We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No place like Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Home Cafe

Home Cafe
Ranked #9 of 70 Restaurants in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, Bar, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Twizel, New Zealand
1 review
“No place like Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Seven nights in Samoa = six of the most delicious, original and fresh brunches we'd ever eaten and the best coffee on the island. Horace and his team went out of their way to create daily taste sensations and make us feel special. I can't recommend this wonderfully rustic cafe higly enough. Thanks Horace!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sajones2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    34
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Did not live up to expectation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were looking forward to having breakfast at the Home Cafe as we had heard some positive things about this cafe, but were disappointed. The staff were very friendly, but the place is grimy, and seating very rustic and uncomfortable.
The iced coffee was just OK. My Berliin breakfast was greasy, the potatoes undercooked and the bacon was missing in action. My wife had something which was meant to be on Turkish bread, it also was not up to standard.
If you want fry ups, at reasonable price then pop in.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apia, Samoa
1 review
“Classic Samoan hospitality, EXCELLENT food & coffee. Not to miss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Horace, Frank, Moana and team have it all inside the Home Café: top notch food, coffee, service, and friendly, welcoming atmosphere. I have been living in Samoa for 3 years, and there are very few restaurants that top the quality in taste, ambiance, and customer service. Not to mention the prices are very affordable and the food is exceptional! I would highly recommend Home Café to overseas guests visiting the island as well as local patrons looking to try something new, tasty, and unique. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brooke_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I spent just over 5 weeks in Apia and this little cafe saved me from starving! It was located on the opposite side of the road from where I was staying and offers are large selection of food, cold drinks and probably the best coffee on the island!
Horace is exceptionally welcoming and all the staff make you feel welcome.
If you are travelling to Apia then this is a definite must-visit, especially if you love your coffee!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sammymc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
1 review
“"Do not leave Samoa unless you have had a meal at Home Cafe"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

By far the best place to have a meal in Samoa...Best hot choc and fruit whips a must!!!!. Horace and his staff are more than willing to assist with food and directions around the island. We visited after reading the review on trip advisor and ended up going there everyday for breakfast until we came home. Absolutely loved the food, atmosphere, service and location.

I have not seen or heard a bad comment about Home Café and there is a very good reason for that.....'They never fail to disappoint'

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam_Tupz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Home Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing