We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach and views but the service lacks...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Litia Sini Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great beach and views but the service lacks...”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here for two nights when first arriving in Samoa and like others chose the resort on recommendation of other 'Tripadvisors' as a high quality 'budget' accommodation, however were slightly disappointed overall. Cannot question the amazing views and scenery of the area, nor the tranquility of staying in such a secluded area, you could have been in the middle of paradise...but unfortunately it was just off the mark.

Staying in a 'budget' accommodation (although at around $AUD150-170/night it's not exactly in the budget column) you expect the basics only, however at times even this wasn't quite there. The front row fales were beautiful in location and appearance, the facilities adjoining were disappointing. The shared amenities only intermittently had running water, the toilets in particular!

The lack of 'homely' feel was quite disappointing - being sold as a 'family' atmosphere we really felt this lacked especially compared to other places we stayed in Samoa. It all seemed a little bit of hassle for them to have people hanging around and wanting to socialise with them - post dinner 'activities' were pretty much non-existent and they actually started to switch lights off and shut the bar around 8.30-9 ish each night - not really a communal feel except at the actual meal time.

In terms of food provided it was ok but nothing special - breakfast and dinner were included but lunch was an option at an additional cost - fairly expensive for what was on offer but they could do it cos there aren't many other options around the area.

Only other concern was we heard of two couples reporting missing money on the morning we were leaving. The rooms are lockable but the staff do have keys to go and clean so I'd suggest having a security backup in place - we had a car and also had bags locked at all times but given the open layout of the resort and the adjoining resorts I'd suggest to keep track of your belongings at all times. My bigger concern was their report that the staff didn't want to know about it!

As a couple of suggestions - make sure to take a beach towel as you only get one supplied (although they dry pretty quickly) . Also, it is well worth the short walk into Lalomanu to go to the local store to get your water etc, about half the price and gives you a chance to mingle with the locals.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    138
    22
    11
    2
See reviews for
101
159
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Awesome place to stay, basic facilities but always kept very clean and tidy, and you really don't need any more. Amazing location - possibly the best beach on the island (Upolu), from what we saw driving around most of it.

Great friendly service and the buffet food was pretty good, and very tasty, often serving up freshly caught sushimi and many local delights. Considering the Island was still pretty devastated by Cyclone Evan, making some fresh produce a bit hard to get, the kitchen did an excellent job.

Some beautiful snorkelling right in front of the accommodation, swam with a big turtle for a while too. Water was crystal clear.

Would return again for sure.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms had the best view and a larger deck, but the rooms behind all had a nice view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ripraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu Beach, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We just spent 10 nights at Litia Sini with family and friends for my 50th birthday and we had a wonderful time! Molo really went the extra mile on my birthday and decorated our table beautifully, she even entertained us all on her own!! We had some fantastic weather but, given the season, we had our fair share of rain too although this didn't dampen our spirits at all, in fact it was quite nice just reading and playing card games in the restaurant. The food is great and plentiful and is varied every day, the bar is more than adequate with some great cocktails, some really good wines and Vailima of course! We had an ocean front fale which was great whilst our teenagers had a fale behind us (also great but I would recommend and ocean view fale if you have the option). Given that there is only one power point in the fale we found that the multi adapter that we brought with us came in very handy. The beach is beautiful and I agree with previous comments regarding the damaged coral but there is still plenty to see when snorkeling as the water is so clear. If you like your coffee I suggest that take your own plunger with you as there's only one available to borrow and you should probably take your own coffee too. You may also want to consider your own small chilly bin/bag for your fale as the staff are more than happy to freeze chiller packs for you and this did come in very handy. If there are several of you in your group I would definitely recommend pre-booking a rental car as transfers are quite pricey and the car came in very handy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Litia Sini is a gem. I stayed soon after Cyclone Evan had devastated parts of Samoa. Fortunately Litia Sini was spared this time. It meant that for the first 4 nights we had no running water or power but it really didn't matter. The beach fale was amazing, only steps to the beach. The snorkelling was very good and I even swam with a large turtle in the lagoon in front of litia Sini for an hour one day. Amazing to get sunrise and sunset over the ocean from your balcony but that's what you get here.
Only negatives were having no cereals etc for breakfast and that the pool table and bar area seemed to be not open so we went to the bar 100 meters down the sand most nights. "To Sua Trench" is a very worthwhile morning or afternoon easily accessed by taxi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rarodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and loved every minute of it! The reason I say it's not a resort is because of its set up. It has one restaurant which is served Buffett and shared bathroom facilities. The food every night was different and very delicious the bar was stocked with everything and the cocktails were amazing! The room was beautiful and white with a splash of blue, we chose the beach front room and spent afternoons with cocktails watching the sunset from our verandah! Bathroom and toilets were a short walk and were kept clean at all times, shower is cold but it's very refreshing! The beach is beautiful and your provided with a shade cloth to sleep the day away. The owners jo and Melissa are very friendly and run a great business.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammyday33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed September 2012 for 7 nights. Had thought about staying there for only a few nights and then closer to Apia for a few nights but glad we didn't. Litia Sini has it's own piece of paradise in Samoa. We stayed in a beach front fale and were glad we did. When we travel overseas we prefer to avoid luxury accommodation options as we like to experience a bit of the "real" country we are visiting. This is why we chose Litia Sini and are very happy we did. Great value for money and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Not having hot water in the abolution blocks was not an issue given the temperatures, it was actually quite refreshing. Great snorkling, we were in the water every day and night. Where else can you swim at 10pm at night and the water is still warm. Definately take your ear plugs if you are a light sleeper as the waves take a bit of getting use to while you sleep. The food menu was pretty basic but we walked away from each meal satisfied. Just make sure you get to each meal at the alloted time so you get your fill. You have to drink Valima while you are there. Great value for money beer.
We will happily return Lydia and Joseph. Thank you to you and your staff.

Room Tip: Pay the bit extra for the beach front fale-the view is amazing. Wake up and open the door to your ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Beautiful location, great beach, peaceful, lovely service from every staff member, good food and just great value for money. We were there after the cyclone, so limited water and no power, but it was still amazing!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mahea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
2.1 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#5 of 30 in Apia
202 reviews
25.8 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
25.3 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
371 reviews
31.5 mi away
Sa'Moana Resort
Sa'Moana Resort
#9 of 30 in Apia
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taufua Beach Fales
Taufua Beach Fales
#1 of 2 in Lalomanu
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Litia Sini Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Litia Sini Beach Resort

Property: Litia Sini Beach Resort
Address: Lalomanu Beach | P.O. Box 2795, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Apia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Litia Sini Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Litia Sini Beach Resort (fales) are located on the South Coast of Upolu Island where the white sand beach and lagoon in Lalomanu village really does look like the travel brochure. Litia's beach is most popular for snorkeling, scuba diving and other water activities in the clear blue waters of Lalomanu. The natural beauty of ocean views and swaying palms makes Litia's beach resort a paradise to relax and re-energize the tired mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Litia Sini Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Litia Sini Beach Hotel Apia
Litia Sini Beach Lalomanu
Litia Sini Beach Resort Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing