We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectations are more than met..”
Review of Aga Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aga Reef Resort
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I was a little hesitant booking here as Aggie Grey's Resort was a well-known and not extremely expensive resort like that of Sinalei or Coconuts but, I will never hesitate again now experiencing Aga Reef Resort over the weekend.

I think the only minor draw back would be the location as it is an hours drive away to Lalomanu so it would only be a resort to relax and recover not for any shopping or nightlife.

As soon as we arrived, it felt like we were at an actual resort. The reception has open doors out onto the outdoor-pool area overlooking the ocean, villas and an isolated island in the distant - truly picturesque and worthy of being photographed for a Samoan postcard.
Check-in was simple and fast with the key to our ocean view villa handed to me within 10min after the room had been pre-checked and paper work finished.

The room was beautiful, with a more than comfortable king size bed, spacious living with a flatscreen tv, desk space, huge bathroom with rain shower and a balcony overlooking the blue sea. It was truly a resort I haven't seen here in Samoa before and felt like it was about time.

Sleeping in the king bed was so comfortable that out of all the 3 hotels which we stayed in, this was the actual bed where we could sleep - it truly was a joy to be able to sleep.

Continental breakfast is included in your booking and consists of breads, muffins, fruits, spreads and cereals. I didn't realise we could order hot food until the second day we had breakfast. The continental breakfast was delicious and refreshing while sitting outdoors overlooking the beautiful ocean view.

Dinner was great and reasonably priced, we had steaks and an entree of Arancini. All dishes were delicious and presented very well. The chef did a great job and topped off the dinner meal with desert. We ordered fudge chocolate cake with lemon tart - both were just divine and reasonably priced again for a resort.

Staff are friendly and attempt to practice/speak english to you.

Overall, this hotel definitely lived up to the hype and the opinions of others - the price per night was very reasonable and its just one of the best resorts Samoa has right now that is within reach (money-wise). I recommend this hotel for those who are looking to relax and recover from their daily lives. You'll leave the resort rejuvenated without much damage to your pocket.

Room Tip: I haven't tried an Island Villa as they were all booked but I would recommend the Ocean View Vil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Enelenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 218 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent a week at Aga Reef last week. Not only is the resort special but the staff really made our trip that bit extra special. Friendly, attentive and helpful Aga is a must if you're planning a trip to Samoa. The rooms are modern and the food was amazing. We would Definitely go back. Thank you Kit, Marg and Lagi!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dphilli0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

What a wonderful place! the room was great, the food was wonderful, and the staff was amazing. I stayed in an ocean front fale, which I think was one of the best rooms. The food was always yummy, and well presented, although not a huge selection, very good indeed. About the staff I cannot say enough, they knew your name, checked up on you and how you were doing, helpful in planning activities, and suggested places you might like. Really made the resort special with being helpful and kind and friendly. I would love to go back one day. A special holiday for anyone.

Room Tip: Ocean front villas are more private and have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CB22013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at Aga Reef for 5 nights over Christmas/New Year 2013 and had a great time! The room was excellent, right out on the reef, you could even see the fish swimming past from the balcony. The room was large and had everything you need. The food at the restaurant was well priced and of very high quality (some of the best food i've eaten for some time). Kit and the rest of the staff made you feel very welcome and gave some great advice on what to do around the island. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who is visiting Samoa.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and go for one of the Chalets over the reef.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bishy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

we stopped for 6 nights 3-9th January family of 3 , we stayed in the main hotel block and had 2 adjoining rooms on the first floor. We found the rooms we good sized , large showers , air con , big TV which doesn't work so well when the rain comes ! and good size beds. Rooms where cleaned daily.
The resort has a nice freshwater pool and access to the reef , which is Ok for snorkelling but has been badly damaged by the cyclone a few years back.
The foods great and of a european standard , priced towards to top end of the scale, we managed to get wifi when it wasn't raining , overall a good resort

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed at the resort for 2 nights absolutely loved the food and the rooms are beautifully presented with great views (great bathroom) and the service matched
Staff very accommodating and friendly
Loved our stay

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Twigson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We have just returned from 5 day at the Aga Reef Resort, what a truly wonderful vacation. The staff could not do enough for us, the reception staff greet personally, and make you feel very welcome, nothing seem to be too much trouble.
Kit is alway available to make sure you have everything you need, oversees the restaurant, the meals we had were very good, Kit is a mine of information, being Samoan born, and having resided overseas for many years, he is able to impart information relevant to tourist.
Aga Reef is just the right size resort, very comfortable room, with balconies to enjoyer the ocean view. Thank you Aga Reef we had a wonders start.

Room Tip: I think the best room have an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivaldig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
24.1 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
24.9 mi away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
23.5 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Litia Sini Beach Resort
8 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
416 reviews
23.5 mi away
Taumeasina Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aga Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aga Reef Resort

Address: South Coast Road | Lalomanu, Apia, Upolu 1522, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Apia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Apia
Price Range: $187 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aga Reef Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Beach Resort in Samoa in a beautiful and romantic setting on the South East coast of Upolu Island. Perfect for a wedding or honeymoon with or without kids. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Aga Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aga Reef Resort Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing