We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible spot to sleep a night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Litia Sini Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Incredible spot to sleep a night”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We may have been spoilt by our stay on Savai'i Lagoon Resort but I thought Litia Sini was an average place to stay on our trip in Samoa. I guess what didn't appeal to me was similar to a previous review which described the school camp feeling about the shared space.

Our plan was we had seven nights, eight days in Samoa. We spent six nights and six days on Savai'i which we have visited before and loved and then we wanted to drive around Upolu to check out what was on offer. I picked Litia Sini from other travellers reports and it's location on the island. We got off the ferry, drove to Apia for a hour or so then crossed over. The weather was fairly average until we arrived at Litia Sini where the sun was shining so we opted for a snorkel.

Once we got in the water the devastation from the tsunami (we presume) was apparent as all the coral was dead/slowly recovering and compared to our snorkeling experience at Savai'i Lagoon it was very disappointing.

Our room was small and clean and the view incredible. The deck outside was sheltered from the wind and we enjoyed spending some time reading.

Dinner is at 6.30pm and it was two courses (soup then mains) and I thought it was incredibly average. Yip I'm fussy but don't care you don't have to spend money to have quality food. We ate because we were hungry and nothing more. Everyone was friendly, but the people were a mixture of older, retired types (60%) and younger early 20's with a couple, like us, in between. We didn't hang around after and went out for a walk. The bar area definitely didn't encourage us to stay and mingle.

The next morning breakfast was served between 8.30-9.30. I ate some cornflakes and warm milk (yuck) and my partner ate some rock-hard toast and rubbery eggs before we hit the road and carried on with our drive (which coincidentally we both loved - driving around the coast back towards Apia was beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed it).

Our overall impression was one night was lovely but we probably wouldn't return. It was expensive for a 'low budget' option and not good value if you compared to Savai'i Lagoon Resort but their was nothing offensive about staying at Litia Sini just not us.

Room Tip: From my perspective the sea view is why you'd stay here so you might as well spend the extra mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kiwicossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    138
    24
    11
    2
See reviews for
101
162
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We just spent five days at this lovely, low key, family run "resort" and loved it. The fales are quaint and cute and clean-all you need; the beachfront view spectacular; the breezes refreshing and balmy; the water gorgeous; the sand white/golden and soft; and our hosts delightful and friendly. I agree with everything a previous reviewer said in the "simply the best" review-around the same time we were there. Before we went we were a little unsure about the shared facilities but they turned out to be fine, clean-and we never had to wait for either a shower or the loo, although the water pressure a little wanting a times. This was the perfect spot for a real rest and warm break from winter. The snorkling is not great, following the tsumani when everything was destroyed, however we can see the coral is starting to grow back and the tropical fish are re-gathering around that. Each year it will get better and better. We were lucky to see a pod of whales playing out beyond the reef during our stay- a great excitement. We enjoyed the meals and variety in the menus with the combination of Samoan and western flavours and foods. All in all -a special place and we will return !

Room Tip: Rooms on the beachfront the ones to go for with the spectucular views, and the breezes, but if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJaneC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponsonby, Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in Litia Sini Beach resort, which was totally wonderful. We were two couples, and stayed in neighbouring fales in the second row, 13 + 14. There were about 3 families there as well, with young children, the rest of the resort seemed to be couples of various ages travelling together.
The beach is beautiful, and the coral is growing back after the tsunami. At the moment, it does still resemble a forest that has been knocked over, but there are plenty of fish and it does still make for fun snorkelling. Bring your own beach towel if you have room in your bag - it is handy to have the extra towel to keep your bathroom one free of sand, and they do get a bit mucky over time. We brought our own snorkelling gear with us, so can't comment on what they have there. Water temperature was great - I normally get a bit cold and wear a spring suit, but I found that I didn't need it.
Food was pretty good. It's not 5 star, so don't expect it, but you won't go hungry or undernourished. Breakfast was cereal, followed by toast with something hot to put on it (baked beans, spaghetti, eggs, depending on the day), a version of pancakes (generally banana pancakes, sometimes rolled up like dumplings - great), and fruit. With coffee and tea. You might need to pick up your own juice from the store down the road if you need that. Dinner began with a soup, followed by a buffet with generaly four plates of stuff: a chicken, a fish, a red meat and another dish, one of which being a mild curry, sometimes spaghetti or lasagne, and a salad. On Fiafia night the buffet is more lush - we had sea bugs in a mornay sauce, and tuna sashimi on ours.
Fiafia night was Friday, and was good fun.
Days were very relaxed. We got up with the sun, walked on the beach, had breakfast, did some drawing, had a snorkel, lunch (bought from the restaurant), reading / nap, walk on beach / swim, dinner, after dinner drink on the deck, sleep. Very very relaxed after that!

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the row (next to the neighbouring resort) will have extra noise on their Fiafia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pusspaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have just spent 5 days in a beachfront fale on the most beautiful lagoon. We spent 1 night here last year as we were taken with the beauty of this place, and came back this year for more, it was well worth it.
If you can live without TV and internet and love the sound of the sea, and enjoy going barefoot in sandy surroundings and wearing nothing more than a sarong/lavalava then this is for you.
The meals were delicious and different every day, yes the banana pancakes and banana balls were the hot favourites for breakfast, evening meals always started with a delicious soup followed by a varied selection of chicken, beef, tuna, pasta suckling pig, fresh salads, baked potatoes, taro, you name it, it was different every night.
The lunch menu is available to purchase if you are hungry, we found visitors calling in from other resorts to sample lunch here and we had lunch before leaving for the airport, the meals were amazing! beautifully cooked and presented cordon bleu style with Samoan and European influences.
We took a kettle as advised by previous reviews, but found we didn't fancy coffee anyway in such a hot climate. Taking snacks is a good idea.
Bathrooms were spotless and well tended, and fales were swept out and bed made up daily.
The days were spent swimming in the lagoon, reading, and visiting Taufua next door for happy hour. Fiafia night was on friday and Taufua have theirs on saturday and all are welcome to attend, we went to both.
If you come at the right ime of year, try looking out beyond the reef, the whales are out there and delighted us with their spouts and breaching, bring binoculars!
Tours are available if you want to go out, but as we had done all that last year, it was wonderful to lie back and enjoy the hospitality.

Room Tip: Beachfront Fales are the recommended, best view and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeachcomerAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We recently spent 5 nights at LSBR and I did my research on Samoa and the resort before we went, so I knew exactly what to expect and was definitely not disappointed and will definitely go again.

The fales were lovely and the beach just stunning. Because of the tsunami, the snorkeling isn't that great, but we spent a lot of time in the water. Its gorgeous!
This is exactly what we wanted out of our holiday. We are not fussy holiday goers at all and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, but felt that there were a few small improvements that could be made to live up to the high Tripadvisor rating this place has.

The shared bathrooms were never a problem..I never even saw anybody else in there in the 5 days. On the first night I was a little surprised by the cold shower and that I didn't read that anywhere (but that seems to be the standard at many resorts in Samoa). But if you take your shower before sunset, the temperature is just fine. The bathrooms can definitely do with some freshening up...new shower curtains and math mats would make a difference.

The local beer is great and we had LOTS of it. There are many little stores on the way to Litia Sini, but we stocked up in Apia. There is also a small store across the road from the resort. The staff were happy to put our beers and snacks in the fridge and to take it out when we wanted it. So it's not completely necessary, but it would be very comfortable to have a small fridge in every fale. We had a cooler with some ice, but that didn't last very long :)

For the price you pay, the meals were great...breakfast especially. I ate so much papaya and the banana pancakes were delicious! My husband enjoyed every dinner as they had good fish and meat dishes. The staff did a great job at looking after me as a vegetarian. Most nights they prepared separate dishes or they let me know what was veggie-friendly every night. Because it is buffet-style, breakfast is served for an hour and dinner is served for an hour. Because of this small window, people lined up for food which is something I don't enjoy but is not really an issue.

Litia Sini is affordable, comfortable and really beautiful. With a few minor improvements this place could be unbelievable, but we would be happy to return tomorrow if we could!

Room Tip: All the fales are great, but the front fales have an amazing view. People will walk past your fale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CHDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Litia Sini recently. I chose this place based on trip advisor reviews. It is a great spot but I am a little surprised at the rave reviews it gets. The location itself is stunning, the beach is perfect - you could not ask for better (this is the nicest beach I have seen in my two trips to Samoa). The weather was wonderful and the water sparkling and clean. Sadly the tsunami has wiped out the coral reef so the snorkeling is not great. There are lots of interesting fish but it is a coral graveyard. Fortunately little bits of coral are starting to regenerate (it is wonderful to see these little patches). The Litia Sini fales are really lovely. We had one right on the water, it was amazing. Sitting on the little verandah having a few drinks at night, relaxing in the balmy heat and listening to the waves is just fantastic. The negatives are relatively minor but there is room for improvement or else this place could become a victim of its own success. This is not really budget accommodation, the prices are far more than you would pay at a backpackers (where you also share a bathroom etc). A few simple things would really improve this place. The owners could provide a fridge to keep drinks cool (we were told "that is why we have a bar"), should provide water with meals, and could improve the food dramatically!! If you are not there on time for meals you miss out (although they will cook something extra when this is pointed out). We found the meals very school camp style and did not like having to rush and queue for them (yes I will admit we are fussy but the meals were very average!!). The dining area did not seem very clean, it was obvious the table cloths were not being changed and the plates/cutlery/highchairs did not look particularly clean. It would also be good if tea and coffee was available at all times without charge, this would be a simple, cheap addition for the owners to provide. There are a couple of places to eat next door, make sure to try them and to have a cocktail at Anita's place. The bathrooms were okay and I got used to the cold showers - one thing we noticed was that the water pressure seemed to disappear at certain times of the day. We realised the water was being turned off (perhaps to fill tanks??) and we turned it back on once! Water conservation is likely an issue in this area - if the owners put up a few signs letting guests know I am sure they would cooperate. All in all - this is a good place to stay. Just make sure you are prepared - take lots of snacks and perhaps a kettle. Buy your water at the little shop in the village. Eat out!!! :) Try and figure out if there is some decent snorkeling near by (we were told lots of different things but a day trip to one of the nearby islands might be worth a try). If you like the beach - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJM007255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My friend and I have just returned to wet Auckland after 7 nights at Litia Sini.
Wish we were still there!

It is a wonderful place for a holiday -within 24 hours my friend said my face was smoothing out and I certainly felt all stress and irritability fall away.

Lydia, Joseph and theire staff were utterly welcoming and this resort is very well run. The staff work hard to know who you are and anticipate your wants and answer all your queries.
Fales are great and SO handy to the magnificent beach and its pristine warm water. Cold showers (more like tepid) were a surprise but after the first it felt quite normal! To fall out of bed and down some steps into warm waters is to be in heaven!

The atmosphere in the resort was very happy and the meals were excellent. The communal ablution blocks were well-maintainer and though occupancy was high at Litia Sini, there was never a wait and everyone just fitted in.

We loved it - the extra touches like a bucket of fresh water every day to clean your feet before entering your fale, the daily cleaning of the rooms and the smiles everywhere made it a happy place to be.

Alison and I went on 3 excursions and would recommend them all - the day trip of orientation where we visited some good sites and had 3 swims (including R. L. Stevenson's museum and a lightning trip the market at Apia); a short trip up a mountain side and to a taro plantation and then
an umu tour. For me, thishis was a highlight. An open fire was built and stones heated to very hot, then food was steamed for our feast. We got to see Kuka husk, open and scrape many coconuts to make coconut milk, while Jo scraped the veges (taro and breadfruit). We then helped with making a taro leaf and c. milk concotion wrapped in leaf pottles to be steamed etc. While the food was cooking we wove our palm leaf plates for the feast. All the while Jo told us of the Samoan customs and explained how things were done. We had two primary age children with us that day and they were mesmerised too and entered fully into the activities.

One aspect we enjoyed a lot was the interaction with the other guests. The Friday night fia fia night was wonderful too with spectacular dancing and (reluctant, on our part) guest participation.
All huge fun though.

We were very happy with Litia Sini and would go back today if we could. It would be nice to have somehere to make a cuppa whenever we liked so suggest you take a small h.w. jug in your case
and some teabags of coffee sticks. A small chilly bin or bag would be good if you like to keep this cold (can buy ice up the road at one of the small shops). Hint: take a facecloth (not supplied) and all toiletries. If you want a fresh towel just put the ones you have used in a pile on the floor - we were left out a couple of days.

Remember this is not a 5 star resort, you are paying budget prices and the service is way above that and you will be happy. If you do not like sharing facilities or meeting others and want services at a snap of the fingers maybe L.S. is not for you.

It was all we wanted and more!

Rosemary Saunders

Room Tip: Take a h.w. jug and some tea or coffee sticks if you like a cuppa outside meal times. Any of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosieruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
2.1 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#4 of 30 in Apia
204 reviews
25.8 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
25.3 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taufua Beach Fales
Taufua Beach Fales
#1 of 2 in Lalomanu
446 reviews
31.5 mi away
Sa'Moana Resort
Sa'Moana Resort
#9 of 30 in Apia
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Litia Sini Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Litia Sini Beach Resort

Property: Litia Sini Beach Resort
Address: Lalomanu Beach | P.O. Box 2795, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Apia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Litia Sini Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Litia Sini Beach Resort (fales) are located on the South Coast of Upolu Island where the white sand beach and lagoon in Lalomanu village really does look like the travel brochure. Litia's beach is most popular for snorkeling, scuba diving and other water activities in the clear blue waters of Lalomanu. The natural beauty of ocean views and swaying palms makes Litia's beach resort a paradise to relax and re-energize the tired mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Litia Sini Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Litia Sini Beach Hotel Apia
Litia Sini Beach Lalomanu
Litia Sini Beach Resort Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing