found them low key but extremely hospitable and full of info and solutions if you asked. Trudy and Souli were great n the dinning room and bar and we enjoyed lots of laughs and conversation with them and the other guests.
Litia Sini is a fabulous family run resort and we were lucky to have discovered it.
Thanks for sharing your culture Lydia and Joseph!

Room Tip: Beach front - you can see the lagoon from your bed - Choose any from the 2nd fale past the dining ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KayTurner61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
151 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We wanted beach time and that's what we got. Having booked a second row fale we upgraded to the sea view and what a difference - well worth that extra. While the weather was changeable we still got swimming every day. The vista was always changing as the mood of the weather changed. While there are many dogs in the area none were aggressive towards us and one young pup became our friend and walked with us. The breakfast/dinner meal package here is sufficient that lunch is unnecessary. The meals are a mix of Samoan and American influence. The resort attracts a mix of age groups and the communal eating area does throw you together in a harmonious way. Enjoy a game of pool in the evening. Lovely staff. We did the stay using the resort's transfers, others had a car although that can be dead money as some days you stay, sit, relax and nap.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holdenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

I was really disappointed at litia sini and this was really due to the owners. Every transaction had an overpriced cash tag attached. They couldn't resist cashing in on a local taxi ride to tu su trench. The location is stunning and staff were lovely. It's clean but again very basic for the rates. I felt like I was in a camp site at times. The food was amazing and freshly caught every day. Overall it just didn't offer that samoan warmth I was expecting.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catriona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LitiaSini, Owner at Litia Sini Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Litia Sini Beach Resort.

We were very sad to hear your stay did not meet expectations. Out of interest, did you check our website beforehand? We try to be very clear about all inclusions and prices – but perhaps this information is not as obvious as it could be? http://www.litiasinibeach.ws/samoa/rates-deals-packages/

We have considered including more activity and transfer information online and in our brochure, but prices do change from season to season so it can be difficult. We always endeavour to provide detailed pricing information during the email/booking process however.

We are very sorry you did not feel the Samoan warmth during your stay, but welcome your feedback so that we can continue to improve the guest experience.

Kindest regards,

Lydia and the Litia Sini team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed here for five nights on the recommendation of our travel agent. It is a bit of drive and in the dark it makes it even more difficult as there is stock and people wandering on the roads at night. However worth it when you get there. We arrived at 9pm after dinner had closed for the night but Lydia rallied the kitchen staff into action and after a long flight and 2 hr drive it was just the tonic. We instantly felt welcome and settled in straight away.
We have two girls 7 & 9 who had an absolute ball in the sea. We felt relaxed enough after the first two days to sit on our ocean front deck and watch then playing in the surf and even let them snorkel without us if they stayed close by. The snorkelling is great for family fun. Lots of interesting fish, coral and sea life.
The position is fantastic with lovely sea breezes through the fale windows and a beautiful big night sky to gaze at.
The beds were really comfortable and the girls loved the idea of sleeping under the practical mosquito nets.
The food price included breakfast and dinner and we found the food to be varied and really nice. Truly who runs the dining room is a lovely girl, always ready to help, as is Sulie the barman. It would have been nice to see more of Lydia (the owner) in the bar and restaurant mixing with the quests but she seemed happier to stay put in the office all the time. A shame as I had a quick chat with her when we checked out and she had a lot of knowledge and tips of the area that would have been good to know when we were there.
As mentioned in nearly everybody else's reviews there is a problem with the showers in the shared bathroom blocks. The water is always cold and mostly non existant particularly in the 5- 6.30 time frame when everyone is showering up to get to dinner by 6.30. It didn't bother us too much but was the only thing that made us happy to leave. After 5 days we were ready for a hot shower to wash all that sunscreen off.
We will absolutely go back for another visit. This side of the island is the place to be on Upolo.

Room Tip: You must get beach front fales for the view and breeze or you will feel cheated
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sportsbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
2.1 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#5 of 31 in Apia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
25.3 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
25.9 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa
25.7 mi away
Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
31.5 mi away
Sa'Moana Resort
Sa'Moana Resort
#11 of 31 in Apia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Litia Sini Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Litia Sini Beach Resort

Property: Litia Sini Beach Resort
Address: Lalomanu Beach | P.O. Box 2795, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Apia
#4 Family Hotel in Apia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Litia Sini Beach Resort (fales) are located on the South Coast of Upolu Island where the white sand beach and lagoon in Lalomanu village really does look like the travel brochure. Litia's beach is most popular for snorkeling, scuba diving and other water activities in the clear blue waters of Lalomanu. The natural beauty of ocean views and swaying palms makes Litia's beach resort a paradise to relax and re-energize the tired mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Litia Sini Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Litia Sini Beach Hotel Apia
Litia Sini Beach Lalomanu
Litia Sini Beach Resort Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing