We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in simple accommodation on a stunning beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Litia Sini Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a great stay at Litia Sini's over easter 2013. Their fales are in an amazing location on one of Samoa's best beaches - which was one of the highlights of the stay. Stunningly clear waters and clean white sand with beautiful views. The fales are simple and clean - with mosquito nets and ceiling fans (both of which were very much needed!). The shared toilet and shower facilities are in blocks at the back (2 toilets and 2 showers in each of the 2 blocks) and were kept very clean and as free of sand as possible. Showers are cold water only which was fine considering the heat. My only recommendation is they need to replace the shower curtains and the shower heads (shower heads were very old and didn't direct water very well making it a bit hard to wash your hair). The staff in the restaurant were lovely and friendly and helpful. Mole made a huge effort to remember everyone's names and greet you by name every time she saw you! Breakfast and dinner are simple but nice and are included in the price - breakfast is usually some fruit (coconut / papaya / orange etc) and eggs made in a different style each day with rather dry crumbly toast, tea and coffee. Dinners change every night - usually soup as a starter and then fish / chicken dishes with rice. They make a lot of effort to provide variety and go over and above to cater to people who are vegetarian or have other special dietary requirements. Only advice is to be in the restaurant on time for meals - breakfast is served from 8.30-9.30am and dinner from 6.30 to 7.30pm . If you're not there when the food is put out you can miss out as everyone serves themselves (or overserves themselves as is often the case). Good bar with cocktails and the local Vailima beer. You can hire snorkelling gear from the office.
The only thing I would flag is that Lalomanu Beach is on the opposite side of Upolu island from the airport. We didn't realise quite how far away it was - and it can take 1 1/2 to 2 hours drive to get there from the airport. Airport pick-up is not free and it can cost up to 180 tala to get to the resort via taxi or minibus (at time of travel this was equivalent to AU$75). Hiring a car is a much better option and you can get cars quite cheaply. However there are no petrol stations on the south side of the island so you need to drive into Apia (1 to 1 1/2 hours away) to fill up. You can rent cars from the airport or Apia. Lydia at Litia Sini can also organise a rental through a local company which is much cheaper - but you will need to go into Apia to collect it or if you want one dropped off or picked up from where you are staying they charge about 120 tala fee. You can easily get around the island by bus but the drive from Litia Sini to Apia can take up to four hours!
Overall I would recommend Litia Sini's - stunning location and lovely simple accommodation with friendly service. Keep in mind it is simple accommodation and gives a good flavour of local life vs. being in a high class resort. And don't forget Samoa is still recovering from the 2009 tsunami so a lot of coral off the beaches is still devastated.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 400 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

This resort is fully rebuilt after the Tsunami of Sept 2009..

The journey to the resort is about 2 hours from the Airport.

Their are 16 units which are made up of 8 absolute beach front and 8 set behind them with views of the ocean as well.

The units are very clean and have fans provided together with nets for the mossies.

The beach is thick sand and the sea is inviting. The coral and fish are starting to return but sadly the coral will take time.

The staff are very very friendly and the meals are of excellent quality.

Well worth staying for a week.

Room Tip: Get a beach front fale Units 1-8
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toscaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The best thing about this place is the location. It's seriously right on the beach. Right on it. And it's not just some random regular beach. It's a white sand, warm water, coral reef, lay here all day kind of beach. We seriously enjoyed walking straight from our room to the water and hung out there almost all day. There were a lot of things we enjoyed about Litia's, but a few areas where we thought there could be improvement:

1. The staff was very helpful and professional. English is more well understood here than other places in Samoa, which was a positive change. Always around to answer questions or guide you along, we appreciated their friendliness. I did, however, feel sorry for their workers, who according to them, never really get a day off.

2. The rooms were small but clean and mosquito nets were provided. Because of it's location on the beach, the rooms weren't too hot with the breeze, but air conditioning is always a nice thing. They have little water bowls to rinse the sand off your feet before entering, which makes for a less dirty room (though a wetter one). And maybe I just didn't know how to use the mosquito nets, but there seemed to be more bugs inside than out.

3. The toilet block was clean but super basic with cold water showers that didn't really pump water.

4. The meals were huge and yummy, however you're kind of forced to eat with others who are staying there at one table. This turned out to be fine and we met some nice and interesting people but sometimes you just want your own space to chat with your family without others around! The best bit was breakfasts and dinners were included in the price and a free fia fia dance was provided.

5. For swimming, relaxing and visiting local sites (like the waterfalls or ocean trench), you can't beat this location. Just make sure you have a least half a tank of fuel if you've rented a car because there's no fuel stations anywhere close to here. The cyclone took out most of the coral reef around here but there's still lots to see, so it's great for that.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrStubbs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Definitely the best place and Litiasini Beach the best resort at this part of Upolu island. Breathtaking view at the ocean , white sand, crystal clear water, coconut trees, something you remember only from the movies or postcards.
Fales are comfortable with ceiling fan and electricity sockets, cleaned and tidied every day and beds made too, by extremely friendly staff. Mosquito nets are provided but I didn't use it, as moses weren't particularly active. As a very fussy eater /no sea food and dairy products/ the chef cooked food specially for me. And yes, I stayed at this resort the whole month.Thank you Tea! There are a lot to see on this island, unfortunately the busses are unreliable and overcrowded, but very cheap. The best thing is to get a rent-car.
All in all it was the unforgettable holiday.
Lydia thank you, and all your staff for the lovely time I spent in your company.
Zoran

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zokam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place is beautiful, the staff are amazing, so warm and friendly, you leave feeling like part of the family. The beachfront site has the best beach in Samoa!!! Breakfast and supper/Dinner is supplied inclusive andl was devine, the chefs are world class. The beds are soo comfortable and you drift off to sleep everynight to the sound of the waves nearby. A very romantic spot for couples or families, will be back very soon!!! Thanks to lydia and all her wonderful family/ team. Jane C xx

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stumbled upon this great place whilst driving around the island and looking for somewhere to stay.
The was was very very welcoming, we got to stay in the beach front fale which was cozy and clean with a great view.
The food was yummy and home made by an excellent chef and the cocktails the best on the island!
The snorkeling was very interesting as the coral is regrowing again from the tsunami. We spent hours exploring!
We ended up staying two nights instead of one because it was just too nice!
It's also very close to the waterfalls and the ocean trench.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurenk85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here for two nights when first arriving in Samoa and like others chose the resort on recommendation of other 'Tripadvisors' as a high quality 'budget' accommodation, however were slightly disappointed overall. Cannot question the amazing views and scenery of the area, nor the tranquility of staying in such a secluded area, you could have been in the middle of paradise...but unfortunately it was just off the mark.

Staying in a 'budget' accommodation (although at around $AUD150-170/night it's not exactly in the budget column) you expect the basics only, however at times even this wasn't quite there. The front row fales were beautiful in location and appearance, the facilities adjoining were disappointing. The shared amenities only intermittently had running water, the toilets in particular!

The lack of 'homely' feel was quite disappointing - being sold as a 'family' atmosphere we really felt this lacked especially compared to other places we stayed in Samoa. It all seemed a little bit of hassle for them to have people hanging around and wanting to socialise with them - post dinner 'activities' were pretty much non-existent and they actually started to switch lights off and shut the bar around 8.30-9 ish each night - not really a communal feel except at the actual meal time.

In terms of food provided it was ok but nothing special - breakfast and dinner were included but lunch was an option at an additional cost - fairly expensive for what was on offer but they could do it cos there aren't many other options around the area.

Only other concern was we heard of two couples reporting missing money on the morning we were leaving. The rooms are lockable but the staff do have keys to go and clean so I'd suggest having a security backup in place - we had a car and also had bags locked at all times but given the open layout of the resort and the adjoining resorts I'd suggest to keep track of your belongings at all times. My bigger concern was their report that the staff didn't want to know about it!

As a couple of suggestions - make sure to take a beach towel as you only get one supplied (although they dry pretty quickly) . Also, it is well worth the short walk into Lalomanu to go to the local store to get your water etc, about half the price and gives you a chance to mingle with the locals.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
26.7 mi away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
25.8 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
2.1 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#4 of 29 in Apia
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
10.1 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
416 reviews
33.9 mi away
Return to Paradise Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Litia Sini Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Litia Sini Beach Resort

Address: Lalomanu Beach | P.O. Box 2795, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Apia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Apia
Price Range: $108 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Litia Sini Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Litia Sini Beach Resort (fales) are located on the South Coast of Upolu Island where the white sand beach and lagoon in Lalomanu village really does look like the travel brochure. Litia's beach is most popular for snorkeling, scuba diving and other water activities in the clear blue waters of Lalomanu. The natural beauty of ocean views and swaying palms makes Litia's beach resort a paradise to relax and re-energize the tired mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Litia Sini Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Litia Sini Beach Hotel Apia
Litia Sini Beach Lalomanu
Litia Sini Beach Resort Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing